We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bucks Head Inn - CLOSED

Bucks Head Inn
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Everyone is welcome at the Bucks Head (including well behaved Dogs and children).Offering locally sourced produce which is cooked to order on the premises in a lovely setting either in our restaurant, informal bar area or outdoor terrace.Breakfast is served from 9am, Lunch at 12.00 noon and Dinner from 6pm. If there is something you would like and you don't see it on the menu please ask, as our staff are always happy to oblige.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Went to The Bucks Head last night at the last minute and we are so glad we did ! We had a lovely welcome, the pub is warm and welcoming and the food is excellent . I had the soup and my husband had the Chilli beef , both were delicious. for mains I had the rib-eye and hubby had the burger , both were delicious, freshly cooked food and locally sourced which is great to see. We had no room for dessert but I don't doubt they would be good to!!! the wine and beer were excellent to and all well priced. give this place a go you will not be disappointed !! We will certainly be back !!

Helpful?
1 Thank janebSufffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lucky happenstance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were in Norfolk today and, on our return to Ipswich, we had planned to go another restaurant on the A140. However, the carpark being full, we carried on a couple of miles and pulled in to the Bucks Head. We couldn't have been more surprised. Having been inside a few years ago, we were amazed at the change. It is light and pleasant and the welcome was warm. We ordered some drinks and looked at the menu. The only negative we could find was the menu had a few things that were sold out. We had Beer Battered Fish and Gammon. The gammon was smoked and very thick, the fish batter was crunchy throughout. The chips were triple fried and absolutely wonderful and my wife tells me that the sticky toffee pudding was to die for. The whole experience was excellent and we will certainly go the again. A happy accident.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

An overwhelming menu selection would've had anything on there.
Went for sirloin steak medium rare. Chips and salad went down a treat. Onion rings are in a league of their own. Washed down well with a pint of Aspall. Brilliant atmosphere, fantastic service couldn't ask for anything more. Absolutely chipper! Cheers Lew Moyes.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmoy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I can't believe the difference in this once run down awful pub, the new owners have done a superb job!!!

I came with a couple of friends on a cold winters evening and couldnt believe the how wonderful and fresh the place looks, we were greeted by welcoming staff and wonderfully kept beer (so says the husband) we were quickly shown to our table in the resturant, We ordered a fish sharing platter to start wich was just enough between two and such fresh fish!! we then had 2 fish and chips and a sausage and mash , the fish turned up on a beautiful long plate with just the right portion! The sausage and mash was just what was needed on a miserable evening with beautiful home made gravy, the prices were reasonable for the standard of food and better quality than anywhere else around.

I wish the owners every succes as this is now a stunning little pub, I can't wait to go back and sample more amazing dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked for a family celebration on a Sunday lunchtime for 6 people. We arrived on time and after 10 mins someone came to take our order. Drinks had been ordered at the bar. After about another 10 mins someone came to tell us our food would be delayed because of a big party next door. When asked how long we were told about half hour. We were offered breads but we didnt take this up because of spoiling our meal.

The mens first beers tasted very strange and were returned. The second different beers were also returned because they were cloudy and had a lot of sediment in them. The men gave up on bitter and had lagers.

When the meal came they were mostly good meals. Three of us had roast dinners, meat excellent, with thick cuts. Would have liked a green veg, great yorkshires. Steak was good (quite expensive) as was the fish although fish was served on rather a strange plate, long, thin and with little room for the food. I had particularly asked for garden peas instead of mushy peas, didnt happen! Tartar sauce was not very nice and the lemon slice was laid in the mushy peas and tartare sauce so messy so couldnt use. This might sound picky but this was my dinner!

Desserts - not too much choice with 3 out of 6 being chocolate based. The spotted dick could haved been anything only luke warm and pretty tasteless.

We were not charged for the beers that were returned. The room was rather cold where we were sitting, maybe needed the fire lit. The farther room appeared much warmer. The decor of the refurbished pub was nice but quite minimalist and needed some warmth IMO.

All in all a nice lunch but wouldnt rush back. Some of the 'wrinkles' need ironing out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucks Head Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing