We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Whole”
Review of Buttslade House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sibford Gower
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buttslade House
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Buttslade House cottage for five weeks .... So we intimately know this place in all weather, all moods, all times. And in all, we've felt perfectly, fully, nourished and cared for.

Buttslade House is a perfect whole: in beauty ... (endless garden, lovingly cared for; grand old stone walls which we from America see all too little of back of; modern, plush interior aesthetic; misty and endless green fields all around to walk in) and in care ... (kind and humble owners Diana and Jan, and their lovely parents for a spell, are ever-available to help with anything at all, yet ever-sensitive also to privacy and quiet time, when that's what their guests desire).

I don't know a single thing that could be improved upon. We've travelled widely for over a year now and this is at the top of our experiences. Lucky are the travelers that will choose this very special place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SailingAzulverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

We were cycling from Oxford to Stratford-Upon-Avon on a planned trip and had booked two en-suite rooms months in advance. Knowing we would be very tired, we were looking forward to this place. We knew Dianna was on holiday, but she told us it was not a problem as a friend was covering for her. We were warmly welcomed by her parents instead. A lovely house and garden. The rooms we were taken to were not en-suite. there was a bathroom on the corridor. The rooms were puzzling- just like bedrooms, non of the usual B&B amenities. On closer inspection, we realised we were in bedrooms (Diana's daughters it transpired). Personal photos on the walls, clothes and effects etc in all the drawers and wardrobes.
It was Bank Holiday, 7pm, no other accomodation in the village, travelling by bike. We felt we had no choice but to stay, but we were very upset, felt deceived and uncomfortable in these rooms (one had no lock on the door and other guests were in the house) and did not enjoy our stay at all. The parents thought we had been offered these rooms because we were desperate for somewhere to stay. Not true. When they accepted that we had booked in good faith well in advance, they would not accept payment. This was the best they could do, but it was not what we would have chosen. The last night of our trip was ruined and we would have much preferred to pay for the lovely en-suite rooms we were expecting. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed a night at the Buttslade House on our way up to Scotland. We were very impressed with the room that we stayed in. Very private, clean, comfortable and accomadating. The bedding was extrememly comfortable and we had a great night rest. Breakfast was wonderful and Diane and her husband went above and beyond to set us out on the right direction for our day's journey. I thought that the price was great for such a refreshing and well appointed B&B. Only downfall was it was hard for us to find. Make sure you have GPS or that you get detailed instructions on how to get there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at Buttslade House while attending a pottery course nearyby. Diane was absolutely fantastic host! She is so helpful with restaurant bookings and great at remembering what I liked for breakfast and let me even borrow her shoes for my walk across the fields!!
Breakfast was served at the time convenient for me with lovely hot coffee and porridge!!
The room I got had a lovely bath and hot water and very very clean!!
Loved it and will def go again!

Room Tip: ask for the independent ones in the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntrepidWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My sister, boyfriend and I stayed two nights at Buttslade House while spending a weekend in the Cotswolds. We had a really great stay! Diana was incredibly helpful with dinner reservations and suggesting things to do/see locally, and she really made you feel welcome. The rooms themselves were clean and incredibly charming. I would definitely recommend this B&B to friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDLS813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We booked in again to Buttslade House to break the journey North from London. As ever, a relaxing and pleasurable stay. Wonderful warm room and home-cooked breakfast. All the little touches - magazines in room and lovely toiletries. Its more than a B&B - its like home from home. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the garden, or the beamed room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashire_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here two weeks ago with our two boys aged 3 and 5. Diana and Jan were so nice to us all and made a special effort engaging with the little ones. We were in the two bedroom cottage and while small it was very comfy.

The gardens there are stunning and the boys ran around them without feeling they were in the way. It is perfectly situated for towns like Chipping Norton, Bourton on the Water and Stow on the Wold.

Very good prices too, i would recommend this for families. They also have a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhysethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buttslade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttslade House

Address: Buttslade House Temple Mill Road, Sibford Gower OX15 5RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sibford Gower
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sibford Gower
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing