We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great service.”
Review of Fondissimo

Fondissimo
Ranked #9 of 128 Restaurants in Magog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: NOTRE RESTAURANTUne equipe jeune, dynamique et pleine d'idees vous accueille dans une ambiance decontractee. Apportez votre vin et venez deguster entre amis, famille ou amoureux l'une de nos savoureuses fondues.Redecouvrez la fondue par l'experience Fondissimo !
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a lovely meal at Fondissimo recently with our family. The atmosphere was very romantic & intimate - a little dimly lit for dinner with the grandparents, but certainly perfect for a date or a night out with friends.

The menu has some really interesting fondue options (especially the various cheese fondues) and the one I selected was delicious. It had leeks, dark beer and cheddar (Welsh themed), and the flavours married spectacularly with the rosemary roast potatoes that came with the dish. There was a really great variety of things to dip in the fondue; bread, roast potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, sweet peppers, and possibly other fresh veggies - can't remember them all. There were also sweet, crunchy pickles to cut the richness, and a fresh mixed salad with a tangy dressing. All-in-all a very well balanced meal. My only complaint is that for the cheese fondues they use ceramic pots over a candle (presumably to make clean-up easier) which means the cheese can get very lukewarm. However, our server very quickly and pleasantly took it away to be reheated in the kitchen straight away upon request.

On that note, our server was very charming; perfectly bilingual, knowledgeable about the menu and attentive. It was a world away from the average service you get in the city.

The pricing was reasonable, with cheese fondues coming in at around $23. Since this is a BYOW restaurant, the prices are even better - and what better to splurge on a nice wine for than a decadent cheese fondue?

The rest of my family ordered the Chinese fondue - some had seafood & beef and one had beef and chicken, but there are quite a few different arrangements which allow for some flexibility. My father said the scallops were some of the best he's ever had, and the sauces that came with the fondue were very original and delicious.

I would highly recommend this restaurant - it would be a great place to linger with a group of friends over a few bottles of wine; just remember to designate a driver for the trek home! It was totally worth the drive from Montreal though; our compliments to both the kitchen and front-of-house staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Silver_Sliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Lord, Propriétaire at Fondissimo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour ! Merci d'avoir prit de votre temps pour nous faire part de vos commentaires. Il nous fait toujours plaisir d'entendre la satisfaction de nos clients par le biais de TripAdvisor.
Merci de votre confiance et au plaisir de pouvoir vous servir à nouveau !

Bonne journée !

Robert Lord
Propriétaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 205 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

It's a nice little fondue place. I was a bit surprised at first by the restaurant being set in a garage with a pull down door with windows, but finally it didn't take away from the experience. The service was efficient and friendly, the food good - cheese fondue as well as chinese fondue, with a choice of beef, pork, chicken and seafood (possible to combine). The only thing we found was that the shared chocolate fondue was smaller than expected. But I guess it was good in the end, because we were full anyway!
They also had quite a good selection of teas. A good experience, I recommend it! It wasn't full when we arrived (on a week night), but I would still say it's better to reserve, just to be sure. ;)

    • Service
    • Food
Thank dialectgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Lord, Propriétaire at Fondissimo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour ! Merci d'avoir prit de votre temps pour nous faire part de vos commentaires. Il nous fait toujours plaisir d'entendre la satisfaction de nos clients par le biais de TripAdvisor.
Merci de votre confiance et au plaisir de pouvoir vous servir à nouveau !

Bonne journée !

Robert Lord
Propriétaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Ideal place to have dinner on a warm summer night. We had the fondue (mixed beef, chicken & shrimp) remember to bring your own wine and there many wineyards in the area. Staff is friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GenMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Lord, Propriétaire at Fondissimo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour ! Merci d'avoir prit de votre temps pour nous faire part de vos commentaires. Il nous fait toujours plaisir d'entendre la satisfaction de nos clients par le biais de TripAdvisor.
Merci de votre confiance et au plaisir de pouvoir vous servir à nouveau !

Bonne journée !

Robert Lord
Propriétaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Friendly atmosphere, great food, and excellent service. Being able to bring our own wine adds to the pleasure. If given the opportunity to visit Magog again, we will certainly go back to Fondissimo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lac426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Lord, Propriétaire at Fondissimo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour ! Merci d'avoir prit de votre temps pour nous faire part de vos commentaires. Il nous fait toujours plaisir d'entendre la satisfaction de nos clients par le biais de TripAdvisor.
Merci de votre confiance et au plaisir de pouvoir vous servir à nouveau !

Bonne journée !

Robert Lord
Propriétaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I didn't know most people make reservations at this trendy fondue restaurant, and were just turning away to try our luck somewhere else when the hostess shouted, "Attend!" and found a table for us. The service was really great, the server was attentive and sweet and we didn't have any long waits. The atmosphere of the restaurant is one of celebration and reverie, and our mood was kept happy and light throughout.

I ordered the seafood chinese fondue, and really enjoyed it. It came with scallops, salmon and shrimp and everything was fresh as could be. The salad was exceptional. The only complaint we both had was that the potato wedges were dried out. They must have been cooked earlier in the afternoon, and just been under a heat lamp. This detail would certainly not keep me from going back, though. The cheesecake made up for it and then some!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kitchycait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Lord, Propriétaire at Fondissimo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour ! Merci d'avoir prit de votre temps pour nous faire part de vos commentaires. Il nous fait toujours plaisir d'entendre la satisfaction de nos clients par le biais de TripAdvisor.
Merci de votre confiance et au plaisir de pouvoir vous servir à nouveau !

Bonne journée !

Robert Lord
Propriétaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fondissimo also viewed

 

Been to Fondissimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing