We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and thankful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The renovations are amazing. From the outside, the place looked like something out of the 60s but the rooms are clean, spacious and very modern. I am not sure what isn't new. In fact, the manager on duty let me know that there were a few things still on order for the rooms.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating as I needed a place to do some work.

I, too, made my own waffle in the morning and enjoyed a decent cup of coffee. Lots of places to eat nearby and some grocery stores as well. Many choices in the area but this is the one for me.

A+

Room Tip: I stayed in the second building room 208 where most of the renos are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc6672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Daryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

the room was very recently renovated, very clean and very comfortable! room had flat screen tv, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was ok but not much of a variety. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I went to Ottawa for a conference and it finished very late. Rather than drive home so late at night, I stayed in Gananoque at the Howard Johnson. The room is newly renovated. They did an excellent job with the reno. There is a 32" flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and alarm clock in the room. The shower/tub has a curved curtain rod which keeps the shower curtain away from you and makes the tub/shower look wider.

The breakfast was delicious. I made myself a couple cinnamon waffles and had coffee and orange juice. There was fruit, yogurt, bread for toast, jam and 3 types of cereal. It was nice to have breakfast before my long drive.

I would return to this hotel if I decide to return for the ribfest & music festival in June/July 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tweet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed there on the good friday night. The price was very affordable. Fronk desk clerk name Mona was very helpful and she helped us know more about the town. We had the Queen Suite which was adorable. For the first time i have seen granite finishing around the bath tub which looked great. The room was very clean and updated. And they have a very comfy beds,it made my night. I would recommend to stay at Howard Johnson in Gananoque, they have a great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boss69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a nice stay at Howsrd Johnson's. The rooms were very clean and it was so nice to be in a brand-new room! There was a small fridge microwave and in room coffee available and the shower was just beautiful!
The staff was most attentive to each and every request that we had. Free Wi-Fi was also available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#4 of 10 in Gananoque
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Address: 550 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: $59 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing