We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ko Muk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This resort has a fantastic location, incredibly well appointed rooms and extremely friendly and efficient staff - BUT
The food is poor- overpriced and poor quality of ingredients. The coffee is for a motel bedside and is frankly undrinkable by anyone with a discerning palate.
Alternatively meals can be taken at a variety of local restaurants in the local village, 5 mins walk away, for a fifth of the price and superior quality.
Disgracefully, the management of Sivalai have posted a misleading, unsubstantiated and frankly libelous warning about food poisoning at village restaurants.- SMAME ON YOU SIVALAI!
Whilst iternet access is available sitting in reception it is not available in rooms. Thus a stay of longer than 24 hours becomes problematic with no communication and only 5 channels of Thai language terrestrial TV.
It is also worth noting that the hotel do not mention the incredibly strong tidal currents on the north side beach - strong swimmers struggle to make headway - a child would soon be long gone out to sea!!!
Oh and don't forget the 20% service add- on for everything!
There is no beach side bar - a shame in such a great location. And the cocktails from the restaurant are substandard. However there is a lovely cocktail bar in the village (Farm Ville) in a garden with great mood lighting and a true pro mixing the drinks.
Perhaps it is the quality and taste of the clientele who are happy to put up with such disappointments which allows Sivalai to prosper?- We didn't stay long enough to find out!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neillbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S0mchai, Manager at Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Every comments we will be noted to improve our services.
Let you know that service charge at Sivalai is 10%, not 20% as you wrote in the review. Most of hotels in Thailand add service charge 10% and VAT 7%.
The price of food in the village can't compare to Sivalai due to service and location.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, please email: contact@komooksivalai.com
Look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards,
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 547 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location of the resort is absolutely amazing and the villas are very nice with lovely décor. We stayed for 3 nights in a beach front villa with terrific sea view and the outside terrace with private sun beds is huge and very inviting.
However, the beds were extremely hard and the air con so loud and you couldn’t prevent the cold wind from blowing at you during the night, and it was too hot not to have the air con on. That was a huge disadvantage and resulted in back pains.

The beach is great with lovely white sand and the water perfect for swimming. But that’s only the situation until noon. Then the tide gets low and there is so much seaweed that you can’t really go swimming unless when you want to walk through all the seaweed out to the deeper and not so inviting water. We were really disappointed about that and wonder why this location has been chosen? Yes it is a stunning location on the tip of the island, but part of the experience should be the ability to go swimming especially during the hot afternoons.

The resort is too big for our likely – now 48 villas and they are expanding. This means that you can stay in a villa which is quite far away from the pool and restaurant. It is definitely a resort which is dominated by Scandinavian families. There are a lot of children.

The restaurant is lacking atmosphere and a more cozy setting. It seems more like a cafeteria with very hard and uncomfortable chairs. It doesn’t appeal to you to stay a bit longer for a drink or coffee, just eat and get out.
Breakfast buffet – a lot to choose from, freshly baked bread, fruit, a variety of hot dishes and much more.
Lunch and dinner – the food was pretty good and the seafood BBQ that was offered one evening very tasty. The ice cream is also really good. We opted for room service one evening, because of the not inviting restaurant. We ordered a variety of Thai appetizers and one noddle dish, very delicious and it was delivered fast, warm and later they came and picked up the dishes – very good and efficient service.

The resort could definitely use a lounge, chill out area or a more inviting bar with comfortable sitting options where you could enjoy a cocktail, ice cream, coffee etc.

Room Tip: Choose a villa with sea view in the front row.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sivalai, General Manager at Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Every comments we will be noted to improve our services.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, please email: contact@komooksivalai.com
Look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards,
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, clean, nice staff, but poor swimming at low tide, beach flies that cause unpleasant itchy pimples on our overall hotel or island did a great impression, appealed to us more Koh Ngai,Sivalai expensive services recommend an inexpensive restaurant near the resort Boon Chu Cuisia

Room Tip: We had a room in the back at the pier, away for breakfast and swimming at the top
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobraborka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sivalai, General Manager at Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Every comments we will be noted to improve our services.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, please email: contact@komooksivalai.com
Look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards,
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We'd like to thank Sivalai Resort, and our travel agent Andaman Adventures an amazing holiday on Koh Mook and Koh Kradan ! Our travel agent came through for us by getting us what must be the best-located villa at the entire resort - and it wasn't even the most expensive roomtype. Sivalai came through for us with their attentive personnel and food quality. The location of the resort is its key attraction - the environment is truly tropical paradise. We stayed 4 nights, but in retrospect, we could have easily stayed a week, it is so quiet, beautiful and refreshing to stay there. recommended!

Room Tip: Book a short stay only, it's quite isolated for a long stay, recommend combine with other resort...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sivalai, General Manager at Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Every comments we will be noted to improve our services.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, please email: contact@komooksivalai.com
Look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards,
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Lets start with the pros:

- clean and nice Bungalows
- the beach is clearly an asset: white and fine sands

here are the cons:
- prices are somewhat almost ridiculous: 1,200 thb for 20 min boat ride (2 pax) to koh kradan for a simple longtail boat transfer
- plus what did really bother us: they would charge you additional 10% service charge and 7% VAT in the restaurant (so +17% on already high prices)
- swimming in the sea is not that easy, I counted 10 boats on our beach which all belonged to the Sivalai resort (why do they need more than 2-3 boats at all?), due to these loads of boats, they have to constantly park and rearrange the boats becaus of the tides, which really is bothering you when you are trying to swim
- clearly lacks personality/soul (dont know why, thats just how it felt to us and was ironically later on our vacation confirmed by another couple which had also spent some days there)

Overall: Dont get me wrong, the resort is ok, its easy to spend some nice days there (go at least a couple times to the village where the people are really nice). Nevertheless, with all these boats + overpriced transfers and the restaurant prices, we had the impression that they were trying to get as much thb/sqft as possible

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank schorsch156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sivalai, General Manager at Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Every comments we will be noted to improve our services.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, please email: contact@komooksivalai.com
Look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards,
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here six years ago and upon our return, found it even better. Ocean front bungalows were perfectly set up and were serviced twice each day. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Can't improve on gorgeous location and beach. Food has improved much. Still very good massages. Too bad it is so far from New York. Thanks for your excellent care during our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lmvollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sivalai, General Manager at Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Every comments we will be noted to improve our services.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, please email: contact@komooksivalai.com
Look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards,
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Paradise location. Beautiful beaches, gorgeous rooms, great food, great service, just a dream. I actually cried when we had to leave this island. We only stayed 3 nights on our trip (2 couples) and we all wish we could have stayed longer. Massages were beautiful. We had 2 while we were there. Perfect settings and surroundings for rest an relaxation. That is pretty much what this island is about as hotel bar shuts early. This was fine though as it was lovely to retire to our sea view room on the beach. Breakfast was very nice with great selection and plenty of it. We ate here morning, noon and night while we were here and all food was lovely. We took hired bikes also and went for an explore of the island. Everyone was friendly, even when laughing at us when they thought we were lost. Offered to help us. The 2 men on the trip ventured into the nearby village one night to watch an early football match (2am). Ended up in a small bar which looked more like a lean too on someones house. Allowed to serve themselves beer. Maybe it was someones house, but the men were made to feel very welcome. This hotel and island is a must. Only tip is ask for a room on the side of the island that reception is on and where boats come in as you get sunrise here and the sun longer during the day.

Room Tip: Only tip is ask for a room on the side of the island that reception is on and where boats come in as...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stabbkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sivalai, General Manager at Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
Every comments we will be noted to improve our services.
Hope to welcome you again in the near future, please email: contact@komooksivalai.com
Look forward to welcoming you.
Best regards,
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Muk
0.8 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
8.0 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
415 reviews
7.4 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Sevenseas Resort
The Sevenseas Resort
#1 of 2 in Kantang
274 reviews
6.2 mi away
Anantara Si Kao Resort
0.3 mi away
Pawapi Resort
Pawapi Resort
#2 of 8 in Ko Muk
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Address: 211 / 1 Moo 2 Koh mook island Trang Thailand, Ko Muk 92110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Muk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ko Muk
Price Range: $76 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO SIVALAI BEACH RESORTKo Mook or Muk island, one of the Andaman's last paradise.The legendary warm welcome of its local population, the extreme beauty of its long white sand beaches, and its pristine clear water rich in aquatic life, make Mook island (also spelled Ko mook, Koh Muk, or Ko Muk) a “must-see” place to stay in Trang Province.Surrounded by amazing tropical nature, Sivalai will offer you an unforgettable feeling of complete relaxation. Read on to learn more about this magnificent spot. We guarantee you that a stay here will remain long in your memories. A most exotic resort surrounded by beaches. A perfect holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Hotel Ko Muk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing