We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Bois Dormant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
O Bois Dormant
Ranked #9 of 38 Magog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

I highly recommend this B&B. The hosts Jean and Lucie are most accommodating and friendly. The rooms are beautifully appointed with lots of thought and care. The breakfasts are outstanding. They could rival any hotel. We stayed for 7 nights and never had the same wonderful food twice. Jean and Lucie are passionate about quality, care and presentation. The house is well situated for the town and the lake - easy walking distance to all amenities and a great jump off point for exploring the Eastern Townships.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Jean and Lucie were very hospitable and we especially enjoyed talking to Jean about Quebec and it's history. The room was large, extremely comfortable, and tastefully decorated. AND, and... the breakfast was artfully created, full of variety, and tasted great.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MT_paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

Our five-day stay at O Bois Dormant was a great experience. Lucie’s and Jean’s kindness and hospitality were almost surpassed by their gourmet breakfasts. Each day we got a different, two-course, delectable repast, carefully prepared and presented! Our room was comfortable and very clean. It had a modern bathroom and a private deck. The B&B is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood, some three minutes’ walk to the main street. It has a fairly large garden with mature trees and a lovely, fenced-off swimming pool. Lucie and Jean are gracious hosts who strove to make our stay as pleasurable as possible.

The only minor shortcoming we found was a lack of interaction between hosts and guests in the evening. We are inveterate B&B users on three continents and most of our hosts have always offered their guests a cup of tea in the evening and sat with them to chat and exchange impressions. In our opinion, this is one of the fringe benefits of staying at a B&Bs.

Magog is a charming place of friendly people, with good restaurants and cafés. The surrounding area has much to offer the visitor in the way of quaint villages and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sergio v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

We first met Jean and Lucie some years ago when we traveled to the Eastern Townships for some skiing. Their warm welcome, homey accommodations and especially their fabulous breakfasts have kept us coming back.

Jean is friendly, gregarious, we know that he was a contractor (an excellent background for running a B&B), we learned how they arrange to take their own vacations. Lucie is a sweetheart, she protests that her English isn't too good, but there is no shortage of communication. These two are what really elevate O Bois Dormant from an excellent Bed and Breakfast to a true vacation home.

The rooms are all beautifully appointed and are refurbished on a regular cycle so the place is always fresh and new. But it's Jean's two course (one salty, one sweet) breakfasts which are the most memorable. His pancakes taste like they are deep fried in butter and are served of course with Quebec maple syrup. The best we've ever had (and we've had a lot!). And there is always a surprise for breakfast.

We love to visit Quebec and a large part of this is a stay at O Bois Dormant. We have taken our elderly parents and recommended it to friends who come back thanking us for turning them on to the place. And every time we visit, Jean and Lucie ask after them by name.

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The proprietors
  • Disliked — We can't go more often
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bishikawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magog hotels
3.8 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
0.4 mi away
Au Manoir de la rue Merry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Au Saut Du Lit
Au Saut Du Lit
#4 of 38 in Magog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Belle Victorienne
La Belle Victorienne
#6 of 38 in Magog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Au Coq du Bonheur B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O Bois Dormant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Bois Dormant

Property: O Bois Dormant
Address: 205 Abbott, Magog, Quebec J1X 2H4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Magog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O Bois Dormant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to share the comfort of our magnificent century old Victorian home. Savor a gourmet breakfast you will not soon forget. Relax on the veranda or in the shade of trees. Cool off in the in-ground swimming pool or cuddle up in front of the fireplace. Four unique bedrooms with private bathrooms. O Bois Dormant is a 4 suns B&B within a 3 minute walk from the beach,shops and restaurants. Magog, situated in the heart of the Eastern Township on the northern tip of Lake Memphremagog, is well known for its cultural and sporting attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your O Bois Dormant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
O Bois Dormant Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing