We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for Amanikan, 2 for Amanwana”
Review of Amanwana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanwana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

we had to book 2 nights at Amanwana to get on Amanikan. the 1st day we found totaly unmotivated personal at Amanwana and Service far beyond Amanresorts level which only changed upon the Arrival of the GM the 2nd day. therefore all our rating is for Amanikan only.
It's a beautiful ship, it has an amazing Crew and Manager. Food, Service and diving is one of the best you can find at sea. it has it's price but totaly worth it. despite the size of the ship you will always have your privacy. the Crew will find the best spots to dive or relax. Realy nothing they can do better and i hope for all future guest they can keep this very high Standard. Thank you to
the Crew and cruisemanager for this exceptional and memorable cruise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Amanwana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a wonderful romantic time at Moyo resort. The resort is set in a beautiful location and you feel in touch with nature. Staff were very friendly, polite and willing to help in any way they could. All of the trips we did were very memorable - diving, waterfall, sunset cruise, dinner followed by a movie on the beach etc. The food was also excellent.
Amanwana Resort a great hidden gem in Indonesia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Amanwana was truly a magical experience and was one of our favorite Aman resorts. We went with our friends who had never before visited an Aman and they, too, were thrilled with their stay.

The tents offer every possible amenity including straw hats and bag and flip-flops and hit the perfect balance between luxury and practicality. The beds, pillows and linens were amazing, and the bathroom area ticked all the boxes.

The service went far beyond expectations in every way and our tents were serviced in one form or another at least four times a day! If you reserve an ocean tent (and I would definitely recommend you do) and like to be far away from the activity, request tent 22.

One of the highlights of our stay was the food --- breakfasts were amazing and, while we were usually too full for lunch, we did nibble one day and it was also terrific. Dinners were creative and delicious ---the only slip up was the fish one night. Wine and drinks are quite pricey but considering where you are, perhaps understandable.

Our floatplane trip in and out of Amanwana worked like a charm and added to the adventure and fun.

The staff was perfect --- kind, caring, and eager to help in any and every way possible.

Our massages and facials were fantastic, snorkeling was fun, and the dive class was instructive and gave our party a chance to try scuba diving. There are lots of other activities to be had, some are included in the rate, and some are not.

Amanjiwo in Java was also a fun experience. What made it so special was the staff ---especially General Manager Mark Swinton. What a team he has assembled.

The suites are large and beyond elegant. The private patios are huge and we wish we had booked a pool suite.

There were a couple of downsides to Amanjiwo, but they were relatively insignificant and didn’t greatly affect our stay.

We loved Borobudur, which is where Amanjiwo is located---especially the art, the people and the sights.

What helped make the whole Aman experience easy, worry free, and totally enjoyable before we even got there was our Aman agent, Sachin Coomaraswamy, whose patience, professionalism, knowledge and understanding were exceptional and for that we were very grateful.

As always, Aman did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Tent 22. Because the tents are a bit close together, this tent only has a neighbor on one side and...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We loved the diving and the dive shop at the Amanwana. In fact, the entire staff was wonderful. My wife had been injured and she was given alot of TLC by the Aman nurse. Tented rooms were luxurious. Nothing but good things to say. PT

Room Tip: All rooms were good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We love staying in Aman hotels. We were very excited to be going to Moyo Island. Our entire vacation was planned around the "float plane" schedule. The day before the hotel called to say there was no float plane (either way)
Hotel was not well maintained. Trekking paths not cleared. Many parts of resort were closed (no trip to waterfall). Our package included 2 dives, but even though the hotel was only at 50% capacity, they could only accomodate one dive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cralter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went there for a couple days to enjoy the ocean and that is exactly what we got!
Although small and nothing much on the island, they have excellent things to do... you can go hiking to the waterfalls, snorkling is beautiful (you can get to see so many things it's amazing... my 4 year old son learn to snorkle while there because he was so intrigued by the underwater creatures), fishing, feeding the fishes and offcourse, go on Amanikan.

There is a boarding fee per person which includes all your food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) because keep in mind that you are in a secluded place and there's no other restaurant except the one in the hotel. The french toast with moyo honey is amazing... and don't forget to taste the honey comb ice cream (I can still taste it now while writing this).

The service, like most Aman, is impeccable. The staff at the dock was really nice.... he taught my nanny to swim!! They were accommodating... every time my son wanted to feed the fishes around the dock, they would run and get the food for the fishes. They clean all your snorkling gears and store them for you so that when you are ready for another round, they're all clean and ready to use.

The waterfall was also an amazing experience. It's clean and a fun drive in an old safari car where it will drop you off so that you don't have to hike the whole way.

Getting there is a bit of a hassle but after getting there, you might not want to leave --until you get bored that is because really, there's only so much quietness you can absorb.

Room Tip: Get rooms closer to the main lobby
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrapTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arriving on a float plane from Bali was a true experience with spectacular views. Seeing the island for the first time, I knew Amanwana was the perfect place to spend my holiday.
The service I received throughout my stay was second to none, which all started from being meet by the general manager Mr Livio on arrival, with welcome drinks and personally shown to my tented accommodation which I have to say are more amazing than the pictures on the website can show. Every member of staff were extremely friendly and attentive, always with a smile, nothing was to much trouble. A first class restaurant and bar service.
Amanwana itself is a perfect oasis of calm, a hidden paradise.
If you are the more adventurous, Amanwana has its very own Dive centre and a highly professional dive team, managed by Mr Gaz who himself is a highly qualified instructor, the course I undertook was an amazing experience both educational and extremely enjoyable at all times.
A holiday of a life time.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyo Island
16.4 mi away
Samawa Transit Hotel
Samawa Transit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sumbawa Besar
44 reviews
10.9 mi away
Samawa Seaside Cottages
Samawa Seaside Cottages
#1 of 24 in Sumbawa
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Moyo Bungalows
Sunset Moyo Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Moyo Island
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Kencana Beach Cottages
Kencana Beach Cottages
#3 of 4 in Sumbawa Besar
16 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#2 of 4 in Sumbawa Besar
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Davi Homestay
Davi Homestay
#1 of 3 in Moyo Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwana

Address: Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Moyo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
Price Range: $663 - $1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanwana (peaceful forest) is the only resort located on the island of Moyo, a nature reserve east of Bali. Set on a beach in a secluded cove overlooking the Flores Sea, Amanwana is a wilderness hideaway with accommodation in luxury tents. The protected marine park offers some of the best scuba diving and snorkelling in Indonesia. Amanikan is the camp's 32-metre coastal cruiser which hosts adventures to Rinca and Komodo islands where the legendary Komodo dragons can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Amanwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwana Hotel Moyo Island
Amanwana Hotel Sumbawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing