We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel after arriving in Gananoque late in the afternoon. We didn't have a booking but were fortunate they had a room for us. I have read other reviews since our stay and there are several references to the cheap tariff. Our room certainly was not cheap even though it was low season! The room was very average but clean enough. There was a smoke smell, the source of this we found was a full ashtray on the ground next to the door to our unit. The breakfast was very ordinary and lucky it was complimentary because you certainly wouldn't pay for it. There was no hot water left by the time we sat down (8am) and everything else also needed replenishing and the benches needed cleaning. Overall it met our overnight needs but we would look elsewhere for accommodation if ever in the area again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie4701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    112
    64
    28
    17
See reviews for
87
122
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TIVERTON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Close to 401, good price, walking distance to restaurants.
Complementary breakfast not available to 7:30, but we had to hit the road earlier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Glammis-ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location of the hotel was easy find, The beds were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was what we expected. Free WIFI allowed us to keep in touch with family at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT COQUITLAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not at all like the pictures. Although it was very clean, it was very,very, very old and rundown. In need of some major repairs and updates to the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank SHARON K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Pickering, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

At a recent stay, we left our umbrella in our room and didn't realize it until after checking out.
A few hours later we returned to pick it up. The same front desk rep we had dealt with during our entire stay contacted one of the two person room cleaning team who confirmed they had indeed found our umbrella. Problem is she gave it to her associate to 'put away'.

The front desk rep then contacted the second cleaning associate and then returned to inform us that 'no umbrella ever existed.'

This experience has little to do with the loss of a $50 - $70 Umbrella but has everything to do with lying and thievery. We realise every HoJo location is independently owned and that HQ has little control over such matters but they clearly need to establish standards in this regard.

This single experience will prohibit us from ever using any HoJo property again in future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was a bit worried about what to expect at this hotel given the ultra reasonable room rates, but there is no need to worry! The room was great - clean and spacious with comfortable beds. The washroom was spotless and appeared to be recently renovated. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was very good.

I recommend the Howard Johnson's if you are looking for good value for dollars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the motel - away from the main street through town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

When we booked the HJ Inn, we didn't expect much about it, since this hotel is a 2-stars hotel. We have been in 2-stars in the past (Super 8 Danbury, Super 8 Milford) so we kinda knew what 2-stars were about.

Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel. Although it is a "get to your room from outside" (with which type we had a bad experience), the room was alright. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The only negative point is the air conditioning, which took a bit long to refresh the room.

I believe everyone could find something they like in the free breakfast (yogourt, cereals, bread, apples, muffins, juice, coffee, tea, and even waffles you make yourself).

The hotel is well located, with 2 grocery stores nearby and a few restaurants around.

If I would return to Gananoque, I would not mind staying at the HJ Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starfish03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#5 of 11 in Gananoque
191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Colonial Resort & Spa
Colonial Resort & Spa
#6 of 11 in Gananoque
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Address: 550 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing