We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a memorable vacation”
Review of Pawapi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pawapi Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Ko Muk B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Thank you Neal for helping us to enjoy a memorable vacation. You know that there are things to do in Pawapi to improve service and accommodation, but the position, the beauty and above all the authenticity of the island definetely puts the teething problems in second order. We have enjoyed the new bungalows, very spacious and with stunning views. Specially early in the morning. Get up to see the sunrise from your deck. It's incredible! Also, take one of the plastic chairs of Pawapi and sit on it in the water . . . .it's Paradise. Sometimes people think that the personnel is slow and inefficient. It is not true. People are nice and helpful. It's their rhythm of life that should also be our rhythm when here on vacation. Memorable!!

Room Tip: Get the new bungalows ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

What a great review! Thanks a lot :-) Glad you enjoyed the big balconies and the view from our new rooms. Yes i agree the service needed improving but i think i have it fixed now :-) As you say:
"Get up to see the sunrise from your deck. It's incredible! Also, take one of the plastic chairs of Pawapi and sit on it in the water . . . .it's Paradise. "
What more can i add?
You are more than welcome back to stay anytime :-) ciao

Best regards

Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband booked this hotel and I was a bit skeptical, but given that it had such high reviews and the owner and his wife were spoke of so highly we went to give it a try. Upon arriving we were greeted by a couple of young men on the beach none of which spoke English. We were shown our room where we sort of got settled. I was a bit rustic for my high maintenance needs but I was trying to look past the filthy mosquito net over the bed to just enjoying the beautiful beach view. After we got settled we went to try and find someone to direct us to where we would get food and water etc. This is when we realized that the owner and his wife were not on the island and the fellow they left in charge while he tried to help us he spoke little English and was very little help. Because high season was not in full effect at this point although the price we were paying indicated it was there was not restaurant at the resort which meant that anytime you wanted something to eat or drink you had to pay for a taxi motorcycle. At dinner the resort would shuttle you to a restaurant at their cost but the rest of the day you were on your own. We spent only one night of the 4 we booked in this room which in my opinion did need air conditioning and was not cool enough for this Canadian girl. After our first night we went on a walk to a resort on the other side of the island called Charlie Beach Resort. When we walked onto the resort it was like night and day compared to what we were dealing with at pawapi. We sucked up the 4 nights we pre-paid at pawapi and moved the Charlie Beach Resort where the rate was even slightly less. We got an air conditioned bungalow, great service and there is a restaurant on site as well as 3 within a short walk. The beach was also a million times nicer and had great waves to play in and was just a short boat ride to the Emerald Cave. So in short the best decision we made was to move to Charlie Beach. Perhaps we would have felt differently if the owner had of been at pawapi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Apologies that things didn’t go well on this occasion. The mosquito nets are cleaned regularly but we did have a problem with small pieces of grass falling on the top of them especially after high winds etc. in the low season. This problem has now been solved. The problem with running a restaurant in the low season is also solved now and we have new staff and menu and it’s open all day and until 10/11pm at night! Thanks for your feedback and helping us to improve.
Regards
Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just a quick review to thank the Pawapi team for a wonderful stay. Isabela & I loved our time there, our bungalow was amazing, the hammocks were great, the beach, the verandah, the sunrises, the other guests & the mango smoothies werea dream! It was hard to leave, as it was so relaxing. Do venture around the island for dinner & lunch though, as there are some great little restaurants like 'Hiltop' & 'team restraurant' that are worth visiting.

Thanks again Team Pawapi :)

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo57575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

“Our bungalow was amazing, the hammocks were great, the beach, the verandah, the sunrises, the other guests & the mango smoothies were a dream!”

Wow! What can i add? Can i quote you on our website?:-) Thanks for the great feedback and really glad you had a lovely time and mentioning our mango smoothies and beach hammocks!

Best regards
Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Pawapi Resort is beautifully located on a peninsula, with two other resorts as neighbours on either side. We were six people and had three bungalows, two new ones and one with some more mileage. The old one had a bit of rustic charm, very nice. Breakfast was served daily with some continental choices, one thai alternative, and the best omelette I have had in a long time. The beach was very nicely kept and cleaned every day. The service was a bit lax, but everything could be fixed by walking the twenty metres to reception. The staff were exquisitely friendly and relaxed. No rush hour here. The manager gave us a free upgrade on accomodation as well. Transport was effortless and timely. We did two excursions: snorkeling, the very special emerald cave and Koh Kradan; and then unforgettable ocean fishing! We caught a sail fish, longer than a full grown man! And the weather was great all week.

A big selling point for us was that Koh Mook has a thriving local community with school, mosque,
post office, fishing harbour and a little "main street". It means there is some noise from the boat engines, and the minaret gets going a little early in the morning, but we wouldn't want it any other way. This is no tourist ghetto, but a real community, which was desirable as far as we were concerned.

All in all, a great experience! Only drawback was the stupid tourists feeding the local dogs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpadeForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review and mentioning our fishing tour and the charm of our bungalows. Also Thanks for highlighting that Koh Mook is a ‘real’ island with a village and school and local community. This is a vital part of experiencing authentic Andaman island living complete with mosque and working local fishermen etc. We believe it’s a great mix and hope it stays that way into the future. Once again thanks for the positive review, you are welcome back anytime.
Best regards
Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We were extremely excited to visit this island and resort. We were quickly disappointed.

Terrible service, all guests who we spoke to were unanimous on this. It had a terrible vibe.

Other reviews seem to highlight this issue. There is potential here but it's a stretch. There are no small touches that make the stay- just a welcome conversation or drink, fruit in the room or flowers would soften it a bit & make guests feel welcome.

A huge safety concern were the hammocks directly under abundantly fruiting coconut trees which would randomly drop like bombs! The fact that most resorts don't want to kill guests and proactively remove coconuts added to pawapi's unwelcoming atmosphere

Best thing about the place were the divine dogs who were very sweet and friendly and chilled out with us on the beach.

Lonely planet should remove this hotel from the next edition. It is way too expensive to justify such poor service.

We provided feedback direct to the owner and he did not appear at all concerned or appreciative of the feedback or intend on making any changes except perhaps removing the coconuts - it would be interesting to hear if this changes.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Things seem to have gone wrong on this occasion. As you can see from our other reviews to have an experience like this is quite rare. The coconut trees are harvested regularly so there should have been no problem. We have a completely new staff this season and feel our service is vastly improved as is our restaurant and number of English speakers available.

Best regards
Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in room number 2 and 3, number 3 was the nicest. Enough room for one adult and two children in the bed, but extra bed is a problem since there is no mosquito net for it.

There is no ac in the room,but it was cool enough because of the sea breeze, so no problem. Room was nice and comfortable with wooden floors and a nice veranda overlooking the sea. Food in the restaurant was good,and breakfast was included in the room price.

Beautiful beach, very shallow water, good for kids.

Room Tip: Room number 3 is nice.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MangoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for the positive review and mentioning our wooden floors and elevated balconies that enable the sea breeze to flow through the bungalow. Usually when an extra bed is put in the room a mosquito net is hung as well. Sorry if that did not happen this time. Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and yes the beach is perfect and safe for kids. welcome back anytime.

Regards

Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had arranged for transfer to Koh Mook through Pawapi via email. The boat never showed up and our resort on Koh Ngai was unable to get anyone to answer the phone The Koh Ngai resort arranged a transfer for us at the last minute. We arrived at Pawapi and were shown to a room and given a couple of bottles of water and then left alone. The place seemed deserted except for the other equally baffled guests. The bar was obviously not in service and there was no one around to answer questions.
The bungalows are basic. The porch is wonderful, with a breeze and a view to the ocean. The roofs are thatch but most are in need of new thatch. There is an in room safe, but it was locked when we got there so we couldn't use it. The tap water is quite brown and the towels were dingy. The sheets had blood stains on them (most likely from smashed mosquitoes). I was afraid to lower the mosquito netting for fear it would dump dirt all over the bed. There was instant coffee in the room but nothing to heat water with.
The beach is not very pretty but was much nicer for swimming than the beach on the north side of the peninsula which is full of drifting seaweed and garbage.
On our first morning, someone came to our room to tell us they were serving breakfast--we weren't even sure they were offering it up until then. They brought us a fried egg with two pieces of white toast, a plain omelet (shared between the two of us) and a fruit plate. They offered tea (but not coffee) and gave us more bottled water. Breakfast was the same each day. although there was coffee on the third morning.
Another couple at breakfast asked about the WiFi and they said their internet provider had folded but they would try to get it fixed. I checked a couple more times while we were there but it was never up.
A pack of about 6 dogs live at the resort and are not shy about coming up to enjoy your porch with you. They were mostly very sweet and there's a gate on the porch so you can shut them out if you want to.
We were in and out of the room that first morning so when it hadn't been cleaned by afternoon we figured they just hadn't caught us at a time when we were out of the room. They did leave us an electric kettle on our porch. We were gone all morning the second morning and came back to find that they still hadn't serviced the room. Since it rained hard several times while we were there, we had tracked in a lot of sand no matter how hard we tried not to. My husband tried to get someone to clean the room, but was met with blank stares by the staff (no English). I tried again by taking our dirty towels over to them and I at least got them to exchange the towels.
On our third morning, we finally found someone willing to check us out. He had no idea how long we had stayed. He had to call someone to find out what to charge. We handed him cash and I insisted on a receipt because I'm still not convinced that the resort was even in operation while we were there! Finally, that last morning, someone came by to clean the room but by then we told him just to wait until we were gone. We were able to enjoy the porch until our boat (arranged elsewhere on the island) picked us up at 1:30. We were actually glad that the transfers didn't work out from this resort because they gave us a price that was 300 baht higher than the going rate for a private transfer. If you're willing to take a taxi over to the pier on the other side of the island and go with the scheduled service you can get it even cheaper. If I were to do this again, I wouldn't bother trying to arrange transfers ahead of time--I think you can get a better deal once you're in Thailand.
I suspect that the problems we encountered were due to their problems with the internet and to the fact that it is not yet high season. Our best guess is that the owners were absent and the caretakers are just not trained in the level of service necessary for a property of this type.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PDXRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Well thanks for the positive feedback on the bungalow, the view etc. as for the service, we have to hold our hands up and say sorry we know it needed improving and we have improved it! Most of the problems we had were from difficulty with staff levels of English, this is now getting better and with a new restaurant/cook and new beach bar we believe we are significantly better than last season

Regards

Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Muk
0.6 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
7.4 mi away
Mayalay Beach Resort
Mayalay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Ko Ngai
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koh Mook Riviera Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Mook The Sun Great Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pawapi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pawapi Resort

Address: 104/4 | Koh Libong, Kan Tang, Ko Muk 92110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Muk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Muk
Price Range: $99 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pawapi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pawapi resort is Thai style beach houses,over looking 180 degrees of sparkling Andaman beauty. Directly on the beach,no obstruction of view.Located on the unique position,(sheltered) sandy peninsular.Close to the Emerald Cave,and the fishermen's village,set along 350 meters of white sand beach.Pawapi is on the quieter side of the island where the style is laid back and the flavor is definitely local. The resort is set among a blend of cultivated sea-front gardens, wild flowers, coconut palms, cashew nut and mango trees and two glorious 100 year old tamarind trees. The feel is very much well-maintained but has ‘natural’ and ‘rustic’ as the underlying theme.Calm-perfect for swimming and safe for children. Four meters wide balconies with a two meter elevation,perfect for catching the cool breeze. A unique blend of charm and style that will make your vacation to Thailand unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Pawapi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing