We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful peaceful stay in the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buttslade House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sibford Gower
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buttslade House
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful stay in the Cotswolds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We chose Buttslade House from the Alastair Sawdays Special Places to Stay, and how right he is! This is such a beautiful, unspoilt location with thatched roof cottages up the road and a really good eaterie next door. We slept really well in a comfortable bed in the Garden Room. (The garden is absolutely gorgeous). It is a peaceful, tranquil home and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just spent three enjoyable nights here. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts superb. Diana is very friendly and helpful whether you are asking about the house or where to visit locally. The gardens are brimming with plants, if a little unseasonably wet for this time if year. We would be happy to return here if we are staying in the area again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sealdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

A wonderful place to spend your (days and) nights in! An (honest) warm welcome from the couple running it while their daughter was away on holidays. Nothing was ever a problem, all we heard was "yes", "yes" and "yes" - what an exceptional treat! There's a seemingly endless garden full of flowers and fruit trees and quaint little spots to sit and while away the hours. Probably the best breakfast we've had in a B&B - with all choices you can imagine. The garden and beam rooms we and my parents stayed in were comfortable and cosy. Can't say enough good things about Buttslade House - if only more B&B's were like this!

Room Tip: The Garden Room and The Beam Room were both excellent. The Garden Room is probably a bit bigger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mf2hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Buttslade House cottage for five weeks .... So we intimately know this place in all weather, all moods, all times. And in all, we've felt perfectly, fully, nourished and cared for.

Buttslade House is a perfect whole: in beauty ... (endless garden, lovingly cared for; grand old stone walls which we from America see all too little of back of; modern, plush interior aesthetic; misty and endless green fields all around to walk in) and in care ... (kind and humble owners Diana and Jan, and their lovely parents for a spell, are ever-available to help with anything at all, yet ever-sensitive also to privacy and quiet time, when that's what their guests desire).

I don't know a single thing that could be improved upon. We've travelled widely for over a year now and this is at the top of our experiences. Lucky are the travelers that will choose this very special place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailingAzulverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were cycling from Oxford to Stratford-Upon-Avon on a planned trip and had booked two en-suite rooms months in advance. Knowing we would be very tired, we were looking forward to this place. We knew Dianna was on holiday, but she told us it was not a problem as a friend was covering for her. We were warmly welcomed by her parents instead. A lovely house and garden. The rooms we were taken to were not en-suite. there was a bathroom on the corridor. The rooms were puzzling- just like bedrooms, non of the usual B&B amenities. On closer inspection, we realised we were in bedrooms (Diana's daughters it transpired). Personal photos on the walls, clothes and effects etc in all the drawers and wardrobes.
It was Bank Holiday, 7pm, no other accomodation in the village, travelling by bike. We felt we had no choice but to stay, but we were very upset, felt deceived and uncomfortable in these rooms (one had no lock on the door and other guests were in the house) and did not enjoy our stay at all. The parents thought we had been offered these rooms because we were desperate for somewhere to stay. Not true. When they accepted that we had booked in good faith well in advance, they would not accept payment. This was the best they could do, but it was not what we would have chosen. The last night of our trip was ruined and we would have much preferred to pay for the lovely en-suite rooms we were expecting. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed a night at the Buttslade House on our way up to Scotland. We were very impressed with the room that we stayed in. Very private, clean, comfortable and accomadating. The bedding was extrememly comfortable and we had a great night rest. Breakfast was wonderful and Diane and her husband went above and beyond to set us out on the right direction for our day's journey. I thought that the price was great for such a refreshing and well appointed B&B. Only downfall was it was hard for us to find. Make sure you have GPS or that you get detailed instructions on how to get there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at Buttslade House while attending a pottery course nearyby. Diane was absolutely fantastic host! She is so helpful with restaurant bookings and great at remembering what I liked for breakfast and let me even borrow her shoes for my walk across the fields!!
Breakfast was served at the time convenient for me with lovely hot coffee and porridge!!
The room I got had a lovely bath and hot water and very very clean!!
Loved it and will def go again!

Room Tip: ask for the independent ones in the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibford Gower
2.3 mi away
The George at Brailes
The George at Brailes
#1 of 1 in Brailes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Gate at Brailes
The Gate at Brailes
#26 of 39 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mine Hill House
Mine Hill House
#22 of 39 in Banbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttslade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttslade House

Property: Buttslade House
Address: Buttslade House Temple Mill Road, Sibford Gower OX15 5RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sibford Gower
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sibford Gower
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing