We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The scale does not allow a negative rating..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I will start by saying unless you are totally stuck and your vehicle is not an option to sleep in keep looking.
Rooms are in need of repairs, paint may not hide the poor condition, the rugs were badly stained in more than 4 spots,,,,, and were not in any condition to put a baby on.......we did not have our grandchild with us luckily.... They offer a breakfast, however when you see the unhealthy and sanitary condition you lose your appetite fast. The lobby was our first opinion and we should have ran, not walked fast.... A comment from a fellow customer was the table was wiped with a dirty rag....

Room Tip: best tip do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northernteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

We headed to Gananoque for a weekend and after finding this place on a website we decided to give it a try.We were sorry we did.The room was old and not well kept and it appeared the room was dirth also.We found ants and bugs crawling along the side of the wall.We can take certain things,but bugs just creep us right out.We did not bother staying as we are taking it up with our credit card company on getting a refund.I would suggest avoiding this dirty HOJO at all costs.The place should not eneen be advertising a HOJO name,obviously they do not care about standards.There is better hotels near by to stay at.

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I have family in the area so knew that this hotel had been renovated/under new management At $70 a night (April end), I didn't expect much when I booked a room for three nights. This isn't a 5 star hotel, it's a family run place. I noticed that some of the renovations were definitely a DIY job but nothing really a problem. They could have used a bit of decoration on the walls, and the breakfast didn't offer a huge variety.
That said, I would definitely go back to stay. The room was spottless, absolutely. The bathroom couldn't be cleaner, and was well stocked. The bed and sheets were clean and comfortable. And the internet connection was perfect. For me, those are the most important things(-aside from the fact that it's also within a 4 minute walk to the nearest Tim Hortons). I have a nasty dust/mold allergy, and get creeped out if I see even 1 bug in a room, but had absolutely no problems at all.
I did check out some of the other hotels in the area once i got there-just out of curiosity. The ones that looked half decent were right by the casino-lots of traffic and noise, Some others didn't look anything like their pictures and cost twice the price, easily.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mistynme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We've decided to sleep there one night on our way to Montreal. It was a very pleasant experience. We had a very large room with a LCD, nice restroom, clean.
The stuff was very nice and helpful. The lady who prepared the breakfast even heated the cup cakes especially for us and prepared us a waffle and orange juice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlanaYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I booked 2 nights, to help with a family event in Gananoque. We needed only a place to sleep and shower. I knew by the price advertised on-line ($55/night) that this was no luxury motel. The building was a little "down-at-the-heels" but no too bad. Room size was adequate. Big new flat TV. Bathroom had been renovated - cheaply done and not quite finished (old glue showing where old baseboards were removed and never replaced). But the big disappointment was the lack of cleanliness. Looked like someone had been ill in front of the mini-fridge, and had merely ground the evidence into the carpet. No-one bothered to do any housekeeping between the two nights. The bedspread was stained. So we are wondering, "Does Howard Johnsons have any performance standards for their franchisees?" They should, because our experience in Gananoque will influence our choice of motel in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courierdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We had a one night stopover on a long drive.
For the price of $101 we feel it is overpriced.
The buildings appear to be over 50 years old and in need of
a refurbishment. Our room had a broken light switch, and fittings.
Breakfast was minimal and didn't start till 8.00 AM when the office opened.
The only ice machine was in the private part of the front office and only available
during office hours.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomLynnMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We booked this place for one night because it was half the price of the top-rated Holiday Inn Express, and I could not justify spending twice the money just to stay in a slightly more reputable chain motel. We were prepared for a dump. Instead we found a well-maintained, clean motel, with new furniture, a flat screen TV on the wall, a fridge and a whirlpool tub. Even the pool was fairly well maintained. We walked to the playhouse from here (about 10 minutes) and even town was accessible by foot. I can see staying t one of the real nice places if you have more than one night - like Athlone Inn, which looked real nice, or even the historic Clarion near the docks, but for one night I don't understand why anyone would spend more and not stay at this HoJo.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 1000 Islands
0.4 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.7 mi away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Gananoque
Travelodge Gananoque
#4 of 10 in Gananoque
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque

Address: 550 King St E, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 1H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Gananoque
Price Range: $59 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gananoque
Gananoque Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn Gananoque Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing