We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate B&B Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Au Gite du Cerf Argente
Ranked #4 of 37 Magog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I cannot say enough about the amazing beauty of this diamond, words don't do it justice. The place is immaculate and so historical filled with many family treasures of the owner Eric and his wife. The Moroccan room was superb, unique and charming. However, the best was the breakfast cooked personally by Eric and better than any Ritz Carlton. We enjoyed our one night stay and will definitely return.

Alan, Virginia Beach, VA

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchestah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 172 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Truly wonderful experience, Eric was waiting for us upon arrival, showed us around, then gave us our space. Very helpful on phone in advance as well as by email. They are knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast was far more than expected, and the Moroccan Room is truly unique. Would definitely go back, Magog had many restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Can't imagine you can go wrong, but the Moroccan was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just spent the weekend (Friday + Saturday, June 1st, 2013) with 3 other couples, as part of our wine club, and were amazed. The size of the rooms and bathrooms (double Jacuzzi) are a big notch over what you would normally expect for a B & B. This place has character, warmth and style. Each room is completely different and yet beautiful within its theme. We had the Oriental but got to see them all. Quite frankly, we're not sure which one to pick next time we come. Maybe the Moroccan? All rooms have A/C, a full-size wood fireplace with amazing ceramic art work, a fridge and a flat screen TV and the place has Wi-Fi. Our bathroom floor had inlaid ceramic art picturing a Chinese dragon that took our breath away. The art work is actually signed and dated. It felt like a shame to walk on it...

The B&B is located 10km south of Magog, on beautifuly manicure grounds, and so it's quiet, yet close enough to Magog's shopping and restaurants. BTW, we went to an great BYOW called Comme Chez Soi.

As for Eric and Dorothy, the owners, all I can say is that they are the prefect hosts. Charming, warm and attentive, they looked after our every need with genuine pleasure. They were present and yet not intrusive. They re-arranged their dinning room to better accommodate our wine tasting on Friday night, re-arranged it again for breakfast and made it look like it was no big deal to move all the furniture around.

Talking about breakfast, I must say that they serve an amazing coffee... with each Bodum (French Press) brought to your table as the coffee is seeping. I did not keep track of the number of courses, but we had plenty of quality food for everyone. From yogurts with fruits and granola, to the freshest croissants, breads and cakes, all are home made, including the jams. The quiche, omelettes and crepes were all light and fluffy and delicious. Eric look after us with a warm smile and made us feel at home... really...!!!

Thank you Eric and Dorothy for a fabulous weekend... :-)

Room Tip: All room are beautiful. The Printaniere has two beds and a hide-a-bed and sleeps 6. The Moroccan is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spouse and I spend 3 wonderful days here in early May 2013. Beautiful well equipped rooms, attentive hosts, with each day starting with a marvelous breakfast. Lovely property is perfect for a short walk to start your day. Slept great aided by fresh country air.Close to Magog

Room Tip: All rooms are large, well equipped and seem quiet. Well equipped. Any room wouldd be fine. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDD523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After having attended a conference in Montreal, we were eager to stretch our legs and explore the countryside of the Eastern Townships. And the Cerf Argente proved an ideal base for our daily expeditions. By day we walked through the red and gold leaves of the Quebec Fall and in the evening came back to the Moroccan room, such a good place to relax. Every morning for 7 days Eric produced a different breakfast of great quality and quantity. He and his wife proved very fine hosts indeed. A fine place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 233MartinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I wanted a girls getaway in Magog- a little work and a little play. This B&B was the perfect home base! After consuming an amazing breakfast, we did work on our laptops in front of a blazing fire in our room! Then later in the afternoon we ventured out to explore the local sites. We stayed in suite printaniere which has 2 queen beds on either end and a loveseat in front of a gorgeous fireplace adorned by a spring- themed mosaic mural. It was super spacious. Firewood, including "firestarters" were included- and we went through a bit of wood. And don't worry, the place is perfectly heated without the fire. Apparently the mosaic work, which is worldclass and present throughout the house, was done by the prior owners. The wifi worked well for our work purposes and for calling the US with the iPhone via FaceTime/talkatone. It only dropped us a couple times. The reception in the main downstairs was perfect. The tub had jacuzzi jets. I love the location. The last time in magog i stayed in town and originally looked for places there but they were booked. I don't regret it one bit. The serenity of being in the country is nice, you're only 10 min from town, and most of the places we ate at weren't in walking distance from the main stretch of downtown b&bs anyway (fondissimo & Comme Chez Soi- both byob/w; make reservation). The breakfast was amazing as mentioned by other reviewers- fruit cup with granola and yogurt, freshly baked croissant with homemade jams (including my favorite- strawberry rhubarb!), local bacon, local cheese, crepes, fresh baked bread, French press coffee, and lots of fresh fruit (watermelon, grapes, plums, apples, kiwi), and an egg made to order. Unlike most b&b's you can choose when you want to have breakfast. Eric mentioned he's woken up at 5:30am to serve hot breakfast to marathon runners. Another couple ate at 10:30 while we ate at 8:30. Eric and Dorothy are lovely people and made us feel so welcome. They even delt very graciously with an issue we had with our fireplace.
Only things I would change: adjustable shower head as the current one feels like needles against the skin. Also, perhaps some background music at breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondieish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Cerf Argenté is the best place we visited this year! We stayed in the Chinese suite with a therapeutic tub and the details were stunning to say the least (there's a huge tile design of a dragon on the bathroom floor among other details). The room was spacious and squeaky clean! Since we were the first to arrive that day, we got to see all the rooms and they were all so beautifully decorated. What impressed me most is that I have food allergies including gluten and always worry about my food. But our hostess, Dorothy, is a dietician and just created pancakes I could eat out of corn flour. She said "once you know the way ingredients interact, you can just make up recipes". I couldn't believe how easy it was for them to accomodate me and the local fruits and cheeses were delicious! Everything was fresh and beautifully presented. I would happily encourage others to visit this B&B if they've got business or pleasure in Magog or the Sherbrooke area. It's only 10 minutes from the main highway. Another thing, although they just bought this place, they are very familiar with the surrounding attractions and gave us maps and guide books from Tourism QC. There are outdoor sports for every taste in the area including a taxi service for bike enthusiasts, horseback riding, water sports, hiking etc... We love nature so walking around their natural setting in the back with a pond (complete with frogs) was a real treat. This was beautiful.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a fold out couch. But there is one room (Printaniere) that was huge and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magog
8.2 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
269 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ripplecove Lakefront Hotel and Spa
5.5 mi away
Au Manoir de la rue Merry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Au Coq du Bonheur B&B
5.6 mi away
Amour et Amitie B&B
Amour et Amitie B&B
#3 of 37 in Magog
186 reviews
5.8 mi away
Au Coeur De Magog
Au Coeur De Magog
#9 of 37 in Magog
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Gite du Cerf Argente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Gite du Cerf Argente

Address: 2984 Georgeville Rd | near Lake Memphremagog, Magog, Quebec J1X 0M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Magog
Price Range: $87 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Au Gite du Cerf Argente 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Au Gite du Cerf Argente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Gite Du Cerf Argente Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing