We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay when you are in Magog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Grand Lac
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location of the hotel is very convenience. You can walk to park, the main street of Magog. The hotel is very clean and quite. The service is very good. It’s a very good choice when planning a vacation in Magog.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was considering leading a bicycle tour through Magog in August, 2014. I asked what rates they could give me for nine rooms, 2 nights, midweek. The initial response from Pierrette, the manager, was $179 for a double and $199 for a king. This seemed so high that I almost thought it must be for two nights combined. She implied that she could do better if I booked 10 rooms, so I asked and was told $149 for a double and $169 for a king. Curious, I used the hotel’s own reservation system to see what the rack rate was for my dates. Interestingly, it is the exact same rate that she claimed I could only get by booking 10 rooms minimum. So she tried to seriously over-charge me with the initial rates. Not to be trusted.

N.B. - I have not stayed at this property, but am reporting questionable (at best) marketing behavior.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
7  Thank BostonSculpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jianchen, Owner at Auberge du Grand Lac, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

We appreciate your opinions but it should be the truth.

The rack rate you check on our website is the room rate only. But the rate we offer you do include the free breakfasts for two per room per day($20), and other services free of charge, for example laundry, free bicycle storage etc. We explained it to you in emails clearly. I would believe there were some misunderstandings between us.

We had very pleasant experiences with different kinds of small sports groups across Canada, you can find good feedback here also.

We are always trying hard to satisfy our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the 2nd time our volleyball team has stayed at the Auberge. Admittedly the rooms are not large, but what the hotel lack in size and elegance, it makes up for with its friendly and helpful staff. Other teams stayed in larger, closer hotels...but they were noisy (some teams & parents unfortunately have no consideration for other guests), no fridges and nothing nearby to see or do. The lovely town (village?) of Magog is just steps away from the Auberge, and a lovely walking/hiking trail is nearby. The staff was very helpful, and our players were well equiped with a hot, healthy breakfast each morning. A big thank you to Pierrette & the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WPassalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jianchen, Owner at Auberge du Grand Lac, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

We thank you for supporting our small hotel, yours satisfaction is our priority. Welcome back to beautiful Magog!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We got so nice experience a couple of days ago with perfect location, outstanding services and terrific room amenities. No hesitate to choice it again next time to Magog. By the way, I will never forgot the gourmet dinners there....Everything is owesome...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is in a nice location walking distance to beautiful downtown Magog. Its not on the water but steps away. Parking is very limited and even though they gave us a pass we did not have a spot to park. The rooms themselves are average at best, clean but still overpriced. Service staff was very kind and helpful and they do have a very nice rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stang1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Ww were passing by the town and decided to spend a day in Magog. The price was not as low as what we would've liked but after looking at the prices of the nearby hotels (which weren't any better) we had decided to stay here due to its proximity to the main street and would probably make our money's worth. Fortunately we were right. There were many small local gift shops and gormet restaurants within walking distance. The fixtures in the hotel was a bit old-fashioned but it was comfortable and suited the ambiance. Their staff members were incredibly friendly and helpful in providing tourism tips and guides about the town and area. Overall, I think it is a place worth considering going back to.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IvySmasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I was given initially a room with a damaged carpet that was also way too small for the price tag of a bit over 100 dollars. I was allowed to change my room and got another larger and cleaner room that was the approximate value of the money I was charged. Paper walls made conversations in nearby units clearly audible in my room which is not so wonderful. I had several conversations with several friendly staff members at this Motel which makes me like them more as a place to stay. A good restaurant in the Motel offers free cooked breakfast which is a first for me. They also made some very good Chinese food which is kind of rare to find in a smaller town in French Quebec. Despite the friendliness of staff members I would not really recommend this place, as I thought the rooms were too small for what they were charging for them. The town has many good places to eat and many good stores that sell everything from gourmet food items to fine silk scarves made in Laos.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank footloose888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magog hotels
4 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
2.9 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#4 of 7 in Orford
249 reviews
3.5 mi away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#5 of 7 in Orford
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau du Lac
Le Chateau du Lac
#7 of 18 in Magog
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Grand Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Grand Lac

Address: 40 rue Merry Sud, Magog, Quebec J1X 3L1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Price Range: $76 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Grand Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended Hotel....Begin your journey into the Eastern Townships at hotel Auberge du Grand Lac. It is positioned at the hub of the Eastern Townships in the charming town of Magog. Guests benefit from its unique downtown location steps from the beach of Lake Memphremagog, marinas and from the main street where sophisticated boutiques and restaurants abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Auberge du Grand Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Grand Lac Hotel Magog
Auberge Hotel Magog
Auberge Du Grand Lac Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing