We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway.”
other travelers have booked this property
Tranquility. Found.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquility. Found.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Tranquility. Found.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cherence-Le-Roussel, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
car0lineg...
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Wonderful country location and a very cosy, clean and homely gite - a perfect base to explore from and to relax in. A gorgeous garden surrounds the property giving a lovely outlook which adds to the charm. Debbie and Robin were the perfect hosts and it was nice to have them nearby to answer any questions. We look forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you Caroline and Paul. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyMer...
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
“''Beautiful homely gite in tranquil setting''”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Perfect base to explore the region in any season with many attractions on your door step including St Malo and Mt St Michel. It took us under 2 hours from Cherbourg to reach with no tolls to pay. We were made very welcome on arrival with our two dogs. The gite is homely, well equipped and very privately set in stunning grounds. The perfect place to unwind and and enjoy the tranquility. Would recommend to anyone!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Good luck!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina L
1 review
“Fantastic, cute home from home gite with everything you need in a rural location.”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Lovely clean well-equipped gite, warm, cozy and home from home. Owners were really friendly and really helpful and accommodating. Lovely rural location, so pretty, quiet and romantic. Great location for stargazing too. A must if you want some time out and peace.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2017
Thank you for you comments and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A wonderful property in the heart of rural Normandy with great hosts”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful week staying at the beautiful La Herpiniere and seeing lots of the Normandy countryside. The gite, a former farmhouse with stone walls and beamed ceilings, is very comfortable, peaceful and well equipped with everything you need from kitchen appliances to outdoor games equipment.

Debbie and Robin were wonderful hosts, answering all our questions ahead of our stay, calling to see if we were OK when we got lost on the way and giving us a guided tour of the extensive grounds and their fruit and veg garden - our daughter loved feeding the fish in the pond and keeping an eye out for the bunnies roaming the grassy acres around the cottage in the mornings.

There is plenty to see and do in the area - we regularly visited the heated swimming pool in nearby Mortain before enjoying great value lunches at Hotel de la Poste and L'Abbaye Hotel.

The excellent weather meant we spent a few afternoons on the sandy beach at Jullouville and visited Mont-Saint-Michel, as well as joining the locals at the horse races at nearby Vire.

All in all our week at La Herpiniere was very relaxing and we would love to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail S
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely cottage - cosy with the woodburner - beautiful gardens - great cycle track nearby. Would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you. It was lovely to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil B
1 review
“brill!”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

brilliant week, two would have been better. beautiful gite and grounds. debbie and robin were very helpful. lots to do and see in the area. (stanley misses luna). highly reccomended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Thank you. It was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldagebik...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture Postcard Perfect!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to make a short stop in Normandy on our way home from the South of France, and couldn't have picked a better place. Not many holiday homes are as nice in reality as they appear either on the internet, or brochure, but La Herpiniere is the exception. The gite and gardens are as pretty as a picture and the website is a true reflection of what you can expect.
The gite itself is spotlessly clean and uncluttered with plenty of architectural character, but with all modern amenities and equipment. We were fortunate to have lovely weather, so no need for the log burner, but it was still tempting! The owners Debbie and Robin were lovely and welcoming, as were their dogs Lunar and Zippy. It's a shame they come from the wrong side of the Pennines, but we won't hold that against them! The garden is huge, and lovingly maintained, and Debbie generously gave us some of her delicious produce. Children will love the chickens, the fish pond and the early morning/evening rabbit runs!
The location is very, very quiet and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We hope to return next year for a little longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulnes; the garden and the location
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Thank you. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing