We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place and charming hosts”
Review of Auberge de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge de la Gare
Ranked #6 of 20 Sainte-Adele B&B and Inns
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming place and charming hosts”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stopped there as part of our cycling trip on Le p’tit train du nord. Linda and Yvon were charming hosts. Because we got there very early in the season, the auberge was quiet and we got the chance to chat with them a bit more. The auberge is beautifully renovated and decorated in the “country’ style. Our room was nice and comfortable on the side opposite to the street so we were not bother by any noise. We enjoyed a refreshing bear on the outside balcony. The dinner included in our package was actually in St-Adele itself. Yvon drove us there and picked us up. The food was delicious and it gave us a chance to stroll in the St-Adele village. The breakfast at the auberge the next morning was also excellent. A nice place to recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The owners' welcomed us warmly, and gave us a room in the back. It was comfortable and we slept great. The breakfast was good, and plentiful, including a choice of fresh made pastry and eggs. This was perfect before a day of cross-country skiing at Esterel. We had a great night in Ste. Adele! Thank you Auberge de la Gare!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pz0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Like many people we came to this auberge because we were cycling Le P'Tit Train du Nord bike trail. This auberge is perfectly situated for that, a few yards off the trail and the best placed of the auberges in the town. If you are biking this trail you will definitely want to stay here. There is a big shed to lock up your bike. Linda and Yvon are great hosts and couldn't be more helpful.

We were place in the 'honeymoon suite', which has a balcony and a soaker tub with water jets, very nice after a long day's biking. I believe all the rooms have ensuite. The room was beautifully furnished with period pieces, but with a couple of quirks. The toilet was partially hidden behind a screen, but otherwise not separated from the rest of the room. Also the bed was a bit hard, which didn't help a good night's sleep.

The auberge has a patio cafe, where you can buy drinks - wine and beer and others. I tried the 'beer tasting flight', which was four samples of craft beer from a local brewery, all delicious and unavailable outside the area. I thoroughly recommend them.

Breakfast was superb, the best we have had in the region. Three courses, and each course a choice of three or four options, from 'breakfast tortillas' to the more traditional poached egg, each served with fresh bread and fruit and other fixings, all tasty and beautifully presented. It's worth coming for the breakfast alone.

One slight downside is that this auberge is right next to a busy road. It didn't stop us sleeping or spoil the stay (and we were in the room closest to the road) but it did detract from the 'rural isolation' we had hoped for,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJClayworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A lovely inn with lots of charm. Yvon and Linda are very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We would recommend the Inn to anyone wanting to visit the area of Sainte-Adele. Yvon was gracious enough to drive us to and from the restaurants that we had dinner on the two nights we stayed at Auberge de la Gare. With the Italian restaurant we ate a one evening, the Inn and the restaurant have an arrangement - a 3 course meal from a set menu billed to our room at the Inn @ $25.00 per person. It was an excellent meal. Our room was very charming and inviting and the bed oh so comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and filling. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Four of us stayed at this inn on the last night of our cycle tour along the P'tit Train du Nord from Mont Laurier to St. Jerome, Quebec. Yvon and Linda are delightful welcoming hosts and passionate about their home which was very well appointed and very clean, nestled alongside the trail. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and small but adequate bathrooms. The big plus is that the inn has central air, a welcome relief from the noisy window air conditioners we endured the previous nights. One could leave ones bike in a very secure garage. The basement is a huge comfortable room with TV, juke box and pool table. Breakfast was fantastic: my favourite was the fruit bruschetta! A nice choice of hot options followed - poached eggs and scrambled egg and sausage tortilla. I would definitely come here again. The only drawback is that it is located about 5 km north of St. Adele so it is helpful to have wheels if you want to go into town for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skychaserCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

beautiful place, all the rooms were very charming ,the hosts ,very friendly the food excellent ,we had a great romantic time , we recommend this place .with the parkland area near the terrass and living room with fireplace ,a good place for romantic lovers ,already my second time there and i still love it !!!.

Room Tip: if you want a more quiet room ,choose the room in the back of the auberge ,because of the street in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Islands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This 120 year old inn has a lot of charm, some of which is reflected in its proprietors. We loved the fact that history dripped from every corner. It's well appointed and clean, with a large shady deck upon which we sampled different Belgium beers in a refreshing 'degustation' - small glasses of four different varieties flavored with strawberries, or maple syrup, or peach. How can one resist? A great French Canadian breakfast as well, by the way. A great overnight stop on the 2000km cycle trail (Le p'tit Train du Nord.) If you're cycling, be sure to book a dinner package ahead of time or you could wind up cycling back in the dark as the inn is several kilometres away from the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movingmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Adele
3.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
198 reviews
5.3 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpine Inn
Hotel Alpine Inn
#5 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Le Clair Matin
Le Clair Matin
#7 of 20 in Sainte-Adele
13 reviews
3.6 mi away
Au Clos Rolland, Couette & Cafe
Au Clos Rolland, Couette & Cafe
#3 of 20 in Sainte-Adele
162 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auberge Le Voyageur
Auberge Le Voyageur
#3 of 21 in Mont Tremblant
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Gare

Property: Auberge de la Gare
Address: 1694, chemin Pierre Peladeau, Sainte-Adele, Quebec J8B 1Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Sainte-Adele
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Adele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful region of Sainte-Adele, in the Laurentians, Auberge de la Gare is an ancestral home built in 1891 along the Petit Train du Nord railway. At the time, this hotel served the station of Sainte-Marguerite-Station. Today, it serves as a relay for cyclists and cross-country skiers who come to practice their favorite sports throughout the year on the linear park Le P'tit Train du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Gare Sainte-Adele, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing