We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent quality and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Black Horse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Hookwood
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Party of 13, very easy to book on online.. Resturant very relaxed atompshire, fast service, meals lovely and reasonably priced. Nothing was to much trouble from the staff, would recommend to all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    109
    58
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Evening Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We chose to eat here the night prior to our flight to Greece as close to our hotel at Gatwick.
Pleasantly surprised by the menu as their was a variety of meals on offer. The service was very good, the prices matched the quality. The meal was lovely.
Would recommend this restaurant if in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seabreeze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sunday lunch zumba????”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This always was a lovely pub with hit and miss food so for this reason we have not been for a while, however I think its changed hands and it is still a lovely pub but the food is now good, although compared to other local pubs slightly more expensive for same quality. We had a roast which was nice, my children ordered a childrens meal which was a perfect size for my 6 yr old but way too small for 11 yr old but the adult meals would have been way too much so maybe i willl order a lighter portion from the menu for her next time (an option on several dishes) the meal was spoilt somewhat by a zumbathon going on which was for charity, whilst I admire them raising miney for charity it was not the relaxed quiet family lunch we expected, in fact it was so loud conversation was quite hard to have at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank familystayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and good value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner here the night before flying out from Gatwick, staying at the Travelodge nearby. It is close enough to walk if you want to drink, but is a good 20 minutes.

Food excellent, good portions and value for money. The staff were very friendly

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Walking distant from b & b”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good service, Good food reasonably priced. A bit more special than the normal pub food. nice start to holiday. House wine £11.00 Per bottle.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanJems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing