We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gananoque Trop Stay @ Howard Johnson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Mohammed. M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Obviously it's a budget motel - so we were not expecting 5 star service. However we were still pretty underwhelmed by this Howard Johnson Inn.

Upon arrival, the attitude from staff was one of disinterest. Our room looked old, although it was clean. Bizarrely there was an abandoned jacuzzi bath sitting in the car park outside ours. Decor was ok - although it got very warm at night and I wasn't convinced the air conditioning was working.

There is an outdoor swimming pool - but we didn't use it because the water temperature felt a little chilly for our young children.

Breakfast was fine - cereals, muffins and toast - although the room where its held is quite small.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexleyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Value priced hotel in a busy tourist area.
Comfortable rooms. Light on the continental breakfast
but fits the light on the wallet price.
Swimming pool in season.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank OttawaArt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank makhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I read reviews and I respect the fact that some people appreciate what this motel has on offer, but it's not for me. Stayed here with my teenage son's hockey team during the annual Kingston Kids4Kids hockey tournament (because Kingston hotels were all sold out). I was a little taken aback by the rather casual approach in booking (made me feel like I could not be sure they were recording the fact that I was booking a room), but my reservation was there and they were friendly. It seemed to me the whole experience was that I was staying at a placed that spared EVERY expense. The room was freezing and I had to turn on the electric baseboard heater to start the long process of warming it up...and I only checked in late at night, so it was a chilly experience. The toilet was finicky. The tv and it's remote could not turn off the closed captioning (which was annoying). The location is ok. Overall, it's probably good as a pit stop on a long journey, but not somethingnid use again nor recommend for any trip that required a stay of more than one night.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Doug0nTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.7 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#4 of 10 in Gananoque
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Address: 550 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: $58 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing