We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Lamberts Bay Hotel(Lamberts Bay)
$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$66
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Riviera Hotel & Chalets(Velddrif)(Great Value!)
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Klawer Hotel(Klawer)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$98
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Robin Guesthouse(Leipoldtville)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Grootvlei Guest Farm(Lamberts Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
151
58
11
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
58
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdraaihoek lodgeprivate beachcape townshort walkgreat foodheated poolget awayattention to detaila wonderful stayperfect placedeserted beachfew dayshidden gemsand dunesbobotiecity lifebird life
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 224 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a great place for some good down time. Literally in the "middle of nowhere" is a little gem called Draaihoek Lodge. Tucked in behind the dunes, the sound of the sea is awesome! The rooms a very spacious, with a fireplace which we used both nights. The food at the restaurant is excellent and served with pride. The staff love what they do and will go out of their way to satisfy your needs. Was a perfect couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a month's touring holiday on the recommendation of my daughter who is not easily pleased !

Great location with lovely deserted beach walks - the rooms were of a high standard, but don't go expecting all the latest electronic gizmos - this is a total chill out destination.

The young Dutch chef and his girl friend waitress served up some stunning food - don' t know what happened re the earlier review of a poor NY buffet - I am used to eating in a very good standard of restaurant in Europe & SA .

I understand that they are leaving soon - I trust that the owner will find replacements as good.

It was very quiet when I was there, so can't really comment on standards when the pressure is on

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We only stayed for 1 night on our west cost road trip and wish that we could have stayed longer.

* lovely spacious, airy and clean rooms (we were in room 1). Comfy bed.
* stunning location - endless white sand and not a soul on the beach. lovely to see the wild seals just very sad that there were quite a few dead ones which is a result of them starving as the chinese are over-fishing the waters.
* great food - we had lunch, dinner and breakfast.One of the nicest breakfast buffets and the omlette was the best I have ever tasted. We had the seafood platter with crayfish and shared it, excellent value. The wine list is also very affordable with some nice local wines.
* the outdoor pool is heated and it a lovely place to relax
* the stars at night are spectacular
* friendly staff
* we are dog crazy so it was lovely to meet the manager's son's beautiful doggy.

We would definitely stay again and infact my father stayed in January and also raved about the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sun2009_Sun_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

True: Marietjie a Gem, lovely location.
Rooms spacious and clean.
However, restaurant a throw back to the terrible 80's, and the New Years Eve Boufet definately not gourmet.
No bar snacks or fridge drinks in room, no WI FI or TV, so you better be a surfer.
Couldn't wait to get out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoodleAffieinAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietjie B, Manager at Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017

Also did not pay your bill!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Went away for a few days into a relatively unplanned trip and found this gem. Placed in the middle of nowhere along the Atlantic coast close to the wide and white ,clean sand dunes.
We spent three relaxing days on the beach and by the pool. The problematic WiFi and mobile connection gave you the opportunity to relax. Read 2 books .... and relaxed in the nice and carefully planned cottage with its own fireplace. The food is worth its own chapter. Very good with a wide choice from an ambitious menue.Marieijtie the caring lodge manager is said to be a good Chef ...but we arrived at the same time as new Chef Gerrie from Arnhem,and girlfriend Elona who served his talents. Good selection of wines ,friendly priced. The Annexkloof Boreaux Blend 2007 was so good that we went to the wineyard in Swartland to buy more just to find it was all sold to China.!!

Room Tip: Be prepared for come connectivity problems if you want to be online or reachable over the mobile.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews