We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caribe Playa Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patillas
nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed November 8, 2009

The best, quiet, comfortable, nonexpensive place to stay. Perfectly friendly staff, specially Oscar, the manager, Maria the roomkeeper, Could not be asking for more (except more time to stay of course) Don't look for luxuries, expect tranquility and true friendly service. I will recommend this place to the whole world. By te way , want a massage to go with your relaxing time? They have somebody over there just for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgecab53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    66
    31
    33
    45
See reviews for
56
106
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nokomis, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We came here for our Honeymoon. It is so simple, and relaxing. Almost bed and breakfast style. But with more privacy. The service here was welcoming, and like a home away from home. Very friendly and helpful people in town. Small town, so stop and get any thing you may need before you arrive(cause you will not want to leave)walmart is about 10 miles or so away down 3 west. Over-all we KNOW we will return, and look forward to being guests again. Oh- and The Tamarind daquiries at the resort are the best cocktails we have ever had. Bring flops for the beach, it's small, and a little rocky, but very secluded and beautiful. We never felt like we didn't belong there. Take 3 to the east...you can find a little town with a big courtyard. bars with pool tables, and good pizza right across the st.Good for night when you want to go out, but not go too far. Daytime, find the 1 lane, 2 lane rd. It is steep and not for the faint of heart.... But the prize at the end of the ride to the top...is well worth it. It goes by the river, past little homes and an old church in the middle of nowhere. then you see an old wrecked inn, and look down the hill. Drive back down past the lake and through the mountains, Then it takes u right back to patillas. AMAZING. We loved Patillas, and this resort. Four thumbs way up.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corisa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

I found this hotel on www.hostel.com and paid $45 through the website to stay one night by myself at this lovely hotel.

Trip Advice: I rented a car Charlie's by the airport for $20 a day or $149 for the week. I highly recommend renting or purchasing a GPS if you are driving all over PR as it can be difficult and frustrating without one. Have cash on hand for toll roads.

After leaving San Juan in the morning I packed a picnic lunch and drove to El Yunque Rain Forest which took around 30 minutes and then spent the day hiking in the forest, enjoying the views and having a picnic by a waterfall. I then drove 1 hr. to Patillas to this lovely escape by the beach arriving at 5 p.m. After checking in I ordered dinner to be ready at 7 p.m. as they cook to order for dinner and it is recommended to order an hour before you eat.

Pros: lovely staff, clean room, cable tv, books to read, refrigerator in room, hot water, air conditioning, ocean view, beach directly in front of room, pool, hammocks, chaise lounge chairs on the beach, calm water, outside bbq, great food $4-10 breakfast and $10 - $20 a meal for lunch and dinner...spent a total of $73 on room, dinner and breakfast (what a deal!!)

Cons: not much to do in town, stay at the hotel for everything, no local restaurants or shops

Next Day I drove 1hr. to Ponce for the day

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrown333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channelview
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

After reading all the negatives I was a little scard. I'm not sure where these other pepol stayed but my stay was the best. the room was neat, clean and right on the beach. the owner and staff were wonderful and went out of there way to make our stay the best.
If you are looking for the fast pased of the big city. Stay in San Juan. This is a place to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olive branch, ms
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I do not understand the poor reviews i am seeing for Caribe Playa. This was my second stay at this resort. If you are expecting a 5star resort then you will probably be disappointed but you are not paying for a 5star resort either.

The setting- this is one of the most beautiful spots i have found on the island. The hotel is situated on a crescent shaped cove right on theocean. It is probably less than 50 feet from your room door to the water. and in between are numorous coconut palms with hammocks tied between them. BBQ pits if you choose to cook for yourself, and deck lounge chairs. We actually had baby sea turtles right outside our room door one night that we helped back to the sea. Awesome nice freestyle pool that their groundskeeper puts a lot of time and effort into keeping clean. And everywhere is the lush vegetation of the island.

The Staff- Oscar, the manager was very helpful and friendly and a pleasure to talk to. The ladies that pulled double duty as housekeeping and waitresses were so incredibly sweet and helpful. They even rememebered us from our prior three day stay 14 months earlier. Even remembered that we had to leave early last year due to my wife's breast cancer and asked how she was doing and was genuinely concerned when i told her my wife had passed away. Try getting that at a 5 star resort!!
George and Francis- the owners are wonderful people. I only saw Francis near the end of our stay this year but last year we saw a lot of both her and George. They made it feel more like we were visitors in their home than just hotel guests. The hospitality here is incredible.

The food- while a little pricey it is no more expensive than your local appleby's but it is delicious and very filling generous portions. The boys had the penne con pollo and loved it. I chose the carribean pork chop meal with rice and beans the first night and the smashed plantain with chicken in butter and garlic sauce the second night. Both meals were incredibly good. and again- if you dont want to eat their awesome food you can grill steaks or puerto rican sausage for yourself at the bbq pits.

The rooms- the rooms are comfortable and clean. nothing fancy but how much time are you going to spend in them anyways? They have cable tv, a wetbar and mini fridge and the airconditioningworked very well in all the rooms we have stayed in. Would be nice to have a small microwave available in the rooms- the only negative i could find.

snorkeling is nice here- lots of reefs and fish right outside your door. currents can be strong at times and you should stay within the designated swim areas. The beach is kind of rocky soo wear water shoes or sandals if you are beach combing.

Nearby there is a decent grocery store in Patillas ( i beleive plaza grocery) where you can get meat for the grill and pretty much any kind of food items you might need. The texaco near the hotel has a very friendly staff that speaks english very well ( that can be an issue in Patillas if you do not speak much spanish). There are small restaurants within a couple mile drive in either direction from the hotel if you care to venture out. We chose not to as we were please with the food at Caribe Playa.

Overall i would highly recommend Caribe Playa as a nice , comfortable place to stay while on the island, with an awesome staff, good food, and nice, clean rooms placed right in the middle of paradise.

George, Francis, Oscar and everyone else at Caribe Playa- Thank You for making our stay with you everything it could be! We look forward to staying with you again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smathis1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M-Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Caution - If you are use to having air conditioning then DO NOT stay at this hotel. My wife and I stayed for one night in June and woke in the morning to the air conditioner unit blowing no cool air. We contacted the front desk and were told we would have to speak to the manager who conveniently would not be in until the afternoon and after check out time (we were only planning a one night stay). We had no choice but to shower in a hot room, we then sweated immediately, and then checked out.

We called the manager later that day multiple times until we finally got him at 4 pm to complain. He said there was nothing he could do since “we had already checked out.” If we had been staying another night he said he would have given us a free meal in the crappy fast restaurant there (oh, what a treat that place was not - not but fast food at high prices). In addition, he said the housekeepers went in an hour after we left and the AC was working. Hmm, I guess it “magically” started working. Simply put, if you want or need AIR CONDITIONING, DO NOT stay here. This is nothing but a run down motel pretending to be a “resort” quote-unquote. The customer service is non-existent. When we informed the manager we would be posting our compliant online he responded - “go ahead, who cares!” Well, hopefully potential future customers will show him who cares. Certainly, if you want AC you will not want to stay here.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M-Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patillas hotels

san antonio
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

My first interaction with this hotel was a forewarning of things to come; I called them to confirm availability since the website was having problems. They did have rooms, but the quoted price on the phone was higher than on the web. I made the receptionist aware of this, and the response was "then make the reservation on the web."

The menu is misleading, everything listed is not available. I am puerto rican, but now live on the mainland and crave having authentic puerto rican foods that I normally can not make because of difficulty getting all the ingredients where I live. While at the hotel Every night (three) I ordered the mashed plantain dish (mofongo), but was told each night that they did not have the plantains to make it; so I would order the fried plantains which ironically they had each night. Since I craved the local foods, I would ask about the drinks to see if they were fresh juices, but the tone of the responses was un-inviting.

On one occassion, my wife ordered some lunch for herself and our young child, but we were told there was no one available to prepare the sanwiches (so they had to wait form me to get back to the hotel). Mind you, Patillas, and this hotel are in the middle of nowhere and there are no restaurants or stores readily accesible by foot. If you do not know the area, or if your ride happens to leave you to go somewhere, you are in a bind since public transportation is non existent here.

When we got there there was a dead cockroach in the refrigerator, so I walked over to the office to ask them to please clean this, it took more than one day and several requests for the refrigerator to be cleaned.

The good aspects of the hotel are that it is located in a quiet and relaxing environment, at night the waves area soothing. If you want to sit on a beach chair, hear the waves, drink a beer and read a book in peace, you can not go wrong with this place(but you better bring your own drink and your book). You can walk along the beach (not good for swimming), for long distances and not see anyone. The grounds are nice.

If you have another option of where to stay in the area I would go there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dchatt1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patillas
8.4 mi away
Parador Palmas De Lucia
7.7 mi away
Parador Costa del Mar
Parador Costa del Mar
#2 of 2 in Yabucoa
72 reviews
30.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Parador MaunaCaribe
Parador MaunaCaribe
#1 of 1 in Maunabo
341 reviews
11.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
44.0 mi away
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Playa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Playa Beach Hotel

Property: Caribe Playa Beach Hotel
Address: Road # 3, Km 113.9, Patillas 00723, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Patillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Caribe Playa Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picture yourself in an unspoiled beach, the tropical breeze caressing you as you bask in the sun, enjoying a nap in a hammock strung across palm trees or just beachcombing under a starry sky. Located in a pristine corner of Puerto Rico’s southeast coast, the Caribe Playa Beach Resort nestles in a secluded cove where the mountain rain forest slopes down to touch a crescent shaped beach of a spectacular Caribbean Sea view. It’s the only hotel in the area with all rooms right in front of the beach. All guestrooms have a great close-up view of the sea. They have A/C, cable TV, refrigerator, private bathroom, are fully sheeted, spacious and have a dining/seating area. Some have a small kitchen sink and cabinets since there are BBQs in front of each building for your use. First and second floors have a patio or balcony respectively. Wi-Fi is available in various areas. The beach is just steps away. So close, that you’ll sleep to the soothing sound of the waves. Guests can swim, snorkel, surf, or fish at the Caribe Playa’s beach, weather depending. Or, they can simply relax in one of the beach's many lounge chairs or hammocks in between many palm trees. There is an outdoor adult and kiddies pool right next to the sea with a breathtaking view. There are more than 20 gardens with beautiful flowers and lush, tropical plants. Therapeutic massage is available by appointment. A rest and relax, family and romantic ambiance with personal service. All at a great value. Our Seaview Terrace Restaurant offers stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and serves varied breakfast, lunch and dinner selections plus local delicacies. Tropical beverages and light snacks are also offered during the day. The Caribe Playa Beach Resort is 90 minutes from the San Juan, Luis Munoz Marin International Airport. Downtown Patillas is just over 10 minutes away. Many use us as base for exploring the south and east of the island, Vieques and Culebra, or for scheduling fishing trips. Many of our guests turn into friends to be welcomed year after year. Come and stay in your personal tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Caribe Playa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Playa Beach Hotel Patillas
Hotel Caribe Playa Beach
Caribe Playa Beach Hotel Puerto Rico/Patillas, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing