We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to an early Gatwick flight”
Review of Hookwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hookwood Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hookwood
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here in April before one of those uncivilised early flights from Gatwick. We were using Hookwood Lodge for the first time, though we have used Tudor Rose on several occasions and always found them reliable. The accommodation was good, no noise from aircraft. The Black Horse pub, which is only a few minutes walk, is a nice pub serving good pub grub. Tudor Rose picked us up for the short drive to the airport. Overall a great deal less stress than usually associated with early flights. No hesitation in recommending Hookwood Lodge and Tudor Rose.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank AggiBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here the night before flying abroad in March 2013 via Gatwick South terminal. Hotel has good location, large beautiful rooms with en suite facilities and only minutes from Gatwick. Secure car parking service by Tudor Rose was included in their own car park as well as being dropped off at the terminal and a meet and greet service with our car. Wonderful easy way to start and finish a holiday at a realistic price and get on the plane rested and relaxed. Will always use this service when flying am from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botch24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here overnight on the 9th January, before flying to Egypt.
First impressions are impressive. You enter through big security gates, and down a big, sweeping driveway.
Check-in was easy. The girl literally took us to our room and left us there! No "hi, how was your journey" or anything else you would usually expect from a Hotel.
Room is big and spacious. Bed is comfortable. Bit more attention to detail required with missing lightbulbs. Shower was nice in the morning, but not hot in the evening.
Pub down the road is okay, but nothing to write home about. It's a shame they don't sell bottles of wine, breakfast etc from the Hotel.
Car parking service is very good.
Would stay here again, but only before a flight from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at Hookwood Lodge the night before flying from Gatwick. The Lodge was spotlessly clean and the upstairs had just been painted. The Lodge is located about 1 mile from Gatwick, however, we did not hear an aeroplane at all.
The following morning we were transferred to the North Terminal by Tudor Rose car parking.
On arrival back in Gatwick our car was at the drop off point and we only had to wait 1 minute for our own car to arrive, what a fantastic service and Hookwood Lodge was a pleasure to stay at.

Well done Hookwood Lodge and Tudor Rose car parking, meet and greet and we will deffinately will use this service again when flying from Gatwick Airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here the night before our holiday and the night we came home from our holiday and also left the car for the week. The house is in a great location in beautiful grounds, only a few mins from Gatwick, the cars are secure and the rooms are large, comfortable with en suite facilities. There is a lovely pub a couple of minutes walk which offer a great choice of meals which are very reasonably priced. The service provided by Hookwood Lodge/Tudor Rose was excellent.We arrived in Gatwick and were picked up within 3 minutes and taken back to our room. We will certainly use again for an overnight stay at Gatwick. Very good value too.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect - Quiet and comfortable all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolesea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here the night before our holiday, as we had an early morning flight.

House set in lovely country side, but only a stones throw away from Gatwick. We were greeted on arrival and shown to our room. It was pretty basic, but it was a large room, comfortable and clean, with everything we needed for a short stay.

No restauant, but The Black Horse is literally 2 minutes walk away. So we walked there for a meal in the evening.

The next morning a driver met us outside at 05:00 and then drove our car to drop us at the airport. On return, we called the number and our car was returned to us by the time we had made our way outside - Excellent service.

Would thoroughly recommend HookWood Lodge if you have an early morning flight from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stay at this place just before Mothers Day and we just don't know what to expect.We arrive (me and my husband Jeims)late afternoon ,a young lovely girl show our room after taking the mileage of our car.The rooms are big(Victorian size) , and from our window room nr 3 we can see lovely grounds. In the morning at 04.00am driver was waiting outside to take us to the South Terminal.Fantastic...we will definitely return and recommend to all.

Room Tip: A treasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hookwood
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Stanhill Court Hotel
Stanhill Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlwood
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hookwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hookwood Lodge

Address: Hookwood Lodge Farm Reigate Road, Hookwood RH6 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Hookwood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hookwood
Price Range: $72 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hookwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large Victorian Lodge set in 20 acres of parkland yet only minutes from the International Gatwick Airport. Stroll around the lovely walks surrounding our property and experience that country haven feel. For those wanting a bite to eat take to two minute walk to our friendly neighbor The Black Horse Pub and enjoy good homely wholesome food. Our rooms are spacious, streamlined and modern, yet furnished with hand-selected bespoke pieces that reflect the history of our beautiful Victorian building. To help you relax we have added little extra touches: each room has a selection of complimentary teas and coffee, reading lights as well as ceiling spotlights, a large flat screen television with Freeview, hairdryer, free internet access and even an alarm clock so you don't oversleep in one of our comfortable, Egyptian cotton-sheeted beds. As our guests travel around the world at all times of day and night, we focus on ensuring your stay is calm and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hookwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing