We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Our idea of a North American Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our idea of a North American Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

That is what I've always imagined an American Motel looked. I travel with my parents and my brother's family. My parents and me had a big room and beds.big bathroom and it was clean, so my brother's, but the room smelt awfully bad, so we asked to the reception to change it, and they did it straight away without problems. For Mia (my brother's dog) was great to have some parts around with grass.
The location was very convenient to do the "Thousand Islands cruise"
The breakfast was basic, but fine. They prepare by demand warm waffles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    82
    54
    22
    15
See reviews for
68
94
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The guest services at this accommodations was absolutely aweful. Even blamed the lack of preperation and failure to communicate between house keeping staff on me, the guest. The management proved no assistance/compensation for the multiple inconveniences. The Howard Johnson is an excellent company that is being poorly protrayed by this family owned and operated business.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TammyMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gananoque hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked this motel via Hotwire after receiving a great rate ($75/night). The room is average to lower end and the bathroom is nothing special. The complimentary breakfast is also pretty lame. However it does host a decent outdoor pool which was great to use on a warm sunny day.

Overall if you're just looking for somewhere to sleep in Gananoque, the Ho-Jo was worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbubbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I just needed a few hours to sleep in the morning while I got some rest from working overnight. I was given a room and went and opened the door and it was a used room. The bed was not clean or made up. I went back to the front desk and they gave me a clean room right away. The new place was nice and clean. I thought it had a bit of a smoke smell. I was alowed to stay an hour past the check out time without a charge which was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We chose this hotel after our truck broke down on a Sunday night and the recovery truck we called towed us to his garage in Gananoque. This was the closest hotel within walking distance from the garage. We weren't expecting much after the day we had, so thought we would treat ourselves to the jacuzzi suite. Wow, what a time warp upon entering the room (see photos). The room was clean enough, although we had to walk across the parking lot, up two flights of narrow stairs, outside onto a balcony and then finally entered the room. Climbing the stairs there was a terrible smell, so it was a relief to walk outside on the balcony to our room. Needless to say, not a very accessible room for those with difficulty walking (and lugging a suitcase). The bed seemed clean and was comfy. I was unable to access the internet, even after calling the front desk for the password (I travel many weeks out of the year for business so am very familiar with various methods hotels use to access the internet). The toilet was not securely fastened to the floor, so you got some rocking motion! There was mold in the grout in between the tiles in the bathroom. There was a nice flat screen TV on the wall, however it did not swivel or adjust for different viewing angles, so unless you were sitting on the bed, you couldn't really see the TV. Happened to look down by one of the chairs and discovered the remainders of someone's party...not sure how long they had been there! We were overcharged ($149 yikes!) for the time of year, and did not have access to the pool (closed) or offered any breakfast. We saw one other car in the parking lot that night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandye7685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is the third time over the last 4 years I've stayed here, always in October in off-price season.

I've left a positive review before and gladly repeat it. The motel is a resurrected motor inn where you park in front of your door. The rooms are very clean, including the carpet and especially the bathroom. The TV is a large flat screen on the wall. The beds are firm and comfortable.

I have seen the negative reviews and don't understand them. I suspect they are from competitors. I can honestly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A friend and I were traveling across canada on vacation. We chose the Hotel from a list we seen online. We were not disappointed with anything about the place, it was clean and had easy access to the main roads. we stayed 2 nights and the price was a good value! I would reccomend this hotel to anyone! Our only downfall and it had nothing to do with the hotel was, we wanted to do a boat ride of the thousand islands but we came to late in the year. The canandian side shuts down rides after labor day. We travelled back into the US and took Uncle Sams tour of the islands, which was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edw165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Gananoque Provincial Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.7 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#2 of 11 in Gananoque
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Address: 550 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing