We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect return visit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Ancienne Bergerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Galey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect return visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Returning to what we recalled as a perfect holiday venue always entails an element of risk. We first enjoyed an idyllic stay with the lovely Becks and Kev in 2010. We need not have worried on this occasion, every aspect of our stay lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Becks and Kev are thoughtful and knowledgable hosts, the accommodation is of a very high standard, and the home produced and cooked food is magnificent and abundant. We highly recommend the optional 5 course evening meal on the terrace.

This area of the Pyrennees welcomes smaller numbers of tourists and is quieter and mostly unspoiled, but offers much scope for walkers. We are experienced walkers and Kev's local knowledge and enthusiasm helped our planning. Be aware though that even the 'easy' walks in this part of France can be challenging.

We had a most enjoyable 4 day stay. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aubrey186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Pyrénées
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

'L'Ancienne Bergerie' nestles discretely on a hillside overlooking a tranquil valley of 'Le Couserans' - a traditional farmhouse dwelling that has been sensitively restored using high quality materials, to provide a small number of spacious guest-rooms and a most extraordinary terrace from which to enjoy the zen-like calm and breathtaking views. The evening dinner menu featured original combinations of local farm products and sauces 'faites maisons', presented imaginatively in convivial surroundings. Most of all, we appreciated the genuinely warm welcome of the owners, who provided us with detailed information that enabled us to make the most of a 3-day voyage of discovery in this most beautiful corner of the Ariège.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chindavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sorry about the rather hackneyed title, I spent ages trying to think of something smart to call it but failed miserably in originality! However it's true, L'Ancienne Bergerie is a perfect place to stay and explore this area of the Pyrennees. Great food, very helpful and friendly hosts, we will certainly come again. Thank you Kev and Becks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a wonderful place to visit we stayed for two nights and ate out on the terrace on both evenings, we can thoroughly recommend sampling Becks cooking she is very modest but we thought both meals were excellent. Kevin and Becks were great hosts, very informative about the local area and the views from the terrace are amazing. The work they did to renovate this old bergerie is such a credit to them both our room was extremely comfortable with a beautifull bathroom. We would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandacunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Totally enjoyed our 3 days at L'Ancienne Bergerie!
Rebecka & Kevin were very welcoming, taking time to share with us and recommend beautifull hikes in the area. The work they did to renovate this old bergerie is amazing! Beautifully renovated, with comfortable rooms, beautifull bathroom... Wonderfull views too! Hiked around the little surrounding villages, very charming!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabellarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for 1 night while cycling from the Atlantic to the med. it was a fabulous bit of luxury after some hard days cycling. We were welcomed with a good cup of tea, a log fire & some excellent food. we hope to return with the men, they would love i

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at L'Acienne Bergerie. Honestly it's one of the best travel experiences that we ever had. Becks and Kev are amazing hosts, the home is beautifully furnished and there is so much to see in this area. And the food that Becks made for us... absolutely perfect. We will miss that place very much and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nejron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galey
11.6 mi away
Chateau de Beauregard
Chateau de Beauregard
#1 of 4 in Saint-Girons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auberge de L'Isard
Auberge de L'Isard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Lary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Eychenne
Hotel Eychenne
#2 of 4 in Saint-Girons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Haras Picard du Sant
Haras Picard du Sant
#1 of 6 in Saint-Girons
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.5 mi away
Au Detour du Larrech
Au Detour du Larrech
#1 of 6 in Castillon-en-Couserans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
18.1 mi away
Auberge les Myrtilles
Auberge les Myrtilles
#1 of 1 in Couflens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ancienne Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancienne Bergerie

Property: L'Ancienne Bergerie
Address: Lieu Dit le Chateau, 09800 Galey, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Galey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Galey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location at 702m on the hillside of the Vallée de la Bellongue, facing due south, in the French Pyrénées. The renovated former "sheep barn" offers wonderful accommodation with modern comforts, rustic charm and delightful character. Sleeping 9 guests in four generous en suite bedrooms. Breakfast and dinner are served on the terrace in the summer months, with stunning views into the valley., and in the winter months inside the cosy living/dining room which is heated by a wood fire. A great location for walkers, cyclists and for admiring the mountain flora and fauna, or simple relaxation. Dinner is served to our guests, by reservation. Each evening a set 4 course dinner of home made dishes influenced by a south west France (Gascogne) theme, using produce from our garden and our home reared Gascogne pork, complimented with seasonal wild food picked from a plentiful source, and local artisan cheese. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
L'Ancienne Bergerie Galey, France - Ariege

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing