We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prepare wilderness.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rinca Island

Rinca Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$412.05*
and up
2-Day Komodo National Park and Rinca Island Wildlife Adventure from Bali
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Rinca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rinca Island, Komodo Island and Padar Island are the main islands of Komodo National Park. Famous for some of the world's best dive sites and their popular inhabitant - the Komodo dragon - the area attracts thousands of tourists each year. Treks on Rinca Island start from the ticket office at Loh Buaya. You also have the option to choose between three trails. The shortest trek takes 30 minutes. It is an easy, shaded walk that passes an artificial waterhole before ascending to a small hill with a view over the bay. The one-hour medium trek winds between dragon nests and out into the sunshine across an exposed savannah that is studded with lontar palms. For the best opportunity to see dragons and their prey, choose the two-hour trek past a permanent waterhole and across steep, exposed slopes that offer breathtaking views
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Prepare wilderness.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

It is really a great experience to have been able to visit this island of komodo. Such an amazing creature and very mystical. Pay attention and maybe you'd get lucky to be able to see a few of them just chilling and relaxing under the shade.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    154
    58
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“truly disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our trip was organized by Mr. Ignas Suradin, Fantasticotour (komodotours.net). He was the only one capable or organizing one day trip. Technically everything was perfect. Cars and boats were on time, boats were fast, tickets were purchased, no hidden costs, snorkeling equipment flawless. Mr. Ignas did a good job. Purpose of our trip was to see komodo dragons in wild and this is where this trip has gone totally wrong. We have arrived on Rinca island at 9:30 and started our tracking at 9:45. Tracking should last between 2-3 hours. We have seen several komodo dragons near rangers cottages where they are obviously attracted to smells and probably also food. After that we have started walking thorough dry area for about five kilometers. Our ranger/guide stopped two times for few minutes, once at start to explain few facts about animals and the second time at holes - komodo dragons nests. On the way we have seen one water buffalo and few macaques (which are common as rats) and that is all. After 1 hour and 15 minutes (2-3 hours were promised) we were back at where we started. We were told that we were unlucky and that seeing komodo dragon in wild is not guaranteed. This is the first time that and this was by far the worst one. One can see more animals going behind my parents house than we have seen on this trip. Mr. Ignas should focus on what he is selling - providing experience to see famous dragons in the wild and not in pigsty where they are fed.

I strongly advice you to stay out of Rinca island and their "instant" trekking experience.

After the trekking we stopped on a small island. Swimming was nice. Snorkeling not worth mentioning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank tLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
458 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Better than Komodo Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We recently visited both Rinca and Komodo island to see Komodo dragons in the wild. If you are interested in wildlife, this is a really great experience. Although the dragons on RInca are slightly smaller than those on Komodo, there is more wildlife on RInca to see. There are monkeys on RInca, as well as buffalo, pigs, deer, and a wide variety of birds. Komodo doesn't have monkeys or buffalo. The islands aren't that far apart and it's easy enough to plan a trip to see both. We visited RInca mid-day and did the mid-length hike. You have several options when youo arrive - a very long hike (only recommended for early morning due to the sun exposure and heat). There are a couple short hike options as well. Apparently not that many people select the mid-length hike as the path was overgrown in many places. However, we saw wild dragons on this path as well as other wildlife, so we enjoyed it. It's hot but RInca is much drier than other parts of Indonesia so it is not that bad. There are no particularly steep or technical parts of the mid-length hike. Overall it was a great experience to visit RInca and we enjoyed it more than Komodo - they are both part of Komodo National Park. Rinca is less touristy (no gift shop that you have to walk through at the end, fewer visitors).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
249 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Planning/Travel Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

From our starting point (middle of U.S.), this is a place where you almost "can't get there from here"! Just kidding, it only felt that way. We only took two small side trips, but our round trip still ended up being 56 hours in the air, with 36 hours in layovers! But the look on my husband's face was so worth it! He was deliriously happy! He has wanted to visit these islands since he was five years old, so this was definitely a bucket list trip. It was around noon when we arrived, so it was hot. But the dragons were still moving around a little. Don't be lulled into a false sense of security by the "lazy" dragon reviews. These animals can MOVE when they want. DO NOT turn your back on them. One of their park rangers was recently tagged by one and had been in the hospital for over a month. He might end up losing his leg. Our park ranger was welcoming, knowledgeable, and fun. Say "Hi!" to Uncle Lewis for us...he is a real gem! We are trying to figure out a way to move the island closer to us!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TBeaupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Better then Komodo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Just great. Almost guaranteed to see a dragon anytime of year. There staff were great. The walk was awesome! And so many dragons. We saw 7 in total and two along the path (not in the camp) in comparison to Komodo even though the dragons were smaller (although not by much) the guide, scenery, and trip information was way better. Adding some metaphorical size to the smaller dragons of Rinca

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Webeetravllingmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rinca Island also viewed

Komodo National Park, Komodo
Komodo National Park, Komodo
 
Labuan Bajo, Flores
Komodo, East Nusa Tenggara
 

Been to Rinca Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing