We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Belle Victorienne
Ranked #5 of 38 Magog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Arrived without a reservation and without an internet connection to check TA reviews. We took a chance on La Belle Victorienne and were pleased with our choice. Our room was quiet, clean and an adequate size. The bathroom, although very small (we suspect it was carved out of closet space) was fine for us and we appreciated the privacy. The breakfast was nicely presented - a plate of yogurt with fresh berries, breads and pastries is served to each guest and is supplemented by hard boiled eggs and a few other items on a buffet.

I read a few other reviews since returning and see that one person was treated rudely. Our experience was the opposite. Both the woman at the front desk and the gentleman serving breakfast were friendly. We were also pleased that the staff were bilingual since we do not speak French.

The only real con for us was that the bed and pillows were a bit hard. That would have been a problem if we were there for an extended stay, but we were just one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennedy429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    99
    34
    21
    4
See reviews for
39
192
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Clean but needs improvement in many areas including all around service, reception, breakfast etc. I tend to agree with the negatives of the other reviews. The AC was an ancient pieces of equipment next to my bed that was so noisy that I had to turn it off. The room I was in (The Joyeuse) located in the attic had almost no air in the room even with the ceiling fan on. The shower was trickeling water at best and the spa is so "not inviting" with a heavy cover over it at all times. The reception is non existant in the morning and in the evening. Its there only from 13h to 18 hours.

The breakfast is partly self-served. They serve you an original tray with toasts, cereal and coffee. The half bagel was not sufficient so I asked for more. He retuned to us later with a half bagel which he abrutly slid in the middle of my plate full of food! Hugh! He also gave us more coffee By then, I thought I was on another planet. The man servicing our couple was very careless and his face showed it with his constant sighs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TRAVELLER510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
394 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The rooms are nice and clean , the bed was comfortable but they could upgrade the pillows.
We were in the maison de Judd. It was quiet and nice. But, if you want to enjoy the hottubI strongly recommend staying in the main building. The hottub at the maison de Judd is far from the house with absolutely no privacy. You feel as if you are in the street.
The breakfast is not a refined breakfast as they annonce. A cold buffet thing . The guy serving offered us delicious crepes only after everyone had been there for a while and already eaten. The coffee is good but as we arrived four couples at the same time, we had to wait as they make it cup by cup.

The fact you can't chech in before 15h is also disappointing. We were in low season and many rooms were empty. We would have enjoyed getting our room earlier but no one anawered before three.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if you expect to use the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed in the suite, that is fitted with a bath, 1 powder room and 1 bathroom with a small shower. This unit also has satellite HDTV with movie channels. The decor is warm and pleasant, the linens were clean, and all towels and bathrobes were quite fluffy.

The off-season continental breakfast is plain and simple but all right for a short stay.

A very nice stay.

Room Tip: The "exuberante" is the only suite, and occupies the front half of the 2nd floor. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zephyr_etc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Nous ne sommes pas restés à l’auberge mais avions réservés un des chalets qui sont proposés à la location : l’Equinoxe. Le chalet était bien décoré mais pour un classement 4 étoiles nous nous attendions à ce que la 2ème salle de bain soit au moins terminée 2 ans et demi après la fin de la construction: pas de plafond, fils et canalisations apparents, sol en béton, mur en Gyproc…
Lors de notre arrivée, nous avons été informés que le spa était brisé et qu’il devait être réparé dans les 2 jours. Un rabais nous à certes était accordé pour les 2 jours mais le réparateur ne s’est jamais présenté et les propriétaires ne nous ont jamais appelé pour nous tenir informés.
Le jour de notre départ, nous avons attendu un long moment pour remettre les clés à l’auberge avant que quelqu’un décide de nous ouvrir la porte (c’est finalement un client de l’Auberge qui s’en est chargé!) mais les propriétaires n’étaient pas disponibles.
Nous avons donc du téléphoner pour faire part de notre mécontentement et après quelques minutes la propriétaire nous a finalement dit que nous n’avions qu’à « réserver ailleurs » avant de nous raccrocher au nez…Bref comportement déplorable et inamissible pour ces propriétaires.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Villeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed two nights in the "Romantique" room on the groud floor. The B&B itself is well decorated and our room is clean and in good size. Bathroom is pretty small but everything you need is there. Though our room is facing the street and a busy church, we still found it quiet and our sleep was not distrubed by any traffic.

However, we were totally disappointed at the service. It is so hard to get hold of any staff. To be able to make a reservation, I called 6 times. The voice message says phone is being answered between 10:00am and 7:00pm, so I called at different times. It almost made me think the Jaunt deal I bought was a hoax, but finally one lady answered my call one day at 1:15pm.

We were told breakfast is served between 8am and 10am. We went at 9:30am and there was barely anything left. I emptied cereal bowl and the milk jar (only very smalll amount left), and my wife took the last egg and yougurt. I thought the owner who was just sitting next to the food serving table would refill everything, but he did not do anything as if he saw nothing. Another couple who came at 9:45 basically only had two pieces of toast to eat and some orange juice to drink. I felt the owner was very mean without replenishing any food while he was just sitting there surfing Internet the whole time. If guests arrive before your 10am cut-off time, they should be served with the same variety of food as those early birds.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liketravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

After a lot of careful research we selected the Belle Victorienne B&B for our 4 day/3 night stay.
We looked into the negative reviews and spoke to the nice women who worked there about our little concerns and she was very up front about the previous complaints...as you can read for yourself further below on this review page. She explained that unlike a traditional B&B, operated by it's owners, La Belle Victorienne was run more like an Inn, with employees responsible for cleaning the rooms and check-in/out and breakfast! Some are disappointed with the difference others prefer it this way. As we usually use hotels we felt this was a better fit for us! We were right!
The pictures of this place do it justice, it was a quaint Inn/B&B, really clean, and decorated with cozy, comfort in mind. The bed was really comfortable with soft yellow sheets that were of nice quality and the mattress was a perfect balance of firm enough and soft enough! (I'm feeling like Goldilocks here!) The deep cast iron claw foot bath tub had to be one of my favorite things, and although we came prepared with bubble bath I was pleasantly surprised to see a nice big bottle of goats milk bubble bath at our disposal, along with other hotel-ish amenities like shampoo/cream/soaps and etc.
We stayed in the only suite they had and although other reviews complained about the street noise, and we did hear a little, the sound wasn't really bothersome. Maybe if you are a very light sleeper or need a very quite room to be comfortable, you should choose another back facing room. But as we are from the city and used to traffic/city noises during the night and early morning we hardly noticed and would stay in this room again on our next stay! It had a large flat screen TV with many movie channels, an electric fireplace set in front of two large comfy chairs (perfect for curling up in and chatting or reading a good book in). It had two toilets and sinks, a shower stall and the above mentioned tub.
There was a little fridge for our use,just outside our room door which was handy for cooling down the white wine we brought with us to use in one of the several 'bring your own wine' restaurants we visited, I will mention that we couldn't get ice, which was a bit disappointing because 'Malibu' just isn't the same without a couple of 'rocks' tinkling at the bottom of my glass :o)
There was a nice outdoor spa/hot tub for our use, 24 hrs a day/365 days a year with nice large puffy towels to wrap up in after getting out.
We booked a package that included a day at the Nordic Station Spa and Supper at a restaurant, our choice of three. We would definitely suggest this, as the Nordic spa was simply fantastic and the restaurant we choose, Fondissimo, was no less enjoyable!

Our only complaint was that the breakfast was as stated in other reviews...NOT GREAT! A sideboard buffet of the simplest sort. After three morning of that we wouldn't have done it a forth time, rather going out to eat breakfast in one of the cute little restaurants on the main street. I will say that the lovely women resupplying the sideboard items was simply a delight, she brought us our coffee (a small note here: The coffee is terrible, it took three mornings to get it drinkable, finally we enjoyed it when we asked for cafe au lait 1/4 coffee and 3/4 hot milk....the coffee was the strongest, bitterest I have every had served to me anywhere...and we usually drink espresso every morning!) So if a deliciously decadent breakfast is what you are after...Not Happening! But the smile that greeted us every morning was lovely!
The lady responsible for house keeping was of the same sort as the breakfast room women...simply lovely, as helpful as could be and nothing ever seemed like a bother to her. We came off without robes and realized we would need them for the hot tub, she ran off and showed up with two nice, thick, white robes for us a few minutes later!
All in all, we'll be back and staying in just the same room again soon!
I reviewed the restaurants we ate at too...be sure to check them out to help with your stay!
Thanks so Much La Belle Victorienne!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the B&B are quieter, bring robes for the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAcamporas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magog hotels
3.9 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.6 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Au Manoir de la rue Merry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Au Saut Du Lit
Au Saut Du Lit
#4 of 38 in Magog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Au Coq du Bonheur B&B
0.0 mi away
Au Virage B&B
Au Virage B&B
#10 of 38 in Magog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Victorienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Victorienne

Property: La Belle Victorienne
Address: 142 Merry Nord, Magog, Quebec J1X 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Magog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Victorienne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality begins in the heart of La belle Victorienne; being more human and friendlier that is our philosophy. Embodied in each of our 10 different rooms. Each room is more than just a place to sleep: it is a specific space created for relaxation and pleasure. A perfect balance between the old and the modern. A refuge where beauty and character combines with the element of comfort. Prepare yourself to hear the most surprising and grateful expressions when you and your guests will be entering either the Victorian Inn discovering that they all have acces to a functional spa accessible all year round and all have high speed wireless internet. In addition, Magog is unique! Surrounded by mountains, the heart is located on the banks of one of the largest lakes in Quebec, Lake Memphremagog. Its downtown is near picturesque Victorian homes, art galleries, boutiques, gourmet restaurants and all the attractions of nature. With its cruise ship Grand Cru, its Orford Express train, the ice rink, ski mountains, bicycle path "Route Verte"; you are right in the center close to everything. Discover the Eastern Townships in Quebec , in a unique way! Canada in all its glory. -Private bathrooms -Air conditioning -Free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your La Belle Victorienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Victorienne Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing