We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle View House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is not the most modern place in the world, but what it lacks in facilities it certainly makes up for in other ways. Garreth was really welcoming and was friendly and helpful from the very start. It's a really nice location with fantastic views, but be warned you will need a car! The breakfast was really good, and again, our host couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    27
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely bed and breakfast.
The location close to the Tarbert car ferry was very convenient.
Patricia and Garrett were very welcoming and hospitable.
We slept very well and loved the view from our window.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack10197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Patricia and Garrett were wonderful hosts for our family stay with them while we were in Ireland. The dinner was excellent, enjoyed by all. Peaceful place for a walk and nearby Castle provides a taste of the old days. Toby and Kelly (two St. Bernard's) were friendly and added special memories. We would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_c_clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Castle View was exactly what we expected...Perfect! Its picturesque charm and scenery are unparalleled. Garrett and Patricia were wonderful hosts and they saw to our every need during our three night stay. While we were visiting family and sightseeing in western Kerry, Castle View was our home away from home. Patricia prepared excellent dinners during the two evenings we dined in and a delicious Irish breakfast every morning. I cannot compliment Garrett enough; he was graciously helpful, very accomodating, and extremely informative. We will always stay at Castle View whenever we visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D-FamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We really enjoyed staying at Castle View House.
Patricia and Garrett are such welcoming hosts.
They could not do enough for us.
The Breakfast was excellent (beautifully cooked and presented)
as was the delicious home cooked Evening Dinner that we had the
previous evening which was one of the best we had on our
vacation.
We felt very rested after a good nights sleep in a most peaceful location.
We will recommend Castle View House to all our friends and look
forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkJohn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This bed and breakfast establishment ranks as one of the worse that I have ever had the misfortune of staying at.

Generally the place could do with a refurbishment. Curtains, carpets and furniture were worn out. The bed linen was spotless but the towels were dingy.

Our bedroom was cramped and small. It lacked tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

The bathroom was too small to swing a cat

No television in the bedroom.

Breakfast was very pooly presented. A hard fried egg which seemed as if it had cooked an hour earlier. Forward planning or what?

Location was dissappointing, Carrig Island is just a mud flat. No views of Shannon River.

The owners kept two lovely St. Bernard dogs in a muddy enclosed area at back of the house. They were rather forlorn looking, with muddy coats and looked rather dejected. Other guests and I hoped they were not locked up there 24/7 !

Compared with the quality of other bed and breakfast establishments in the area this establishment needs to be seriously improved, a visit from the Irish Tourist Board would'nt go amiss. At the moment this is on a par with a hostel only.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jennifer259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Warm and freindly host greeted us and showed us to our ample sized room with an amazing view. Then after a brief tour took the time to answer all of our questions about the island and things to do in the area. In addition to the view, our room was bright, cheery and spotless. The decor was simple and home like and the bed was comfortable, but not frilly.
The meals we had can only be described as good old fashioned home cooking, including apple pie baked by our host, from apples he picked from trees on the island!
I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast, of the several we stayed at during our holiday this was clearly the best.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballylongford
9.9 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
375 reviews
8.6 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
376 reviews
8.8 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Tides B&B
The Tides B&B
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
415 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
12.2 mi away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Castle View House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Carrig Island, Ballylongford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballylongford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballylongford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at Castle View House B&B where you will receive a warm and friendly Irish welcome, with plenty of good food in peaceful location. Comfortable house in idyllic setting on scenic Island (enter by bridge) facing historic Carrigafoyle Castle. All our bedrooms have private bathroom facilities and showers. Comfortable beds in all rooms. Beautiful views from bedrooms. Ground floor bedrooms available if requested. Choice of breakfasts - Early breakfast for golfers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle View House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing