We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely place to relax and unwind”
other travelers have booked this property
Cherry cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior Cherry cottage exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage veranda
Kitchen &  Living room
Kitchen &  Living room
Kitchen &  Living room
Bedroom
Cherry cottage bedroom
Bathroom
Cherry cottage bathroom
sunset views
cherry cottage sunset view
surrounded by beautiful countryside
Gardens
Gardens
Cherry cottage exterior
Cherry cottage exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cherence-Le-Roussel, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donna O
Mansfield
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Cherry cottage is so special. It's location, it's aspect, it's ambience, it's layout, it's owners including Buster are all perfect. We had such a wonderful holiday. I was a very reluctant visitor to go to France but all of the above have changed my mind. Couldn't recommend it enough to us it was perfect. It is perfectly situated to access all the major visitor attractions in the Normandy area and some you may not be aware of that Lance and Kim can advise on. Their enthuasium for the area is second to none. Thank you for sharing your lovely little haven.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaracr...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven in the heart of the Normandy countryside.”
Reviewed March 8, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage has been beautifully restored and is really cozy, with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing stay (including an excellent bottle of bottle of red wine on arrival.)
The setting is just delightful and Lance (the owner) is friendly and knowledgeable about the area (and lots more!) His two dogs were also friendly and welcoming to our young and bouncy West Highland Terrier. We had glorious warm weather for October so we could take advantage of the little veranda at the back of the cottage, with glass of local cider in hand, to watch the sun go down behind our own little stone circle.
Every morning, we walked down to the pond with the dog, usually disturbing the local heron. It's well worth saving some bread for the carp in the pond as they go absolutely mad for it - great to watch.
The location is ideal for exploring the local villages, although we tended to underestimate the size of France! Mont Saint Michel is a good day out and there is a very well stocked little shop just outside the car park selling cider, preserves and souvenirs.
We left the cottage with a few jars of jam made from some of Kim and Lance's cottage garden produce. A tasty memory of a perfect week's holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
Thank you for your review. We're so glad you had such a wonderful holiday and it was lovely to meet you both. Now you know just how large France is maybe some day you will return to the area and explore more of this beautiful place
Kind regards
Kim and Lance
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2016Mega2...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restful week, idyllic setting”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from a week at Cherry Cottage, it was very peaceful and quiet, the owners and the two dogs Buster and Tiggy were very welcoming and made sure we had a great week, we would like to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeldaze
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely rural retreat”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cherry Cottage in the last week of September and enjoyed the beautiful location - it felt miles away from anywhere, yet was only a short drive to Sourdeval and Mortain, both pretty towns. We enjoyed some lovely cycling around the area, including the Voie Vert (relatively flat) and the lanes (rather hilly!) The cottage is also very close to GR and if you like walking, then a trip to the Tourist information office at Sourdeval is a good inspiration for routes. The cottage itself had been thoughtfully converted with everything you might need for a holiday kitchen, a lovely log burner and a light and pretty bedroom with a very attractive bathroom - and plenty of hot water! We were very lucky with the weather and were able to sit out on the veranda watching some spectacular sunsets. Lance and Kim were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - their aim is to ensure that you enjoy your holiday and they certainly succeeded. I would certainly recommend the cottage to anyone who enjoys a quiet break in the countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, beautiful countryside location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yowsertow...
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Derbyshire with sunshine”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

As we approached Le Champ Sous le Bois Cherry Cottage we knew we had booked the perfect place in the most idyllic setting. This was just like being in Derbyshire with sun.

Cherry Cottage is exactly as the pictures portray and we wholeheartedly support and echo what all the other reviewers have said as Lance and Kim are indeed two very special people with two very special dogs. They are so passionate about the peaceful Hamlet that they have restored to such a high standard, this place has been built with pure guts,sweat and determination and they have every right to be proud, it's fabulous.

Lazy mornings breakfasting on local breads, coffee and Kim's home made preserves in the garden and cosy evenings on the comfy sofa on the star twinkling veranda over looking the lake watching the sun set with a glass of wine are memories that will stay with us forever.

Sourdeval is less than 10mins away in the car where there are at least 3 small supermarkets (the one on the square is open till 7pm ) I think we counted 5 boulangeres . The Artisan Boulangere in the square was excellent and even opens on Sunday morning for a couple of hours . There are also a few places to eat in Sourdeval.

For information - there is a pizza restaurant and a Boulangere in Cherance de la Roussel which is less than 5 min drive away

We took our bikes with us and made great use of the redundant railway tracks that have been used since 1992 by walkers and cyclists. We cycled on there to Vire one day and to Lake Dathee another this is a must (take a picnic)

Nothing was too much trouble. Lance was full of recommendations on where to go and where to eat. I could go on...

We have made two (4) new lovely friends and look forward to returning next year to see more of beautiful Normandy AND for a cook off....Lance's Indian v Wendy's Thai. Watch this space

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney99
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cherry Cottage is a fantastic tranquil location for a couple or young family seeking to get away from it all. We stayed here with our 15 month old daughter & she loved the dogs, the sheep, the fish. There a number of nice places to head for day trips within a reasonable drive of the cottage & Lance & Kim are really friendly & engaged hosts.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was ideally placed, an extremely friendly welcome and the peace and quite
Liked least: The cool wind on the first few days.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing