We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second time even better”
other traveler has booked this property
Unusual 17century stone pigeonnier converted to lovely gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unusual 17century stone pigeonnier converted to lovely gite
Beautiful and peaceful surroundings, but close to all amenities Large salt water swimming pool with stunning views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Unusual 17century stone pigeonnier converted to lovely gite
Beautiful and peaceful surroundings, but close to all amenities
Large salt water swimming pool with stunning views
Twin/double room sleeping 4 with own ensuite
Fully Equipped Kitchen area in La Maison du Soleil
Lounge area in La Maison du Soleil
Private terrace and extensive gardens
Large fully equipped games room in converted barn
Auvillar - d'une plus beaux villages de France
River Bridge over the Garonne at Auvillar
13th Century Church in Medieval Auvillar
Local country fayre - oxon cart rides
Canal des deux Mers at Moissac
Local Cotes de Brulhois tipple
Tarn-et-Garonne views
The building was originally a pigeonnier
We get snow here too!
Lovely views across farmland from the terrace
The optional sofabed for children if reqired
Bedroom 1 in La Maison du Soleil
Lounge and kitchen area 5mx9m
Private fishing lake at Le Farat, perfect for those that just want to get away from it all!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Auvillar, Tarn-et-Garonne, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rayslator
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Second time even better”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Returned to Le Farat for a second time and stayed in the newly converted gite. The refurbishment has been skillfully and imaginatively completed. The games room and the cycles are also a great addition. Excellent facilities and hosts in a lovely location we have booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
We are glad you appreciate our hard work and feel very pleased we have hit the right mark for you. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moniO12
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An amazing stop over and would definitley stay longer”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Booked by a mutual friend on route to the Midi Pyranees. Recommended by 2 people a wonderful residence and B&B beautiful room, bed was amazing and the scenery spectacular. Pool was great for a swim in the morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The room with a spectacular view and access to the garden.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
Looking forward to your next stay which we hope will be longer for you to ensure you discover this lovely area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mand0linm...
LythamStAnnes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rest relaxation in comfort”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Nick and Allison along with their delightful daughter have done everything to make your stay memorable; nothing is too much trouble for them thinking of your comfort. They are knowledgable of the area and give you any info you need. There is a beautiful pool which, sadly, due to inclement weather we weren't able to use; we were hoping for a lazy holiday in the sun sitting round the pool. If you are a walker there are a number of walks of varying lengths. The property is set in beautiful peaceful countryside so if it's peace and quiet you're looking for this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely property and helpful owners.
Liked least: Due to the weather we maybe would have been better in the B&B part of the property.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciate it and makes it all worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyWyke...
Bordeaux, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to base yourself to see the mid Pyrenesse”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Le Farat is located in an ideal position between Bordeaux and Toulouse very near to the small village of Auvillar. The Gite is spacious and very well appointed with all that we needed. The pool is sensational and the games room has plenty to keep the kids (and adults) occupied. The grounds are well looked after and it is a pleasure sitting on the balcony just taking in the view and enjoying the fine produce that can be bought from the local markets and the wine that is produced at the vineyards close by.

Our hosts Allison and Nick looked after our every need and made us feel very welcome. They imparted their local knowledge which enabled us to visit some sites a bit off the beaten track that are not necessarily well known. The church at the small village of La Chappelle was a highlight.

This is an ideal location for families wanting to spend a few days...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere and picture postcard surroundings
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your European tour goes well. Perhaps we will see you back here one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona R
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous acommadation in Luxury B&B”
Reviewed October 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 1 night as part of cycling the Canal Lateral and although it was a hilly ride from the canal it was definitely worth it. We had a B&B room in the main house and it was outstanding, Our friends stayed in the caochhouse and that was equally beautifully fitted out. The welcome was very good, beautiful pool, and we were well looked after for the evening meal

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The ambiance
Liked least: No beer available on arrival!
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2012
I am pleased you liked your stay with us and hope to see you again some day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absoluteley Fabulous”
Reviewed September 7, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

It's not often that you're overwhelmed by the place you stay in, but I have to say that Le Farat is an absolute gem. We stayed in the Bed & Breakfast for a couple of nights,before moving into the Gite, and that gave us an insight of what was to come, this was no average Bed & Breakfast, but more like a 5 star suite.
The Gite was equally as good, the attention to detail is fabulous and the fixtures and fittings were excellent. all our needs were catered for.
I have to mention the Hosts as they were excellent and clearly understand hospitality. They are there when you need them, but equally allow you to enjoy your holiday in peace and quiet.
The area is great with plenty to do, local villages, markets, huge lakes, look up Auvillar, Valence D'argen, Lauzerte, and further afield you could have a day tip to the Pyrenees, Carcassone, Bordeaux, we visited Rocamadour.
Also, Toulouse airport is only 55 minutes away, which was handy as I picked up / dropped off my two teenage daughters who joined us for the second week.
I would certainly recommend Le Farat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size, scale and condition of the Gite.
Liked least: The odd mosquito, but not much can be done about that.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2012
Looking forward to seeing you again in 2012, wine will be in the fridge for you on arrival!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blossie54
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Back Again with a Splash !”
Reviewed August 7, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Having had a brilliant fortnight here last year, I was wondering whether this year's holiday could possibly top it.
I should not have worried as once again we have had a holiday of which many others can only dream. Once again the gite was spotlessly clean, well equipped and spacious enough for a lively adult family.
This year a game's room has been added providing table tennis, darts, air hockey and table football. Sadly, I had relinquish my table tennis crown to my sons - age catches up with all of at some time - but I had tremendous fun competing on good quality equipment.
The highlight for my wife was the swimming pool as she was able to exercise by swimming each morning and not feel too bad about eating an extra croissant at breakfast time.
The food in the area is very regional and yet it is marvellously fresh and a perfect antedote to anyone suffering from supermarket produce the past fifty weeks of the year. Not only is there a splendid little market garden up the road where one can by delicious fruit and veg just hand picked but also there is a small vinyard nearby that sells some equally promising wine as part of the Cotes du Brullois. ( This is highly recommended).
There are loads of towns and villages to claim your attention ( our favourite this year was a visit to Lauzerte- a town high up on a promentary, giving beautiful views of the surrounding area.)
However, a special mention must go to our hosts(Allison and Nick) who made sure that our stay was as perfect as it could be. Quietly, they were always on hand to provide information and advice based on their local knowledge.
To those thinking of booking a holiday here, all of our family would warmly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts and the wonderful gite
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely and kind review. I am so pleased our gite met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing