We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Magog
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“On the lake”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ended up having to stop in Magog on our way north due to a blizzard. We showed up at the hotel with no reservation and no expectations other than a bed for the night. The desk clerk was nice, the rate was fair, and we were pleasantly surprised. It is average, but not because of any real deficiencies.

In the summer, this location would be ideal - it is right on the lake, and walking distance to town for dinner or shopping. In the winter, there is less to offer, though we did look at the outdoor sauna and jacuzzi, both of which were clean and nicely situated.

Rooms are typical mid-level hotel; nothing special, but perfectly fine. Ours overlooked the lake and had an outdoor area that would be nice in better weather. The bathroom needed an update, but everything was very clean. Beds are comfortable. We had a child with us, so it was good to have a mini-fridge. There is plenty of closet space and the room would be fine for a longer stay.

We did not eat at the onsite restaurant, which is an upscale place. I think a casual dining alternative would fit in better.

Overall, I would recommend this place to others traveling to Magog, but I might seek out a more charming option in the area -- this hotel is similar to a Four Points or Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Definitely select a lake view, especially in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coladakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
23
69
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent a night at this hotel with our 4.5 year old twins. Our room was very nice. It for sure that hotel needs renovation but the scene is beautiful and the staff at the reception were very kind. The lake view from our room was fantastic and we really enjoyed the balcony. Connecting to wi-fi was very easy and it was fast enough.

My 2 disappointments were the floor and beds. The floor was not in level and there was almost 5 cm height difference between the bathroom and room. If you don`t watch your step you can easily fall down like my kids

Bed was not very good and I woke up with a terrible back-ache in the morning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpert001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Room and hotel in general is clean. Which is important.
But nothing much else to offer. Rooms are bland, wifi works most of the time, 2 trips ago, I had to work in the lobby, as the router near my room didnt work.
Cannot find an extra wall socket to save your life... which is difficult if you want to charge something.

Heater was on the whole time, it seemed out of control, luckily it wasn't too warm, my colleague in another room couldnt get his room below 80F.

If you arrive after 11pm, the keys will be put in a box for you with instructions taped to the front door. Yes, reception area is locked down after 11pm, so if you need something, good luck.

Breakfast is pretty decent, quite a few choices. I have had dinner here once, again decent, but nothing to brag about.

Location is nice, right on the lake. Other than that, just another room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are nice. But if you open the patio door, the ac system shuts down, a power c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I had a very short business trip in late january 2012 in magog, i was in a lake facing room with a jacuzzi. the hotel is clean and nice the Wi-Fi is very fast and effortless to connect into. the view form the lake in fantastic

The restaurant is nice and i guess i was the only diner there the hour i spent there.

The hotel Spa's Jacuzzi is away from the main building, so i did not understand how a person is suppose to take a bath in the main building then wear his boot, brave the snow and ice and then reach the Jacuzzi outside.

every thing else is very nice.

Room Tip: I Had a room which was lake front, that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way back to USA. Fab service. Room was gorgeous -directly overlooking lake with amazing sunset. Jacuzzi and sauna thrown in. Delighted.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahDKHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Stayed one night on our way home to Ontario from Cape Breton. After a long drive we needed a good nights sleep! On the plus, our room had a small balcony and overlooked the lake... we had a wonderful view. However, it was a "regular" room (which we were told costs $150 in high season?????) The bathroom was very small and the toilet handle was situated in a way that anyone with a large hand would never be able to flush!
The bed was the worst that we have ever experienced in any of our travels... at one point I tried the couch which was no better. The floor might have been good if I trusted the rug.
The breakfast in the morning was amazing as were the bistro staff. Other than that, not much to redeem the place. It definitely needs an overhaul with paint, new bathroom fixtures and most of all new mattresses!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnacherToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This is the hotel to stay at in Magog if you simply must have a wonderful lake view and you want to walk out your patio doors onto the lake. The regular rooms are better than the deluxe rooms because they have been updated. The hotel includes an outdoor hottub and restaurant and has bicycles available for rent (its adjacent to a wonderful paved trail along the lake). The front desk service was very good. No complaints about the restaurant. The price is a little high for what is offered but we loved waking up in the morning to that great lake view. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the restaurants in Magog.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank equus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magog hotels
3.3 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
3.0 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#4 of 7 in Orford
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Auberge du Grand Lac
Auberge du Grand Lac
#8 of 18 in Magog
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Chateau du Lac
Le Chateau du Lac
#12 of 18 in Magog
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac

Property: Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
Address: 1200, rue Princpale Ouest, Magog, Quebec J1X 2B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Magog, at one hour from Montreal, on the shore of Memphrémagog lake, the cordial ambiance of the Inn and Spa and the superb cuisine of l'Ancrage Restaurant combine to make Hotel & Spa Étoile-sur-le-Lac one of the most outstanding venues in the region. À Magog, à une heure de Montréal, sur les rives du lac Memphrémagog, l'accueil chaleureux de l'hôtel et du spa et la gastronomie du restaurant L'Ancrage, font de l'Hôtel $ Spa Étoile-sur-le-Lac un endroit unique dans la région. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Etoile-Sur-Le-Lac
Hotel & Spa Etoile-Sur-Le-Lac Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing