We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The is nowhere, anywher, to touch it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amanwana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanwana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The is nowhere, anywher, to touch it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a resort like no other. The setting, the luxurious tents by the water, and above all ... the amazing staff. Willdan Erfan was the acting manager whilst we were there. He is lovely, interested, involved, efficient - and everyhere his walm calm presence is seen and felt. Yes, the Aman Group philosophy is very much evident in the friendly and total involvement of all the staff at the hotel. Walking, jeeping, boating, snorkelling from the beach by your room, or by boat on the reef. They are there to literally hold your hand when needed. They adore children. Some fittings are a little tired and this just adds to the atmosphere. Superb spa massages, lovely food. The lighting for dining is appalling and the staff use torches ... this was the only adverse comment after five days of bliss. Go there !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    10
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
67
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
677 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Amanwana is a "tented camp" type of property, located on Moyo Island, where it is the only accommodation option. Moyo is a nature preserve, and heavily forested. There is a small village on Moyo as well, that you can visit, but it is strictly local - interesting to see, just nothing for tourists there. The resort is lovely, a real retreat. As with most Aman resorts, you get a very nice experience for a price that is nothing short of exorbitant.

LOCATION - Moyo Island is just north of Sambawa, which is the island east of Lombok and two down from Bali. It is a 1-hour flight from Bali by floatplane, or 1 hour, 45 minutes by helicopter.

GETTING TO MOYO - The easiest and most popular way to get to Moyo Island is by Aman's 6-passenger chartered floatplane run by Travira Air, from Bali which costs $400 per person each way and is subject to the usual 10% service charge and the 11% tax that is added to everything at the resort, so a total of nearly $1,000.00 per person round-trip for a 1-hour flight. You can also charter the 6-passenger plane for a measly $4500++ (about $10,000 round-trip for a 1-hour flight). They can also arrange a transfer by helicopter for you, which I'm not sure why you'd want as it takes twice as long, but hey, maybe you like helicopters.

There is also a ferry from Sambawa that they'll put you on if the float plane can't land due to rough waters. There is a 15kg per person weight limit on the float plane (total, not just checked luggage), which is really tough for all but the shortest trips, though they will work with you to make it work (for example, sending some luggage a different day, or if the plane is not full they can usually accommodate you). If you take their Amanikan Komodo cruise, the boat will end at Moyo so you only have a 1-way floatplane.

AMBIENCE - Moyo is a nature preserve, full of monkeys, wild boar, deer, and other animals. We saw all these, and also a python and a deadly green mamba snake on the way to the waterfall, didn't need to see those! The monkeys, deer and wild boar wander into the camp regularly. The coral reefs around the island are extensive for diving and snorkeling. You can snorkel right off the beach and have a very nice time. There are 20 tents, a restaurant and bar, a spa and a watersports center.

BEACH - The beach is narrow, very coarse and full of coral - you will have to wear sandals on the beach to avoid hurting your feet. This is not a white-sand type of beach like you'll find in other locations. The coral reefs start right off the shore and it shows on the beaches. You probably won't spend all that much time on the beach as it is extremely hot during the day, it's really not that nice to spend time on, and there are plenty of other things to do. There is no surf here, at least during our stay, completely tranquil.

PRICE - The prices are typical Aman exorbitance, running you about $1500 per couple per night in an Ocean Tent (after adding the 10% service charge and 11% tax on everything, plus the $135++per person per night (about $330 per couple per night) mandatory food charge). This $1500 per night does not include any activities (none of which are included and are not cheap), nor any alcohol (which is very, very expensive at about $150 for a bottle of regular daily wine after tax and service charge). Add the $1000 per person round-trip for the floatplane and you're looking at a very, very expensive stay in a very inexpensive country, way out of line with the going rates for other luxury resorts in Indonesia. We rented a lovely 4-room villa on Flores for $85 a night (not 5-star but very nice). A gorgeous 5-star all-inclusive villa in Bali can be found easily for $250 to $500 a night, depending on where. There is just no justification for Aman's prices, they are nice resorts, but not that nice. Way out of line with other very nice resorts that you find all over the place nowadays. Amanwana is no different.

TENTS - There are two types of tents - ocean tent and jungle tent. The only difference is the side of the pathway they are on. On the ocean side of the pathway, you have a beach with a couple lounge chairs, but it's usually too hot to lay in them for long. There is a nice ocean view from the tent though, and a couple chairs on the balcony to enjoy it from if the monkeys will stay away for long enough. The jungle tents back to the jungle and you can have deer come up to your window and graze right outside (though usually at night). I think it's worth the $150/night extra for the ocean tent for sure.

Our tent was renovated, except for the shower, and in good condition. Big windows all around limit privacy, but are great for light and view. Bed was comfortable but bed and pillows were a bit hard. Spacious rooms with double sinks in the bathroom, shower but no bathtub, two very spacious wardrobes, a large desk for working (but only a place for 1 person to sit), and mosquito nets on the bed at night. They are air-conditioned but still get very hot at times during the day. No televisions or sound systems in the rooms. Very nice tents, not out of this world, but spacious and comfortable.

FOOD - There is a $135 per person, per night mandatory food charge, which after adding the mandatory 10% service charge and 11% tax, works out to about $330 per couple per day. This does not include the exorbitantly priced wine or alcohol (plan on $150 per bottle for daily wine after tax and service charge). The food is all served ala carte. Lunch and dinner are 3-course and you have 2 choices. Breakfast is from the menu with quite a few Western choices, but only 3 indonesian options. The food is very simple for the price you are paying (noodles, basic fish, penne pasta with tomato sauce, hamburger and fries, basic soups). It was nice, pleasant and we enjoyed it but far from what you'd expect from a 5-star resort at these prices. A stark contrast to the complex and luxurious dishes we had at other resorts in Indonesia. They do give you a lot of food, so you won't be hungry. The BBQ on the beach is a very nice evening, all lit up with candles and a massive BBQ dinner. Add another $100.00 for that.

SNORKELING & DIVING - The coral reefs all around the resort are full of sea life. You can snorkel the very shallow reefs and find blue spotted stingrays, lobsters, cuttlefish, and tons of tropical fish. Further out you can see sea turtles, manta rays, and reef sharks. Unfortunately Aman is promoting fish feeding which is disrupting the natural environment and making fish in the area where they are fed become aggressive. If you swim left from the dock you will find a lot of very nice corals and plenty of fish. Also to the right toward the other pier is a very nice snorkeling area with a wide variety of fish to be seen. They also run boat trips at an additional charge to other snorkeling areas. It is really hot so make sure to wear a shirt when snorkeling for sun protection!

We signed up for a diving trip but then the night before diving, we were informed the dive was full and offered a consolation 1-tank afternoon dive instead. We saw the dive boat come back in with one diver on board that morning. I guess there is a 1-diver capacity. We said no thanks and didn't get to dive. Apparently it's really nice though.

STAFF - The staff was extremely pleasant, friendly and eager to please. They really added to the experience. Be prepared to wait very long times after ordering, so plan accordingly. Things take a long time. But they are so nice and you're so relaxed you don't care. The manager was very nice and involved with the guests. Things aren't so tight that you'd expect from a resort at this price level, but they were really nice people. Housekeeping did an excellent job throughout the stay.

EXCURSIONS - To make the most of your Amanwana experience, make sure to plan on doing several excursions. There are quite a few add-on experiences available and they will surely make your stay more enjoyable. The hike to the waterfall was enjoyable but the jeep is open so the sun will pound you if you don't have a big hat and strong sunscreen so be prepared. The drive to the waterfall was bumpy and not nice - through a bunch of slash-and-burn areas - but nice to walk through the village and the forest and swim in the waterfall. We saw a couple poisonous snakes, monkeys, wild boar and buffalo.

Overall, we had a lovely stay at Amanwana. There was nothing that remotely warrants the prices they charge, but if you just don't care about that, you don't need a white sand beach, and simple food is no problem for you as long as it tastes good, and you enjoy diving and snorkeling, then I'm sure you will enjoy Amanwana. It is a relaxing and enjoyable getaway.

Room Tip: Ocean Rooms are worth the price difference. There really is no other differences except location to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The island itself is incredible, with aqua blue water that is teeming with fish. A snorkelers paradise. Although we did find the cost to be exceptionally high it is understandable that this is a result of the remote location. Overall a breathtaking location that lends itself to lazy days on the sun loungers but I'll let the photos speak for our experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joedolpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We traveled to moyo with our 2 little girls after 10 days in Bali and Moyo was a treat! The service is fantastic, the personel polite and gentle. They simply can’t say no to all your requests. The snorkeling is great, we saw the biggest fish ever (and we are used to seeing fish: Maldives, Seychelles, Mauritus, you name it!) and sea turtles, and sting rays, etc…
The room is as comfy as any aman hotel room, and I would recommend the rooms on the beach… the front row… nicer!
We did most of the trips, snorkeling, the water fall (we were alone), the cinema under the stars… all are great memories…
The best part was that we had no problem leaving our girls wonder along with the other children they met there. Where could they go? It is perfectly safe.
So it gave us plenty of time to relax and enjoy the spa which was excellent… ask for the treatment room on the beach for the best spa experience.

I should also add that the seaplane itself was a scenic tour. The pilot takes you above the Mount Rinjani volcan (Lombok) and the view is spectacular! You see it rise above the clouds… waw!
So I can only give my best recommendation for this hotel, our 8th Aman so far, there is no way you can regret it!

I am not surprised that Oliver Stone just shot his new movie with Blake Lively on this paradise Island… with only 20 rooms on the island… you are only surrounded with beautiful scenery and tranquility…

PS: One small small critic... no pool. Only a tiny fresh pool near the deck...

Room Tip: The ones on the front row for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank toyBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our five- star "tent" was 20 steps from the beach, behind us was a jungle, monkeys came to visit and stare at the new animals that had just moved into tent # 20 and then they ignored us the rest of the time. The deer came in at dusk, the butterflies were everywhere and we saw a sea snake huddled in the rocks as it was shedding its skin, courtesy of one of the staff. 

I won't repeat what others have said.  The positive reviews are correct, the negatives are difficult to justify. The resort concept is unique, the local staff are attentive and kind, the food was great and the breeze (at least in May) kept us comfortable. Think of greens, deep blue, aqua blue and baby blues embracing light beige canvass tents as ceilings over a mostly windowed structure.  The staff come in at least 3 times a day to first tidy up, then bring down the shades and then set up the evening with a mosquito net. 

There are some changes going on -  a new manager arrived about 5 months ago (from the Marrakesh Aman), the new diving instructor team arrived 2 months ago and there are some upgrades being implemented.  Everyone knows a few things are showing their age, true, but they did not affect our stay and I can only imagine the experience will get even better.  

Its an easy jump from Bali...Cirrus SR 20, Cessna or floatplane - all booked through the Amanwana - different prices and maybe different days. The flight back to Bali took us over the beautiful Rinjani volcano in Lombok.  Those photos alone were worth the cost of that flight. 

I'm trying hard to think of a negative...ok, its not inexpensive and our room safety box stopped working and it took them over one hour to exchange. Also, the cost of wine by the glass was steep. 

A special thank you to Gaz, our diving instructor - charming, competent and patient.  The coral and the quantity and diversity of fish were extraordinary.  The snorkeling just off the beach was loads of fun.  

As a final note....it's true....the honeycomb ice cream is a must! 

Room Tip: With a beach tent you have access to the beach directly in front of your tent, as we did. With the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayaguezanaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

No wonder people call this a hidden treasure! it was literally 'difficult' to reach the island unless you rent a chartered flight from Bali. I reached the island via Lombok and took Trans Nusa flight (which was not reliable - it could cancel the flight at the last minute). We stayed only for two nights and had to head back to Lombok but we had a wonderful time staying in this hotel. Not only you have the privacy, but you feel very close to nature (as you hardly see anyone else and have the beach to yourselves). What is outstanding about this hotel is the first class services (the staff really made you feel at home). The trip to the Mata Jitu Waterfall is highly recommended; without it, you will not have the full Amanwana experience. I highly recommend this place for those who seek tranquility. The food was delicious too. I was not too crazy about the snorkeling (didn't find the underwater coral and fish attractive enough), but the spa was excellent!

Room Tip: Beach tent is definitely better than jungle tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Totofore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

From start to finish this holiday was perfect. You take a sea plane from Denpasar, Bali directly to Moyo Island which gives you great views as your fly over Mt Rinjani and Lombok. The general manager greeted us personally on the dock and settled us into our tent, making sure we had everything we needed to be comfortable. The tents are the epitome of romance and luxury. The staff are amongst the friendliest and most helpful we've ever encountered. Their service is first class, always around to assist with anything while at the same time never encroaching upon your privacy. All the facilities are excellent, the food sumptuous, the snorkelling fantastic, especially around Turtle Avenue (I think that's what they called the area). There are plenty of activities on offer around the beautiful island. Don't miss out on the trip to the waterfall, which is stunning and so refreshing for a midday swim. On the way you will visit the local village and take a jeep ride through the jungle, before trekking down to the waterfall. We really appreciated the gifts that were waiting for us every night when we returned from dinner. Those little touches make the whole experience exceptional. We will definitely return to this magical resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GNTINDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyo Island
16.4 mi away
Samawa Transit Hotel
Samawa Transit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sumbawa Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
98.9 mi away
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
#7 of 11 in Gili Meno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
10.9 mi away
Samawa Seaside Cottages
Samawa Seaside Cottages
#1 of 22 in Sumbawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#2 of 4 in Sumbawa Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kencana Beach Cottages
Kencana Beach Cottages
#3 of 4 in Sumbawa Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pondok Daun Homestay
Pondok Daun Homestay
#1 of 4 in Sumbawa Besar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanwana

Property: Amanwana
Address: Moyo Island 84301, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Moyo Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moyo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanwana 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanwana (peaceful forest) is the only resort located on the island of Moyo, a nature reserve east of Bali. Set on a beach in a secluded cove overlooking the Flores Sea, Amanwana is a wilderness hideaway with accommodation in luxury tents. The protected marine park offers some of the best scuba diving and snorkelling in Indonesia. Amanikan is the camp's 32-metre coastal cruiser which hosts adventures to Rinca and Komodo islands where the legendary Komodo dragons can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Amanwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanwana Hotel Moyo Island
Amanwana Hotel Sumbawa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing