We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
24
11
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
24
11
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san ignacio hot water living room minute walk air conditioning lucy laundry shuttle fridge transportation tikal wifi tours belize comfort amenities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 38 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

Not fancy, but more than met all of our needs. Very small inn - maybe 8 rooms on 2 floors. Each floor has a shared kitchen with fridge, microwave, sink, and range. Within 5 - 10 minute walk, or $5.00 Bz cab ride to downtown. Room was spacious and comfortable, with excellent Wifi. Best feature of the inn is Lucy the manager. She is amazingly friendly, hardworking, and helpful. She always had time for us, making sure that we were okay and didn't need anything. We have experienced some excellent hosts in Belize, but Lucy is the best!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 611colinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucecita33, Manager at Cocopele Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2016

Hi! Mr.Collin it was a pleasure having you here at our hotel (more like our home.. ) our motto here is always pleasing our costumers making them happy at all times and that's what we do.. thank you so much for making our hotel apart of you holiday travels .. Thank you once again and hope you make us apart of your holiday travel whenever you ready again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in July 2016 in a double room with AC and private bathroom. The room also benefited from access to a shared kitchen.

The property is conveniently located in Santa Elena, just over the metal bridge. You can walk to San Ignacio town with all the tour agencies and restaurants in 5-10mins, everything is close. The location is on the main road so there is some traffic noise but we didn't find it too bad. The owners were also installing new windows whilst we were there to improve the sound proofing.

The room was large with an extra single bed, and living area with sofa, desk, TV and microwave, like a mini apartment.

The AC was modern and quiet and the electric shower had hot water. Wifi was good, a little patchy at times.

Lucy the owner lives on site and is always on hand for advice. She was so kind and helped us out immensely as we wanted to get married in Belize. She even made us a cake on our wedding day! Excellent service, thank you!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank JessamyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2016

Pretty much what you'd expect from a budget spot but a few things left us a little disappointed. The bedding was really poor and made for some annoying sleeps and the bed was super firm. Not the best sleeps I've ever had.
The lighting in the bathroom was not great around the mirror, a tough shave and the gf couldn't use it at all to put makeup on or do hair. The shower was always cold, they tried replacing our shower-head a couple times but still didn't work, nothing like not being able to have at least a warm shower.
Place was pretty noisy as well, we had the room right next to the highway so it was loud, they only use thick plastic on the windows so maybe a solid window would make a difference.
Lucy was great as the manager though, she was really sweet and helped a lot. It was a solid stay and would recommend for travellers who are okay with basic stuff.

Cheers and Happy Travels,
Greg & Kristy

Room tip: Ask for an up-top room away from the road.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Each room has its own coffee maker, microwave, and a few plates, cups, and silverware. Ours had a large chest of drawers and a nightstand, two beds, a futon, a small tv, and a built-in desk/table, as well as a/c. It was a comfortable room. There was also a fairly well-stocked galley kitchen shared by all rooms on the floor, and a washing machine with free detergent for guest use.

Wi-fi was available but worked very slow and was spotty.

Unfortunately, our room looked like it hadn't had a deep cleaning in months. Yes, the main floor was swept and mopped, but the corners and baseboards were utterly filthy. And the 3-D art on the walls was terribly dusty. The kitchen was so coated in old grease that I spent an hour cleaning it and washing pots and pans and utensils before I could cook.

The bathroom was a decent size, but again very dirty around the edges, and had extremely poor lighting by the mirror, making it impossible to do hair or put on makeup in there.

And finally, the place is very loud. Its right on the western highway to traffic noise is loud. Its right across the street from and electronics store that plays very loud music all day long on Saturdays, and the noise from the hotel laundry as well as the guests using the kitchen and guest laundry assures that there is no peace at all. We were in a lower level room and since there is no soundproofing between floors, also had to contend with the clatter of footsteps from the room above us which started around 6 am every morning and didn't end until 11 pm each evening.

Room tip: Stay away from room #1 - incredibly loud
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizardkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

The Cocopele Inn is a basic place-- not glamorous or fancy, but what it lacks in luxury it makes up for in hospitality. The manager, Lucy, couldn't do enough for us to ensure that we had everything we needed. We had a three bedroom apartment that was very reasonably priced. The Inn is close to everything and includes free washing machines. Of all of the budget places we stayed (and even one high-end place) in Belize, Cocopele was the only place that was able to consistently have both electricity and good, solid wifi.

Room tip: The noise from trucks on the "highway" in the front might be a little loud, so get a room in the back.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews