We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My wife & I stayed 2 nites. Not sure why the 'negative comment". Staff was VERY friendly, Rooms were large, clean. Breakfast was good. Large wall mouted plasma tv. Pool was impeccably clean, also heated! Will definetly return & highly recommend this HOJO.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beersz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

This place is ok if your needing a place to sleep for one night. I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay. Fairly clean but I did find some food in the freezer left by the previous guest.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank frogcreekcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

You get what you pay for, so if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, functional hotel with no frills, then this one is absolutely fine. Typical motel-style layout - the rooms are in separate blocks and we were able to park right outside our room door.

We only stayed one night but the queen size bed was comfortable, the room was clean and in good condition and we were set far enough back from the main road to not be bothered by any traffic noise. There were a few marks in the hand-basin and bath - not dirty, just slight signs of wear and tear. The room was supplied with a fridge and coffee maker but no microwave - no problem as we ate out in a restaurant (15 min walk or 3 min drive to the "centre" of town). The room also had a large flat-screen TV mounted on the wall, with a reasonable selection of cable channels.

A continental-style breakfast was available in the lobby area of the hotel reception block (not included in our room rate) but we didn't try it so can't comment on the quality.

This was a simple and comfortable hotel, perfectly adequate for our needs and completely in line woth our expectation for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjs1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Very diappointed. We had not travelled for a very long time. Took son to hockey tournament. Team had suggested we stay here. Room smelled like hadnot been used in a long time. Would never stay again. Steer clear of this one. It will be the only time that u stay here

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocketmanjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights to celebrate Valentine's Day. The room was large and clean, and we paid the CAA rate of $79.00/night which was a good deal. The room had a king size bed, medium size bar fridge, and a large wall mounted flat screen tv. There was no microwave. The rate included a continental breakfast, but we didn't take advantage of it , so I can't comment on the quality.
The room was located behind the main office well off the main street, so it was very quiet.
Local phone calls were free, but no phone book was provided.
Nice place, but nothing fancy either. The room was recently redecorated by the look of the bathroom flooring and tiles, but they didn't take the trouble to change the sink which had rusty spots in it that they tried to hide with enamel but it didn't work.
Good spot for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Stayed there for a night last weekend. My room was very clean, including the bathroom which will be one area which shows it age or lack of attention. No problems found at all. the TV is large and wall-mounted. For the price of C99, a good deal. One can tell that the motel (not a hotel) was originally a "mom and pop" operation operating under the HoJo chain franchise

One complaint, though. I didn't try the continental breakfast because it wasn't served til 8:15, much too late for many folks wanting to get back on the road early. I think this is done on purpose to save money by the hotel where they know that many guests will leave earlier. No good reason why the motel couldn;t serve it earlier. So, if a breakfast is important, take that into consideration.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank stringer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Booked here because rate was lower than properties. Boy I now know why. Room smelled, breakfast was a joke, pool was dirty. It was an all round bad experience moved to one of the other hotels that I by passed because of rate the next night. It was worth the extra money. DON'T BE FOOLED

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARKIEChicago_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.7 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#4 of 10 in Gananoque
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Address: 550 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: $59 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing