We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Do Not Stay here! I didn't consult TripAdvisor before booming. Shame on me and wasted vacation time and money on me. DO NO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Chantecler
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OMG Do Not Stay here! I didn't consult TripAdvisor before booming. Shame on me and wasted vacation time and money on me. DO NO”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

OMG!! Do Not Stay here! 
I didn't consult TripAdvisor before booking-shame  on me and wasted vacation time and money on me.  DO NOT STAY HERE! If you read this, you are forwarned of your disatisfaction and waste of money. I am forever regretful for not reading TripAdvisor before I booked.
Run down. Dirty. Very dirty even in the supposedly 4 star dining room. OMG I wonder how dirty the kitchen is !  Service staff means well, they really do, but we left the dining room tonight after an hour's wait for our bread, salad and soup. He said the chef was overworked, but there were only about 15 tables of people and most were at the end of their meal and how much work is it really to supply bread, soup and salad?  Last night was the same. Tonight we left before the main course. Enough is enough!  I Am paying good money for supposedly 4 Star service. NOT !  Do not come here !
We had  booked a week but will leave tomorrow on day 2.
Room is dirty. Paper cups in room for coffee and drinks. Really? Fridge doesn't work! I defrosted it myself last night ( huge block of ice!) still not cold. Repairman came quickly (nice!) but said "oh, it's more of a cooler than a fridge, add a bucket of ice , that will help". OMG !  
We had only one set of towels in the room. ( they brought another set on our second request) 
Beach: small but nice. Ran out if beach towels before 10:30am -bring your own!! Most beach chairs were broken. ( they don't cost that much to replace; comon guys, this is sad!) only food or drink at the beach is soda or chips for $2 each. Pedal boat or cheap sit-upon kayak is $10 per hour on a very small lake. 
Our room was tiny.  Bathroom had cracked tiles and dirty grout. 
Disgusting. Dust bunnies in room. Fridge doesnt work. Left dinning room before our meal tonight out of frustration over the long wait. Cat kibble and dust by our baseboards in our room- SOS!  Dirty And Stinking carpets throughout the hotel. Wow!
This place was nice when we came 25 years ago, , but it is awful now.
STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lpp_cep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    107
    169
    130
    87
See reviews for
181
242
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We checked in and then checked out after going to our room. It smelled and the bathroom full of mold and mildew, carpet was filthy. We were given another room the same thing. I was a regular at Le Chanteclair about 20 years ago. I used to go 6 to 7 times per year. Unfortunately the furniture is still the same; it seems they never changed it. Shame on you Chanteclair, you were once the pride of the Laurentians, now you don't even make the bottom 3. We went to a true 4 star hotel at Saint Sauveur (Manor Saint Sauveur) and that was truly a 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aboujazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sainte-Adele hotels

Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights July 23rd and 24th 2012. We were travelling with another family and both stayed in communicating rooms.

I find that there is now a pattern to my reviews, I keep having to say ''Great for a family on a budget''.

I had been to the Hotel Le Chantecler 25 years ago when it was in its glory days. There used to be something glamorous about saying you went to Le Chantecler. Today, well its more like a Best Western or Comfort Inn in a gorgeous setting.

So now the description. First, the hotel is idealy located in the heart of the Laurentians (about an hour north of Montreal). You are less than 10 minutes away from great ski resorts and towns like St-Sauveur, Morin Heights and more. Driving into St-Adele heading to the hotel, there is this special feeling you can only get by driving in the Laurentians. Then, you get to the hotel that is nestled in a bowl in the mountains with a small lake at the bottom. The hotel buildings are made of fieldstones and nicely placed on the hillside. it is an idealic setting.

Now the ''Tarnished Jewel'' part. When you get into the hotel, the lobby area is nice but then you get to the hallways and rooms - you would really think you are in an old Best Western. The carpets, walls, trims and rooms are old and worn. The bathrooms showed signs of age with mildew on shower/bath wall. Also, there is a strange humidity smell throughout the hotel.

We had breakfast at the restaurant on one morning. The buffet was over priced and selection was poor. Furthermore, for the price they charged, they didn't even have real maple sirup - it was a funky tasting corn sirup.

One important point is that since the hotel is built on a hillside, every section of 10-20 rooms requires you to climb up a set of stairs - THERE ARE NO ELEVATORS IN THE HOTEL. If you have alot of luggage, or skis, you will find yourself making multiple up and down trips from the car to the room. Wouldn't want to have been in a wheelchair.

Upon check out, I asked the girl at the reception desk if some parts of the hotel had had renovations. The answer was no and that the hotel was a rustic look - I just call it old.

Wait for it ......... Here it comes ............ At a price of $125.00 per night (breakfast included) for a family of 4 and with an awesome location: ITS GREAT FOR A FAMILY ON A BUDGET!!!!!!!!!

Enjoy.

P.S. Please vote as helpfull if you like this review

Room Tip: A room with a balcony and a view of the lake is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MICMERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently attended a wedding reception at this hotel and were extremely pleased with the service we received. The admin staff went out of their way to accommodate our every want. The room we had was cozy with the old look charm of the laurentians. However, our room was very clean. As an allergy sufferer my wife and I are extremely fussy. The outdoor terrace was quite the place to relax over drinks and munchies and with live entertainment. The property as a whole is a great place to relax and enjoy nature from hiking, Golf, beach, spa or just relaxing on the terrace over drinks it’s well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for my parents' 50th anniversary last week. Based on previous reviews, we knew what to expect, but had to follow the rest of the group. We are 6, so had to get adjoining rooms. The gave us one room on Level C, while the other was on Level D, but a 2-storey living room with mezzanine kooned the two rooms. We had 2 balconies and could access the rooms via any of 3 doors in the hallways. Surprisingly, the layout was good and the price was relatively low ($194 on Saturday & $174 on Sunday). The rooms were fairly clean (some bits of garbage in the sofa-bed), but the pillows were terrible! At least there were no bedbugs or roaches. As for the Tre Monti restaurant, I have reviewed it separately. It was that bad, both for the breakfast buffet and for the overpriced dinner!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellazA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The Chantecler ia getting old and dirty, they have the same furniture as they did 25years ago. There is no service, and the food is very low. But the location is great and it have a great view on the lake. Major renovations are need since they did nothing since the end of the 80's the hotel is rarely full. Very disapointed it's not a 4* but more like 2* 1/2 ...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love5starshotels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is in urgent need of renovation and of an overhall cleaning. The carpet in our room was covered with crumbs and dust. Similarly the corridors had dirty carpets. We had a massage cerfificate to use at the spa. The swimming pool's floor was oily and there were brown stains on the edges at the water level. The massage room was darkand dusty. Altough the food was good, the dining room staff wasn't friendly and quite inexperienced.We didn't see a single room cleaning personel the two days we were there. We will not return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank france p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adele
1.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
Hotel & Suites Les Laurentides
#6 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#4 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais St. Denis
Relais St. Denis
#2 of 6 in Saint Sauveur des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
Excelsior Hotel Spa Sainte-Adele
#5 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Chantecler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Chantecler

Property: Hotel Le Chantecler
Address: 1474 Chemin Chantecler | Autoroute 15 nord, exit 67, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Sainte-Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Chantecler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel Le Chantecler is one of the most beautiful holiday resorts in all of the picturesque Laurentian mountains north of Montreal. Whether you're there to admire Lac Rond, the mountains or the garden, every Chantecler guest is assured of an exceptional view. You'll have access to all the amenities you need to relax and feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Chantecler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chantecler Hotel
Le Chantecler Sainte Adele
Hotel Le Chantecler Sainte-Adele, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing