We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's very local place to sleep only.”
Review of Lakeside Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Cottages
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“it's very local place to sleep only.”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

if you plan to climb the volcano Mt. Batur and looking for accommodation to stay only for a night, this place is okay just for one night. this is simple place, nothing fancy, no restaurant and good service. the only good things are cheap and nice view right at the edge of lake in Toya Bangkah. if you like comfort, this is not the place for you. if you are easy going and just want a place to sleep over night with a nice view of lake, you can handle this one. two staff are just chill out, not so attentive but they are good friendly people. remember this is not a 3 stars hotel with hotel service, you have to ask for what you want so don't expect anything perfect.
by the way, the room has no air-con but the weather is cool at night, spacious room, bathroom with TV but no satellite.

Room Tip: ask for discount or special rate and choose the room at the edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_noi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    3
    5
    17
See reviews for
5
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
376 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having had difficulty in finding accomodation our previous night in Tirtagangga, we asked our driver to book a room at the Lakeside Cottages in Toya Bungkah primarily for its location near the start of the climb to Mount Batur.
The place is simply awful and is to be avoided at all costs! Smelly, moldy, dirty you name it.... The 2 staff at the "hotel" behaved more like tout than anything resembling hotel staff.
We ended up at the Mapa Lake View Bungalow with only 2 rooms where the owner did all he could to please us.
There is another luxury option at a minimum rate of 220 US$ called The Ayu which is more like a retreat where you can indulge in tranquility!

Room Tip: Just forget it! at least until they tear down the place and rebuild it and get the staff with the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toya Bungkah hotels

melbourne, australlia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Yeah it's a great position but the rooms need an overhaul. Its managed by a
con-woman who will try and fleece you out of all your savings. She tries
to rope you into exorbitantly priced walks up the mountain, say $3 million rp for two when the actual price is around 800,00 rp for two. She will also try and sell you overpriced paintings and have hawkers come to your room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else or stay in Ubud and do a day trip from ur hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tantilyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This place had a good review in Lonely Planet but things have changed. The original owner is no longer there and the place has been left to go to ruin.
The rooms were dirty, there were flies and the smell of manure everywhere, the pool was empty and the ladder to it was detached.
There was a huge pile of rotting food near the pool area.
There are much cheaper, better, friendlier places down the street.
Worst of all, when we asked for a discount because the facilities were not what they had said they were, the staff were combative and aggressive.
This place was like nowhere I'd been in Bali, where, usually even in a budget place, grounds would still be kept clean and staff Would be friendly- stay away!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

They have a great view, BUT the rooms have an odd smell from lack of ventilation, toilets are dirty. We luckily planned for just one night in this area and left without even having a shower because the bathrooms were so dirty!

Staff here are not very good and we felt very uneasy and unsafe.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ionatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I absolutely concur with the previous review. It actually sounds as if the reviewer stayed in the same room as us. Other that the location, which is spectacular, this place is the absolute pits. The only upside is that I was told it would be knocked down for a new resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno_Buggalugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Lakeside cottages is in a nice location right at the banks of Lake Batur giving nice views of the Batur caldera and Mt. Abang. Unfortunately the rooms are basic and very unclean and poorly maintained. The bathroom was stinking and did not seem to have been cleaned in ages. The place is full of flies and the staff seemed to make no effort to clean the place. When we tried to complain about the condition of the room, the manager turned hostile and told us we should check-out if we did not like the place. So our advise would be that you better stay somewhere else than regret later. The inhospitable staff don't offer value for the money you pay.

There is a hotel half a block from Lakeside called Volcano 2 which might be a better place to live and the staff there is very friendly. Food at Volcano 2 was also very good. The room rates at Volcano 2 were half of what we paid at Lakeside. The manager at Volcano 2, Mr. Made Suryadi, was very helpful. He arranged us a guide for the sunrise trek to the caldera and rented us a motor bike. Here is the contact information for [--]

In addition, transport to Toya Bungkah and Kintamani can be expensive and difficult to find due to the mountainous terrain. Mr. Gusti Ariastra from Ubud [--] offered us pick-up and drop-off at very reasonable rates. Mr.Gusti was very punctual as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srir0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toya Bungkah
3.5 mi away
Lakeview Ecolodge
Lakeview Ecolodge
#4 of 5 in Kintamani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
12.8 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Lava Hostel
Black Lava Hostel
#1 of 6 in Bangli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Volcano Terrace
Volcano Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mapa Lake View Bungalow
3.6 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kintamani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Cottages

Property: Lakeside Cottages
Address: Jl. Raya Toya Bungkah, Toya Bungkah, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Toya Bungkah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Toya Bungkah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lakeside Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lakeside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Cottages Kintamani/Toya Bungkah, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing