We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to de-stress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Eland's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to de-stress”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went here for our honeymoon - well the start of our honeymoon - and it couldn't have been more perfect. So peaceful with just the sound of the sea, the other side of the dunes. 30km of beach to ourselves and a hamper lovingly made by Marietjie. She really spoilt us - her food is amazing. Whilst we had dinner, the fire was lit in our lodge - blissful. We felt relaxed and indulged. Can't wait to go back. Everyone was so nice - couldn't believe how perfect everything was. You decide when to eat and nothing is too much trouble. Bliss!

Room Tip: All the lodges are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker-Grey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    43
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
107
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A huge room with an open fireplace and a canopied bed and a thatched roof. Miles of deserted beach and dunes, what more could you want ? Oh yes, a four star restaurant and smiling helpful staff and a friendly owner ! We found Draaihoek by chance and it was like winning the jackpot. It was so amazing to come back from a long walk on the beach to a warm fire already lit in your room and then to enjoy a fine meal in the restaurant . We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanghaibrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with a 2 night stay. Everyone was so pleasant and welcoming. The food was superb and served with a smile. The rooms are fantastic and very romantic with the open fireplace. The private beach was just miles of deserted white sand. Great place to get away from it all on the West Coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerZA2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place is part of the unique places i have been in my life .
This is a special place to reconnect with Nature and yourself.
You are just lost in an amazing landscape, but hospitality let you feel someone takes care of you.
Food is fresh ( Lobster...), dinning time are just as great as walking on the wild beach where you will only cross animals. Sunset is beautiful , you are in Africa !
A place you want to say a lot of good but not too lound to keep it yours :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaelicBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thank You ! what a wonderful weekend break. The accommodation was exceptional, the food memorable. Marietjie and her team made every effort to exceed our expectations, always with a smile. What a great find we will definitely be back.

Chris, Michelle &family

Room Tip: The Manor House is perfect for a family get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

One of the most romantic place what you can imagine! It is too sad to come there alone :( Best place for a couple! Great couisine by the owner... with a lot of love and harmony. Fabulouse apartment!! It is amazing to have a bed near of the fireplace with a open fire... when you can here the sound of the waves of the atlantic before you sleep! Unforgettable! The only one small problem for us  (world) traveler is a wi-fi internet, but I'm sure that they will provide very soon to fix that "small" inconvenience...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This lodge is excellent! Staff is extremely friendly, food is good, rooms are good and location is FANTASTIC!
The owner of the lodge, mr Heylen was extremely friendly. He invited us to his own house and we had dinner with him. When we asked him if we could do a safari in the neighbourhood he immediately said we could do a private safari on his own private land of 3000acres. He drove us around the whole morning, we had a picknick breakfast he prepared and we've seen a lot of wild animals. The hotel has a private beach of 4 kilometres..... Everything about this place is perfect. Mr Heylen and his wife are great!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eland's Bay
23.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Chalets
Riviera Hotel & Chalets
#1 of 1 in Velddrif
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
23.8 mi away
Le Marina B&B
Le Marina B&B
#1 of 7 in Velddrif
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
22.6 mi away
Laaiplek Hotel
Laaiplek Hotel
#4 of 7 in Velddrif
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant

Property: Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant
Address: R27 between Veldrif and Elandsbaai, Eland's Bay 8110, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Eland's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eland's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Draaihoek Lodge is situated on the West Coast of South Africa with a unspoiled 5 km white sandy private beach. Draaihoek Lodge offers accommodation in 8 luxury suites, each fronting the scenic strand veld and dunes of the Atlantic Ocean. Furthermore we have the Manor House with its 3 luxuriously appointed bedrooms overlooking the vlei with its unique flora and bird life available. Whether you dine in The Restaurant, on the terrace or picnic overlooking the waves of the West Coast, you will savor the flavors of our mouth-watering classics and gourmet dishes prepared by the kitchen team. Fare from the kitchen will guide you through the flavors redolent of South Africa's cooking tradition and the West Coast surrounds - borrowing from the Cosmopolitan table to create a heart warming taste experience that endeavors to touch patrons' souls. All meals are served with quality wines selected from our cellar. Je seux qu'on se voix - come and join us. The private Nature Reserve reaches from the Atlantic ocean inland to Sandveld's mountain range and across to the Verlorenvlei, a RAMSAR classified site, south of Elands Bay. The coastal border of the Reserve stretches along an undisturbed sandy beach, hugged by rugged dunes and favoured by flocks of birds typical to the West Coast. The uninhabited bay area is frequented by whales, seals and playing Heaviside dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Draaihoek Lodge & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing