We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - For those with funkier taste”
Review of Hotel Mont Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mont Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here over March Break. We stayed in the older section of the building called "Rustique" and a second night in a room in the "Marquise" section. (We only switched rooms because of deciding to stay a second night and our first room was booked). We much preferred the Rustique room which was old fashioned log walls, quite roomy, up it's own little staircase with a modern bathroom. The only problem is the beds were too hard. The Marquise room was more modern but much smaller and with less charm. I loved the odd structure of the place, the grand old lodge rooms and the personnel were friendly and helpful. We did have some issues, the beds in the first room, the ceiling was leaking in the hall in a couple of places which was disconcerting, the hot tub was not that hot (They should switch to a salt water system, the chlorine was sometimes overpowering) and on the first night there was a DJ in the bar playing loud music (thankfully that ended at 11pm but if I was an early to bed person it would have been very disturbing). I still give them 4 stars overall because the price was right and the charms outweighed the issues. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rustique is more charming but funkier, but whatever area you choose ask to be placed as far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_and_team, Director of Sales at Hotel Mont Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments!
We look forward to see again and will continue to do our best to make your stay with us as beautiful as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 293 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I hqve stayed a few times at Hotel Mont Gabriel. The hotel is nice although it is an older building... The main issue with this hotel is their check-in process. When you check-in, the hostess will attempt to charge your credit card $450 - the problem is that she will not tellnuou she is doing this. While most hotels wil only take your number for incidentals, these guys take (without telling or asking) an amount... Additionally, of all the time I stayed here, early check-in is not possible. When you consider that the check-in time is 4 p.m., this element definitely constitutes an inconvenience! At 3:53, the room was not yet ready... No apologies, somewhat condescending attitude from the hostess in my personal opinion makes this an unpleasant and un-welcoming arrival at Hotel Mont Gabriel...

This is a nice hotel, I simply wish that the service was improved upon, and lives up to the standards travellers are used to in the Laurentians area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charrma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_and_team, Director of Sales at Hotel Mont Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review and we apologize that your stay was not up to your expectation. The satisfaction of our customers is our priority, be assured that the necessary adjustments will be made in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any additional comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went there with my mother for our yealry girls' night out. When we came in the hotel was really busy with skiers and our room wasn't ready although it was check-in time. The room was clean, but not very comfy and the bathroom needed repairs although we were in the Tyrol section. We were disturbed by staff twice in half an hour, they came to knock at our door for no apparent reason asking if someone was there or delivering toilet paper that we didn't had ordered.
I really wanted to enjoy the pool, but there were not towels available and kids were running around the pool and jumping in as if there were no other people in the pool. There was no lifegard. When he came back with towels, he didn't bother telling the kids to stop running or jumping in the pool, so I left.
We had a package deal that included the dinner. We were assigned a small patio table covered with a long tablecloth, but still a patio table. After we had our seats, we had to wait for 35 minutes for someone to take our order; when the waitress finally came, my mother wanted to order wine "à la carte". The waitress got the wine menu after 5 minutes and came back to see us another 5 minutes later. When we finally got to ordering, she REFUSED to take our meal order at the same time than our wine order. She had to get the wine order first and come back 10 minutes later for our meal order. The service was awfully slow, and the food was less than ok. My mother ordered a lobster, which was served too cooked, was cold because the service was too slow, and served without garlic butter or pliers/proper fork to eat it. When she requested it, we got a "you don't need it" as an answer. Who are you to know what kind of ustensil I need to eat, I wonder.
We got back to our room, very disappointed. We went to sleep, only to be awaked at 4am by our outside door being open! Someone has actually tried to enter our room from the exterior. I was terrorized. The telephone is actually on a table remote from the beds, which means we had to get out of bed to call reception about that incident.
We left afer that incident, we were too scared to stay in the room. The lady at the reception desk credited our breakfast, but it was too little, too late.
We have been doing that girls' night out for ten years now, and it is by far our worst experience ever.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor to make sure nobody can access it from the exterior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_Laurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_and_team, Director of Sales at Hotel Mont Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review and apologize that your stay was not up to your expectation.

The satisfaction of our customers is our priority, be assured that the necessary adjustments will be made in the near future.

We apologize again for the situation, as this is exceptionally unusual.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly for any additional comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

For $125/night we got a tiny gloomy room. Sleeping on their mattress felt like lying on a rocky surface. We could hear people talking and walking above us. I was surprised the hotel charges for placing local calls and using their wi-fi!!!

Room Tip: Shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryKaribyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_and_team, Director of Sales at Hotel Mont Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Your comments are important for us and we thank you for taking the time to write about your last stay. There is a fee for local calls from the rooms but guest have free access to WiFi, everywhere in the hotel. For further information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location is nice, the pool & hot tub were nice. The room sucked! The mattress was hard like cement so called the front desk to try to get something better but was told they were all the same. A draft was coming in from the outside door and there was a constant musty smoky smell .....but by far the worst part was the lack of sound proofing! Don't count on a romantic get away when you are constantly hearing babies crying, kids screaming and parents talking write outside your door. The reception asked how are stay was when checking out but when I told her all she said was ya....we are suppose to be renovating that area of the hotel soon??? This place in my opinion in nothing over a 2.5 star and should not charge more than $60/night.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_and_team, Director of Sales at Hotel Mont Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Your comments are important for us.
For more information, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel resort has some condos they rent and we went there with our family for New Year.

I have to say staff was diligent and very friendly. They were smilling and very helpful at all time. The main hotel area is a bit outdated but we didn't spend much time there, we were out all the time snowshoeing and doing some sledge.

Condos were pratical considering the number of people we were and they were just what we needed. I would recommend them as some people in the hotel didn't seem as happy with accomodation. Could have been a bit cleaner (mostly floors and chairs were not super clean).

I gave them 4 stars for their staff and for the location as this was a lot of fun!

Room Tip: We were in condos and I woudl recommend them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband's company held its annual Christmas party here so we decided to stay the night. The hotel is a charming old log cabin style building which we found lovely at first but when awoken in the middle of the night to a blaring fire alarm, we were terrified. We checked the hallway and seeing nothing we called the front desk only to be put on hold for what seemed like an eternity. When they finally answered they told us they would look into it and a few minutes later the alarm was turned off. They couldn't be bothered following up with us so we eventually fell asleep, only to have the exact same scenario repeat itself later in the night. The following morning upon checking, the receptionist told us the manager was busy and left us waiting another 20 minutes before he finally came to see us. They sent us the "Food & Beverage Manager" Mr. Boucherat and all he offered was a lengthy discourse on their procedures and a quick sorry. It would seem that having their guests sleep the night or an old wooden hotel catching fire aren't some of their concerns.

Room Tip: The hotel is very large so if you need to stay here, ask for a room far from fire alarms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica-Serge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adele
3.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
207 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel St-Sauveur
Hotel St-Sauveur
#1 of 5 in Piedmont
157 reviews
2 mi away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#4 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chantecler
Hotel Le Chantecler
#8 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Gabriel

Address: 1699 chemin du Mont Gabriel, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Price Range: $81 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mont Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mont Gabriel is located halfway between Montreal and Mont Tremblant. 4 stars hotel and 4 season resort offering ski in ski out and 18 hole golf on site. A few km from St-Sauveur factories and MSSI activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mont Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Mont Gabriel
Hotel Mont Gabriel Sainte-Adele, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing