We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grounds .... beware of Hydro Quebec and storms !”
Review of Hotel Mont Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mont Gabriel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Mont Gabriel Hotel sits on an amazing site ! Lovely grounds, it has a very nice appeal and great view of the St Sauveur valley. The outdoor bar / pool area is well maintained and a great place to relax afetr a day of golfing or playing tourist in the valley. The hotel rooms themselves are a little dated, investing a few dollars would turn this hotel into a top notch 5* resort. At dusk, the hotel kinda feels like the resort in the movie "The Shinning" .. kinda spooky but loved the feel ! The staff is frendly and helpful. I understand that the restaurant is amazing, although we did not give it a try. We were at the hotel the night of a storm .... and lost electricity from 7PM through to 2AM. I dont know if teh hotel has generators but was not impressed with this ..... seems like an issue in many parts of Quebec ! The young girl at the front desk was overwhelmed with unhappy clients. Not sure where the hotel manager was at this point .... but his pressence and maybe free drinks or comps for his clients would have kept several guests from leaving and others happy. Overall, did enjoy my stay ... but not sure if I woudl go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denys_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 292 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good, solid hotel - staff very polite and helpful. Site is absolutely beautiful - on top of a mountain, view is breathtaking. Hotel itself is very well equipped for all kinds of sports, etc. even a golf course, but the rooms are a little outdated. It needs to be refreshed a bit - food was good, breakfast buffet was delicious. I would recommend the hotel to others for good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prairierose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for only one night. We arrived early and our room was ready so we went to change to our swimsuits as the pool area was beautiful and we couldn't wait to cool off. The room was disappointing, very small, smelled of damp wood and the window air conditionner was so noisy. No problem, we only had to sleep in the room so off we went to enjoy the pool area. Great service and very well manicured, we spent a very relaxing afternoon. We decided that we would take advantage of the "fine French restaurant" for dinner so we made reservations for 19:30. We showed up to a large dinning area, very noisy, not a great ambiance. We ordered dinner from a large menu. All I can say is that the appetizers were microwaved, the main meal (we chose steaks) was less than fine! The potatoes were powdered and veggies over cooked, not impressed for the pricing.
The only positive is the beauty of the laurentians and the hotal has nothing to do with this! We would NOT go back

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

One of the oldest hotels in the area, hotel Mont-Gabriel has not done much to renew itself over the years. My friend and I and our kids stayed there for 2 days over the march break. The price was decent, the room was O.K. yet other than these two factors, the hotel does not really impress. I will just stick with the pros and cons. Pros are: nice view, decent ski hill, hotel and staff does not mind guests bringing food from outside, relaxed attitude and good-to-average food. The buffet was nice and the kids really enjoyed that. Cons: really old, pool too small and smells horrible because of the excess chlorine. Also the pool area itself did not look very clean. No activities for kids except the arcade room which is oddly placed right next to the bar area and staff asks the kids to leave the room after 9.00 pm which again is highly odd- leaving parents no other option but to go to their room I guess. Since it is a family oriented hotel it would be nice if they could add table-tennis or a better ice-rink - investments which would not normally cost the hotel much yet would keep families happy.
Overall I would only recommend this place if you are looking for a place just to sleep for your ski vacation. Otherwise, there are other - better- options around the laurentiens.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zutagney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Room ok
breakfast in meeting room horrible!
but the worst they charged me not 10$/day for internet but twice to connect my tablet as well as my computer. I ask when I check out what this was and they said that they charge per device and not per room... I spent 100 nights/year in hotels and I had never seen this before. Internet is a ripoff when you pay for it but twice they are out of their mind.. Go anywhere else not worth it and look at my history of reviews I am a nice guy.. They can spend thousands in advertisement but you rip me off only once, Not even shy to explain it at the counter.. not shy to share with tripadvisor viewers. This is how you treat customer never going back. this is what you get for 10$. is it worth it really?

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slybuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_and_team, Manager at Hotel Mont Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we have free internet access to all our guest in all our meeting rooms, the bar area, and the mezzanine. We also have group package that does include free access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My Fiancee and I wanted a romantic getaway for the night in the laurentians. We selected this hotel based on recommendations and the reviews from this site. We stayed in a rustic room with a king size bed. We both woke up with stiff necks and sore backs. The beds were hard as rocks and the pillows were terrible. Note to management , we would only return if these 'bed & pillow issues' were resolved.

Many people here commented that the rustic area was rather loud due to the adjacent bar and paper thin walls. We did not experience this , which may be due to the high vacancy or that our room was located at the end of the hall.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_and_team, Manager at Hotel Mont Gabriel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

It was nice to have with us last week-end, the wheather was nice and the Rustic section is so cozy. We have other kinds of pillows and those mattress are very recent . Next time we'll make sure to have a softer mattress for you . Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed one night and enjoyed our stay. Although a rustic place, it's worth trying at least once. The front desk personel were very friendly and were even able to accomodate us earlier than the check in time. The hotel and rooms are clean but the rooms would need a bit of a makeover. If you want an amazing view of Mont St-Sauveur, ask for the Tyrol section. It is also near the pool and the spa. If you have time, try the spa, it's worth it. Enjoy a moment of relaxation. The only down side is that with the warm weather and the snow melting, water was dripping from the roof as there was no eavestroughs, therefore the pathway to our section was covered with ice, making the walk to our room very dangerous. There was no warning signs nor was the pathway salted. But this would not stop us from returning.

Room Tip: Ask for the Tyrol seection for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gohabsgo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adele
3.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
207 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel St-Sauveur
Hotel St-Sauveur
#1 of 5 in Piedmont
157 reviews
2 mi away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#4 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chantecler
Hotel Le Chantecler
#8 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mont Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Gabriel

Address: 1699 chemin du Mont Gabriel, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Price Range: $80 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mont Gabriel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mont Gabriel is located halfway between Montreal and Mont Tremblant. 4 stars hotel and 4 season resort offering ski in ski out and 18 hole golf on site. A few km from St-Sauveur factories and MSSI activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mont Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Mont Gabriel
Hotel Mont Gabriel Sainte-Adele, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing