We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still amazing”
Review of Thornham Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thornham Hall
Ranked #2 of 4 Eye B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“still amazing”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lesley always the perfect host we absolutely love Thornham, we are always so excited about staying here, a good night's sleep is always guaranteed a lovely breakfast too, we cannot recommend Thornham hall enough it's absolutely perfect, one night is never enough for us

Room Tip: We have a perfect night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here. It is such a wonderful experience. The location, the rooms, the welcome and the food add up to make this a very special stay, I recommend it unreservedly. Lesley and her daughter are just the most fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FordyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It's a bit off the beaten track, but worth the trip. Lovely room, plenty of hot water and a fantastic view. Lesley is charming. You do have to drive to local pubs restaurants so be mindful of that. I will post some pictures, the views and grounds are great. Breakfast was very Intermet, but the food was good and very plentiful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Youlldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

It's a bit off the beaten track, but worth the trip. Lovely room, plenty of hot water and a fantastic view. Lesley is charming. You do have to drive to local pubs restaurants so be mindful of that but the hall is well worth the stay. Please see some of the pictures I took. I'm sure that you would enjoy the stay in this slightly eccentric venue.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Youlldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Once again a thoroughly delightful stay, absolutely hooked, always a warm welcome,
Excellent room once again first class service, fantastic breakfast, one night just not enough
Next time it will be for the week, cannot wait!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We found this B+B a wonderful place to stay for the weekend. Lesley the host was really kind and attentive to everything we could need. Breakfast was delicious; a wonderful choice and very tasty. The grounds are beautiful; allow enough time to walk around and enjoy the wildlife and scenery. No TV in the rooms but this made it very peaceful. Things are a little old fashioned but all very fitting with the beautiful house. Would recommend and hope to come back again one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellesbelles23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Brilliant weekend in beautiful surroundings. Lesley was a charming and helpful host, making us feel very welcome. Room was lovely with stunning views over the lawns and parkland. Excellent breakfast beautifully presented. Had such a lovely time we ended up staying an extra night! Cannot recommend ThornhamHall enough; we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eye
3.1 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
441 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
318 reviews
10.8 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes
#1 of 1 in Thornham Magna
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornham Hall

Property: Thornham Hall
Address: Thornham MagnaEye, Eye IP23 8HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Eye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Eye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thornham Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Thornham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing