We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo disappointing”
Review of Pawapi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pawapi Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Ko Muk B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We were extremely excited to visit this island and resort. We were quickly disappointed.

Terrible service, all guests who we spoke to were unanimous on this. It had a terrible vibe.

Other reviews seem to highlight this issue. There is potential here but it's a stretch. There are no small touches that make the stay- just a welcome conversation or drink, fruit in the room or flowers would soften it a bit & make guests feel welcome.

A huge safety concern were the hammocks directly under abundantly fruiting coconut trees which would randomly drop like bombs! The fact that most resorts don't want to kill guests and proactively remove coconuts added to pawapi's unwelcoming atmosphere

Best thing about the place were the divine dogs who were very sweet and friendly and chilled out with us on the beach.

Lonely planet should remove this hotel from the next edition. It is way too expensive to justify such poor service.

We provided feedback direct to the owner and he did not appear at all concerned or appreciative of the feedback or intend on making any changes except perhaps removing the coconuts - it would be interesting to hear if this changes.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Things seem to have gone wrong on this occasion. As you can see from our other reviews to have an experience like this is quite rare. The coconut trees are harvested regularly so there should have been no problem. We have a completely new staff this season and feel our service is vastly improved as is our restaurant and number of English speakers available.

Best regards
Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in room number 2 and 3, number 3 was the nicest. Enough room for one adult and two children in the bed, but extra bed is a problem since there is no mosquito net for it.

There is no ac in the room,but it was cool enough because of the sea breeze, so no problem. Room was nice and comfortable with wooden floors and a nice veranda overlooking the sea. Food in the restaurant was good,and breakfast was included in the room price.

Beautiful beach, very shallow water, good for kids.

Room Tip: Room number 3 is nice.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MangoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for the positive review and mentioning our wooden floors and elevated balconies that enable the sea breeze to flow through the bungalow. Usually when an extra bed is put in the room a mosquito net is hung as well. Sorry if that did not happen this time. Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and yes the beach is perfect and safe for kids. welcome back anytime.

Regards

Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had arranged for transfer to Koh Mook through Pawapi via email. The boat never showed up and our resort on Koh Ngai was unable to get anyone to answer the phone The Koh Ngai resort arranged a transfer for us at the last minute. We arrived at Pawapi and were shown to a room and given a couple of bottles of water and then left alone. The place seemed deserted except for the other equally baffled guests. The bar was obviously not in service and there was no one around to answer questions.
The bungalows are basic. The porch is wonderful, with a breeze and a view to the ocean. The roofs are thatch but most are in need of new thatch. There is an in room safe, but it was locked when we got there so we couldn't use it. The tap water is quite brown and the towels were dingy. The sheets had blood stains on them (most likely from smashed mosquitoes). I was afraid to lower the mosquito netting for fear it would dump dirt all over the bed. There was instant coffee in the room but nothing to heat water with.
The beach is not very pretty but was much nicer for swimming than the beach on the north side of the peninsula which is full of drifting seaweed and garbage.
On our first morning, someone came to our room to tell us they were serving breakfast--we weren't even sure they were offering it up until then. They brought us a fried egg with two pieces of white toast, a plain omelet (shared between the two of us) and a fruit plate. They offered tea (but not coffee) and gave us more bottled water. Breakfast was the same each day. although there was coffee on the third morning.
Another couple at breakfast asked about the WiFi and they said their internet provider had folded but they would try to get it fixed. I checked a couple more times while we were there but it was never up.
A pack of about 6 dogs live at the resort and are not shy about coming up to enjoy your porch with you. They were mostly very sweet and there's a gate on the porch so you can shut them out if you want to.
We were in and out of the room that first morning so when it hadn't been cleaned by afternoon we figured they just hadn't caught us at a time when we were out of the room. They did leave us an electric kettle on our porch. We were gone all morning the second morning and came back to find that they still hadn't serviced the room. Since it rained hard several times while we were there, we had tracked in a lot of sand no matter how hard we tried not to. My husband tried to get someone to clean the room, but was met with blank stares by the staff (no English). I tried again by taking our dirty towels over to them and I at least got them to exchange the towels.
On our third morning, we finally found someone willing to check us out. He had no idea how long we had stayed. He had to call someone to find out what to charge. We handed him cash and I insisted on a receipt because I'm still not convinced that the resort was even in operation while we were there! Finally, that last morning, someone came by to clean the room but by then we told him just to wait until we were gone. We were able to enjoy the porch until our boat (arranged elsewhere on the island) picked us up at 1:30. We were actually glad that the transfers didn't work out from this resort because they gave us a price that was 300 baht higher than the going rate for a private transfer. If you're willing to take a taxi over to the pier on the other side of the island and go with the scheduled service you can get it even cheaper. If I were to do this again, I wouldn't bother trying to arrange transfers ahead of time--I think you can get a better deal once you're in Thailand.
I suspect that the problems we encountered were due to their problems with the internet and to the fact that it is not yet high season. Our best guess is that the owners were absent and the caretakers are just not trained in the level of service necessary for a property of this type.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PDXRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Well thanks for the positive feedback on the bungalow, the view etc. as for the service, we have to hold our hands up and say sorry we know it needed improving and we have improved it! Most of the problems we had were from difficulty with staff levels of English, this is now getting better and with a new restaurant/cook and new beach bar we believe we are significantly better than last season

Regards

Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We booked 2 nights at this resort by checking the rewievs, convinced about having a wonderful accomodation and place to enjoy the sea, but we left the next day. The room was ok, but the breakfast is very poor (you can choose between an orange juice or a coffe/tea), bad service, dirty garden and the sea in front of the bungalow not really nice. Fortunatelly we booked by phone, so we could leave before, but other guests could not leave the place because they paid in advance by credit card and in fact they were really sorry about this.
The resort is surrounded by other 2 resorts (Natural Beach Resort, really dirty place, is to avoid) and the expensive but definitely more more nicer "Sivalai Resort"), so we think that Pawabi Resort must go ahead with the help of the closed position of this beautiful Sivalai Resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cat0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawapi K, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

As a Manager, I’m very concerned with this review.

Firstly, Pawapi breakfast is: toast/jam/butter, omlette/scrambled /fried egg, muesli/cornflakes, yoghurt, tea coffee,juice,mix fresh tropical fruits, or if any guest would like to try Thai style breakfast they can order fried rice or rice soup.

Secondly, our garden and beach get clean every day. . In fact there were many people that came to tell us how nice & beautiful the view of the beach is..

Lastly, most guests want to extend their stay because, in their words, "we found the place we imagined Thailand to be."

Anyway, as the owner who has created the resort by heart and want our guests to have a magnificent holiday trip at our resort, we will keep this comment in mind to improve our resort with the best service, to be one of the nicest small hideaway resort of the Andaman Sea.

Pitt taranat


Thank you to this review writer who woke us up from being overwhelmed by other good reviews and warn us that we can't neglect any small details to do our best for our guests, and make them feel delighted beyond their expectation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Before booking, know what you want.
If you want Peace, Privacy, Relaxation, Warm Waters, Fresh food, Friendly Faces, Awesome Views from your front porch, then by all means Book Now!! This is a jewel that will not stay hidden.
The bungalows are simple but neat. No hot water, but you will not need it. No a/c, but the ocean breezes are fantastic.
The staff is very helpful and Neil is there to make sure your needs are taken care of.
The local village store is a very short walk behind the resort. They stock basic snacks and beverages.

Room Tip: Bungalows 1 through 4 are beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psonmyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for the great review, we seem to have got it just right and that makes us feel great.
You are welcome back anytime
Best regards
Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Pawapi resort and the staff made our stay in koh mook! The resort was built with passion and after a careful study of the area. Bungalows offer stunning views and perfect sea breeze. you can have breakfast served on your balcony with sea view! koh mook is a quiet island not much of nightlife but for us was enough to enjoy a drink at pawapi's bar, with furniture made by a local carpenter with the wood of an old river house, listening to Neal's jazz playlist, even if you decide to seat wright on the beach...
grazie nello!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magallanes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for the great review, sea breeze, balcony, jazz, a meal or drink on the beach in on a golden andaman peninsular. Glad we could give you all these things and that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back anytime.

Best regards

Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Pawapi Resort lies on the quieter side of Koh Mook, about half an hours walk from the other, busier beach. Pawapi has about 20 wooden/bamboo bungalows, all on stilts and set up in a gorgeous garden, all of which overlook the sea and amazing beach. the bungalows themselves are in great condition and gorgeously decorated, they have a very 'beachy' feeling and were immaculately cleaned.

The Pawapi restaurant has a small menu and the food served is very fresh. the breakfasts were lovely - we ordered at the restaurant and the breakfast was delivered on a tray to our balcony.

The owners, Neil and Pitt, were some of the friendliest and most helpful people we met on our thai travels... We spent hours sitting in the restaurant/bar trying to plan the next part of our trip, and both Pitt and Neil made dozens of phone calls etc. to help us along the way - very very kind ! Having asked them a ton of questions about how to get to Koh Tao asap, we then changed our plans and took a boat to Koh PhiPhi (which Pitt also organized...) and against Neils better judgement - one really is either a koh muk or phi phi fan. We thought of Neil and Pitt as we bolted from phi phi the very next morning on the first boat we could find!

Koh muk itself is a lovely little island. the people are charming - probably the most friendly thais we met. the island is beautiful - the walk across to the other beach takes you through an authentic thai village with plenty of opportunities to stop and spend some baht/chat with the locals. we rented a kayak from the other beach to get to the emerald caves (go early morning) and took a snorkeling trip with pawapis boatsman. it is a truly peaceful island, the kind of place to get lost in a book and your thoughts!

i really thought twice about writing a review for pawapi resort so it could be kept marginally secret - that's how much we enjoyed our stay. Thank you and all the best to Neil, Pitt and the rest of the Pawapi staff, see you again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah_Jewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuanpis t, Manager at Pawapi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hi and thanks for that great review, you say you thought twice about writing a review because you want Pawapi to remain a secret! So glad you decided to write good feedback makes us feel we are getting it right and is much appreciated. Really glad you enjoyed you stay with us. Welcome back anytime

Best Regards

Pawapi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Muk
0.6 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Koh Mook The Sun Great Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koh Mook Riviera Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
439 reviews
6.4 mi away
Anantara Si Kao Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pawapi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pawapi Resort

Address: 104/4 | Koh Libong, Kan Tang, Ko Muk 92110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Muk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Muk
Price Range: $105 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pawapi Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pawapi resort is Thai style beach houses,over looking 180 degrees of sparkling Andaman beauty. Directly on the beach,no obstruction of view.Located on the unique position,(sheltered) sandy peninsular.Close to the Emerald Cave,and the fishermen's village,set along 350 meters of white sand beach.Pawapi is on the quieter side of the island where the style is laid back and the flavor is definitely local. The resort is set among a blend of cultivated sea-front gardens, wild flowers, coconut palms, cashew nut and mango trees and two glorious 100 year old tamarind trees. The feel is very much well-maintained but has ‘natural’ and ‘rustic’ as the underlying theme.Calm-perfect for swimming and safe for children. Four meters wide balconies with a two meter elevation,perfect for catching the cool breeze. A unique blend of charm and style that will make your vacation to Thailand unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Pawapi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing