We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ko Muk
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I booked direct with Sivalai Beach Resort, and the customer service by email was excellent! They organised my transfer from Krabi Airport, and the transfer went nice and smooth. There was something special about arriving at this beautiful destination by speed boat.

The island just took my breath away when I arrived, it is well maintained and relaxing. The beach front bungalow I had booked was everything I expected. The room is amazing and nothing like opening your curtains to an empty beach and the view of the sea in the morning. In fact I felt like I had my own stretch of beach for the 3 days I was there.

The room was very spacious and it was cleaned to an high standard. However the bed was rock solid, now I like a firm bed, but this was hard, to the extend I felt like princess and the pea when I woke with bruises, and this is one of the reasons I unfortunately can't give the resort the full 5 stars.

Although the customer service was good, from a resort like this you'd expect outstanding. I felt sometimes when I went to ask a question that I was interrupting their work!

As you'd expect from a quiet resort like this one, everything stops at around 10pm and no one seems to talk to each other. It truly is the get away from it all resort. There is a sweet little DVD library at reception and a dvd player in the room, which was a nice touch when there was nothing else to do.

All in all, it is an excellent place to stay, I just feel it is lacking that extra bit of sparkle that you'd expect from such a place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    204
    69
    19
    12
See reviews for
136
297
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

As a picky veteran international Thai beach/island traveler of 40+ years with so many island resort options (plus a few owned by our relatives), I did not hesitate bringing my family of five (from N.America and Chiangmai) straight here after stumbling across this peaceful Koh Muk resort last year. Where else can you still find squeaky fine powdery milky white sand, scurrying hermit crabs scampering for your breakfast crumbs, v pleasant bungalows facing amazing Trang limestone karst island view, dive-in Emerald Cave lagoon nearby, and many other wonders plus minimal Russian/Chinese tourist invasive hordes as alluded to in 'Pack our bags' laNo82 review. The owners, Dr. and Mrs Somchai and his staff team (especiallly K. Ning and front desk Thaworn) are the last few of the Thai family owned resort who ensure that guests are tended to with true heartfelt SouthernThai family service and lots of genuine smiles! The true test of this exceptional island resort came w our son's acute high fever/respitorial infection needing sudden emergency speedboat service to shore, van ride arrangement in the middle of the night to see emergency doctor/blood test at Trang hospital (fortunately owned by this same Doctor/resort owner) was so well coordinated within 5 minutes request to frontdesk. For any non-Thai travellers with children or sick family member, our family can verify that this resort is one of the rare few in Thailand that you can experience paradise but still well equipped with their own speedboat, responsive staff who can coordinate astoundingly ready quick access to onshore medical care within reach in case of any healthcare emergency. Thank you again so very much for making our family holiday a safe and wonderful experience. We will definitely return w our family again and again to Sivalai Resort. In Gratitude, Nampet Panichpant-Michelsen (California/Chiangmai) and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thaipepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Amazing location, amazing staff, amazing food and the best off all was the lack of Russians tourists during our stay. The pictures don't do justice!
There are limited activities available on the island so I would recommend a five days stay as a maximum.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laNo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This resort is located on a sand spit sticking out into the sea, a really unique, superb location. It consists of bungalows built along the peninsula, making the resort feel very private even though the beach itself is public. We didn't need the mosquito coils we brought with us as, although mozzies could have been a problem, the resort provided the coils free. The bungalows are fairly new and in good condition. We booked with Andaman Adventures as part of a one-month long honeymoon, we were very happy with the honeymoon, which was custom-designed to go exactly where we wanted and which went off without a hitch. Totally reccommend them. Our room rate included breakfasts, which were tasty and offered lots of variety. We also ate in the restaurant for lunch and most dinners as there are not so many alternative choices on this small island and as the alternatives were not so great. We were happy with just a 4 night stay here, as I think otherwise we would have got bored of always eating in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielmurray86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Idyllic place to relax, away from the crowded beaches, Sivalai has nice bungallows located over the sea with wonferful views. Very good customer service and great good. Definitely will repeat visit to this paradise.

Room Tip: Only have outdoor bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timberw0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Par, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Really nice place. Nice bungalows, nice beach, nice swimming pool. A place to recharge you batteries and take advantage of the sun and water. The food choice and quality are below average and a bit overpriced but there are a few restaurants along the beach where you can have a nice, decent dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nstriken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice hotel on the best part of the island. The bungalows are very big, furnished with very good taste and quality. The beach is pristine, very private and beautiful.

The restaurant has very good food, including the breakfast buffet. When we stayed there was very little atmopshere and few people. This is defintely a chill out place with no evening life.

The only issue were cocoroaches... In the morning there were several dead ones on the floor of our room, and one in our bed one evening....

The service was very good. Be sure to visit the Emerald cave close by, paradise....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FinnishMexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Muk
0.8 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
8.0 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
7.4 mi away
Koh Ngai Thanya Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Anantara Si Kao Resort
7.5 mi away
Kohhai Fantasy Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 2 in Ko Kradan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort

Property: Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Address: 211 / 1 Moo 2, Ko Muk 92110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Muk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ko Muk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO SIVALAI BEACH RESORTKo Mook or Muk island, one of the Andaman's last paradise.The legendary warm welcome of its local population, the extreme beauty of its long white sand beaches, and its pristine clear water rich in aquatic life, make Mook island (also spelled Ko mook, Koh Muk, or Ko Muk) a “must-see” place to stay in Trang Province.Surrounded by amazing tropical nature, Sivalai will offer you an unforgettable feeling of complete relaxation. Read on to learn more about this magnificent spot. We guarantee you that a stay here will remain long in your memories. A most exotic resort surrounded by beaches. A perfect holiday getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Hotel Ko Muk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing