We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”
Review of Amanwana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amanwana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went there for a couple days to enjoy the ocean and that is exactly what we got!
Although small and nothing much on the island, they have excellent things to do... you can go hiking to the waterfalls, snorkling is beautiful (you can get to see so many things it's amazing... my 4 year old son learn to snorkle while there because he was so intrigued by the underwater creatures), fishing, feeding the fishes and offcourse, go on Amanikan.

There is a boarding fee per person which includes all your food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) because keep in mind that you are in a secluded place and there's no other restaurant except the one in the hotel. The french toast with moyo honey is amazing... and don't forget to taste the honey comb ice cream (I can still taste it now while writing this).

The service, like most Aman, is impeccable. The staff at the dock was really nice.... he taught my nanny to swim!! They were accommodating... every time my son wanted to feed the fishes around the dock, they would run and get the food for the fishes. They clean all your snorkling gears and store them for you so that when you are ready for another round, they're all clean and ready to use.

The waterfall was also an amazing experience. It's clean and a fun drive in an old safari car where it will drop you off so that you don't have to hike the whole way.

Getting there is a bit of a hassle but after getting there, you might not want to leave --until you get bored that is because really, there's only so much quietness you can absorb.

Room Tip: Get rooms closer to the main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrapTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arriving on a float plane from Bali was a true experience with spectacular views. Seeing the island for the first time, I knew Amanwana was the perfect place to spend my holiday.
The service I received throughout my stay was second to none, which all started from being meet by the general manager Mr Livio on arrival, with welcome drinks and personally shown to my tented accommodation which I have to say are more amazing than the pictures on the website can show. Every member of staff were extremely friendly and attentive, always with a smile, nothing was to much trouble. A first class restaurant and bar service.
Amanwana itself is a perfect oasis of calm, a hidden paradise.
If you are the more adventurous, Amanwana has its very own Dive centre and a highly professional dive team, managed by Mr Gaz who himself is a highly qualified instructor, the course I undertook was an amazing experience both educational and extremely enjoyable at all times.
A holiday of a life time.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of my fantastic trip to Indonesia. And good experience with my first tented camp resort. And really big swimming pool. Just jump in the ocean.
And really lovely sunset. Good and lovely food from chef everyday special menu for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NoppChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Yes it was expensive, but it is worth every penny we spent and even more.

The flight itself is an experience. From Bali to Moyo, you can see closely the exotic peak of Mount Rinjani with its crater lake, Mount Bromo (highest mountain in Bali), the Lombok island and its surrounding small islands. And the water landing is also quite an experience.

Upon arrival, the GM himself greeted us and even helped us with our luggage.
The tent was nice, air-conditioned, uniquely decorated, and has lots of windows (believe me you'll need it because of the beautiful views surrounding you including the monkeys in the morning when you wake up). The tents already looked a bit old and you can see some signs of aging. But it is acceptably well maintained even for the price. I mean it is not like a four season suite but it is still an Aman resort and for the environment it offers, the tents would be the perfect and unique format of accommodation to enjoy it.

You can decide what you want to have for meals and when you want to have it. There are always option of meals (typically between local, Asian, and western), and you can even ask for something out of the list if it is possible. And the foods are so good. You can choose either you want to have a room service or dine at the exotic dining area, facing the sea, surrounded by gardens, and harmless deer and hog in the night.

There is a list of activities you can choose from. I took some diving and a trip to the waterfall. Diving was very nice. They have a great instructor who also does good discovery scuba diving if you are not yet a certified diver. The dive sites had good visibility, warm temperature, mild current and quite colorful reefs, corals, and small to medium sized sea creatures. The trip to the waterfall was also great. We got there after a combination of boat trip, jeep trip, and a bit of walking to the site. The waterfall is small, but beautiful and it would be a nice place to swim a little.

The people and the services there were nice, genuinely friendly and also reliable. The island is so great, with turquoise and aquatic colored water which is merely transparent. The sunset is so pretty. Behind the resort there is a forest that creates a very exotic situation. I highly recommend this resort to anyone, except if night life if the most important thing for you.

This was only my second Aman experience but I would say that I will always prefer to stay with them whenever the time (and money) is enough :)
And even among the Aman resorts, this one will give a very unique experience you can only have good memories about.

Room Tip: The ocean tents are absolutely better than the jungle tents. They have direct access to the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molamola17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a resort like no other. The setting, the luxurious tents by the water, and above all ... the amazing staff. Willdan Erfan was the acting manager whilst we were there. He is lovely, interested, involved, efficient - and everyhere his walm calm presence is seen and felt. Yes, the Aman Group philosophy is very much evident in the friendly and total involvement of all the staff at the hotel. Walking, jeeping, boating, snorkelling from the beach by your room, or by boat on the reef. They are there to literally hold your hand when needed. They adore children. Some fittings are a little tired and this just adds to the atmosphere. Superb spa massages, lovely food. The lighting for dining is appalling and the staff use torches ... this was the only adverse comment after five days of bliss. Go there !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amanwana is a "tented camp" type of property, located on Moyo Island, where it is the only accommodation option. Moyo is a nature preserve, and heavily forested. There is a small village on Moyo as well, that you can visit, but it is strictly local - interesting to see, just nothing for tourists there. The resort is lovely, a real retreat. As with most Aman resorts, you get a very nice experience for a price that is nothing short of exorbitant.

LOCATION - Moyo Island is just north of Sambawa, which is the island east of Lombok and two down from Bali. It is a 1-hour flight from Bali by floatplane, or 1 hour, 45 minutes by helicopter.

GETTING TO MOYO - The easiest and most popular way to get to Moyo Island is by Aman's 6-passenger chartered floatplane run by Travira Air, from Bali which costs $400 per person each way and is subject to the usual 10% service charge and the 11% tax that is added to everything at the resort, so a total of nearly $1,000.00 per person round-trip for a 1-hour flight. You can also charter the 6-passenger plane for a measly $4500++ (about $10,000 round-trip for a 1-hour flight). They can also arrange a transfer by helicopter for you, which I'm not sure why you'd want as it takes twice as long, but hey, maybe you like helicopters.

There is also a ferry from Sambawa that they'll put you on if the float plane can't land due to rough waters. There is a 15kg per person weight limit on the float plane (total, not just checked luggage), which is really tough for all but the shortest trips, though they will work with you to make it work (for example, sending some luggage a different day, or if the plane is not full they can usually accommodate you). If you take their Amanikan Komodo cruise, the boat will end at Moyo so you only have a 1-way floatplane.

AMBIENCE - Moyo is a nature preserve, full of monkeys, wild boar, deer, and other animals. We saw all these, and also a python and a deadly green mamba snake on the way to the waterfall, didn't need to see those! The monkeys, deer and wild boar wander into the camp regularly. The coral reefs around the island are extensive for diving and snorkeling. You can snorkel right off the beach and have a very nice time. There are 20 tents, a restaurant and bar, a spa and a watersports center.

BEACH - The beach is narrow, very coarse and full of coral - you will have to wear sandals on the beach to avoid hurting your feet. This is not a white-sand type of beach like you'll find in other locations. The coral reefs start right off the shore and it shows on the beaches. You probably won't spend all that much time on the beach as it is extremely hot during the day, it's really not that nice to spend time on, and there are plenty of other things to do. There is no surf here, at least during our stay, completely tranquil.

PRICE - The prices are typical Aman exorbitance, running you about $1500 per couple per night in an Ocean Tent (after adding the 10% service charge and 11% tax on everything, plus the $135++per person per night (about $330 per couple per night) mandatory food charge). This $1500 per night does not include any activities (none of which are included and are not cheap), nor any alcohol (which is very, very expensive at about $150 for a bottle of regular daily wine after tax and service charge). Add the $1000 per person round-trip for the floatplane and you're looking at a very, very expensive stay in a very inexpensive country, way out of line with the going rates for other luxury resorts in Indonesia. We rented a lovely 4-room villa on Flores for $85 a night (not 5-star but very nice). A gorgeous 5-star all-inclusive villa in Bali can be found easily for $250 to $500 a night, depending on where. There is just no justification for Aman's prices, they are nice resorts, but not that nice. Way out of line with other very nice resorts that you find all over the place nowadays. Amanwana is no different.

TENTS - There are two types of tents - ocean tent and jungle tent. The only difference is the side of the pathway they are on. On the ocean side of the pathway, you have a beach with a couple lounge chairs, but it's usually too hot to lay in them for long. There is a nice ocean view from the tent though, and a couple chairs on the balcony to enjoy it from if the monkeys will stay away for long enough. The jungle tents back to the jungle and you can have deer come up to your window and graze right outside (though usually at night). I think it's worth the $150/night extra for the ocean tent for sure.

Our tent was renovated, except for the shower, and in good condition. Big windows all around limit privacy, but are great for light and view. Bed was comfortable but bed and pillows were a bit hard. Spacious rooms with double sinks in the bathroom, shower but no bathtub, two very spacious wardrobes, a large desk for working (but only a place for 1 person to sit), and mosquito nets on the bed at night. They are air-conditioned but still get very hot at times during the day. No televisions or sound systems in the rooms. Very nice tents, not out of this world, but spacious and comfortable.

FOOD - There is a $135 per person, per night mandatory food charge, which after adding the mandatory 10% service charge and 11% tax, works out to about $330 per couple per day. This does not include the exorbitantly priced wine or alcohol (plan on $150 per bottle for daily wine after tax and service charge). The food is all served ala carte. Lunch and dinner are 3-course and you have 2 choices. Breakfast is from the menu with quite a few Western choices, but only 3 indonesian options. The food is very simple for the price you are paying (noodles, basic fish, penne pasta with tomato sauce, hamburger and fries, basic soups). It was nice, pleasant and we enjoyed it but far from what you'd expect from a 5-star resort at these prices. A stark contrast to the complex and luxurious dishes we had at other resorts in Indonesia. They do give you a lot of food, so you won't be hungry. The BBQ on the beach is a very nice evening, all lit up with candles and a massive BBQ dinner. Add another $100.00 for that.

SNORKELING & DIVING - The coral reefs all around the resort are full of sea life. You can snorkel the very shallow reefs and find blue spotted stingrays, lobsters, cuttlefish, and tons of tropical fish. Further out you can see sea turtles, manta rays, and reef sharks. Unfortunately Aman is promoting fish feeding which is disrupting the natural environment and making fish in the area where they are fed become aggressive. If you swim left from the dock you will find a lot of very nice corals and plenty of fish. Also to the right toward the other pier is a very nice snorkeling area with a wide variety of fish to be seen. They also run boat trips at an additional charge to other snorkeling areas. It is really hot so make sure to wear a shirt when snorkeling for sun protection!

We signed up for a diving trip but then the night before diving, we were informed the dive was full and offered a consolation 1-tank afternoon dive instead. We saw the dive boat come back in with one diver on board that morning. I guess there is a 1-diver capacity. We said no thanks and didn't get to dive. Apparently it's really nice though.

STAFF - The staff was extremely pleasant, friendly and eager to please. They really added to the experience. Be prepared to wait very long times after ordering, so plan accordingly. Things take a long time. But they are so nice and you're so relaxed you don't care. The manager was very nice and involved with the guests. Things aren't so tight that you'd expect from a resort at this price level, but they were really nice people. Housekeeping did an excellent job throughout the stay.

EXCURSIONS - To make the most of your Amanwana experience, make sure to plan on doing several excursions. There are quite a few add-on experiences available and they will surely make your stay more enjoyable. The hike to the waterfall was enjoyable but the jeep is open so the sun will pound you if you don't have a big hat and strong sunscreen so be prepared. The drive to the waterfall was bumpy and not nice - through a bunch of slash-and-burn areas - but nice to walk through the village and the forest and swim in the waterfall. We saw a couple poisonous snakes, monkeys, wild boar and buffalo.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at Amanwana. There was nothing that remotely warrants the prices they charge, but if you just don't care about that, you don't need a white sand beach, and simple food is no problem for you as long as it tastes good, and you enjoy diving and snorkeling, then I'm sure you will enjoy Amanwana. It is a relaxing and enjoyable getaway.

Room Tip: Ocean Rooms are worth the price difference. There really is no other differences except location to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The island itself is incredible, with aqua blue water that is teeming with fish. A snorkelers paradise. Although we did find the cost to be exceptionally high it is understandable that this is a result of the remote location. Overall a breathtaking location that lends itself to lazy days on the sun loungers but I'll let the photos speak for our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joedolpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyo Island
16.5 mi away
Samawa Transit Hotel
Samawa Transit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sumbawa Besar
46 reviews
10.9 mi away
Samawa Seaside Cottages
Samawa Seaside Cottages
#1 of 25 in Sumbawa
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Moyo Bungalows
Sunset Moyo Bungalows
#1 of 3 in Moyo Island
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Kencana Beach Cottages
Kencana Beach Cottages
#3 of 5 in Sumbawa Besar
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Davi Homestay
Davi Homestay
#2 of 3 in Moyo Island
5 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#2 of 5 in Sumbawa Besar
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwana

Address: Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Moyo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
Price Range: $662 - $1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanwana (peaceful forest) is the only resort located on the island of Moyo, a nature reserve east of Bali. Set on a beach in a secluded cove overlooking the Flores Sea, Amanwana is a wilderness hideaway with accommodation in luxury tents. The protected marine park offers some of the best scuba diving and snorkelling in Indonesia. Amanikan is the camp's 32-metre coastal cruiser which hosts adventures to Rinca and Komodo islands where the legendary Komodo dragons can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Amanwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwana Hotel Moyo Island
Amanwana Hotel Sumbawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing