We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show & Stay Package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunSquare Montecasino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Sunsquare is ideally situated, virtually in the heart of Montecasino. The seats for the show were amazing, the meals more than sufficient and fantastic service from all the staff. It definitely is good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for tanking the time in reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments. We are waiting for your return.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with your next visit, I will be sure to make your arrangements accordingly.

Warm Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 957 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I went to watch a show at Monte Casino and as it ended late and we did not want to drive home, so we decided to stay over at the SunSquare. We only intended to sleep there, take a shower the new morning and have breakfast and we were definitely not disappointed. Good hotel and service and everything you would expect from a good 3 star establishment. Everything still seems new, up to date and clean. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Linell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. I am most definitely going to share your review with our teams
We are looking forward in hosting you back soon, soon.

Jacques and the SunSquare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The style and lighting of the foyer is impressive. The space of the shower is big enough to enjoy with partner. Excellent mirror and within reach control of lights in the room. Excellent seating space in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tshepo073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your great review! Thank you for participating and ranking us in Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the SunSquare hotel.

We are looking forward in seeing you back soon.

Warmest Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is fine. Good breakfast, restaurant, near to the Montecasino entratainements. The room was clean and plenty roomy. I had a problem with a room because it was very noisy and I was obbliged to change. Poor quality of the noise insulation of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Sandrosa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your meaningful review.
We are looking forward in welcoming you back home.

Kind Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My stay at Sun square Monte casino was excellent and met all my expectations, the breakfast was great to.I would definitely recommend this accommodation to others, it also is in a great location. restaurants situated right outside entrance of hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jarryd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for your great review!!!
I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay.
Please do not hesitate to contact me when you are ready to book your next visit.
Warmest Regards.

Jacques and the SunSquare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend at Sunsquare hotel (Saturday to Sunday) this past weekend. We wanted to spend a romantic valentine’s weekend away and made arrangements to leave the kids at home.

To cut a long story short, I will list the problems in bullet format below:

Hotel/Room

• No WiFi in the hotel (apparently it was down as we checked with reception frequently) but no real sense of urgency or suggestion to make up for the shortfall of the service was suggested. You advertise fast free and reliable Wifi unfortunately we couldn’t experience it, we are IT fundies and came loaded with tablets and cell phones to enjoy a bit of late evening web surfing and social media time).
• We found an open juice container in the fridge, not sure how long it had been there...
• Dust was all over the ornaments, not very hygienic.
• The room was not to our expected standards for such an hotel, the toilet was not the most private of arrangements and very confined if not claustrophobic.
• Early Sunday morning, the odour of sewage was quite potent as one walked through the corridors on the 5th floor.


Aarya Restaurant (We had noticed this restaurant in previous visits to Montecasino and discussed the story behind it but never tried it out. As we were staying in the hotel and received vouchers to be used in this restaurant we decided to have dinner there. What a disappointment...)

• The Waiters attitude was utterly disgusting, not keen to talk and entertain our requests, not keen to explain the way the wine voucher worked, it took me 3 times of asking to be told that it wasn’t for sparkling wine? I always ask this question when I frequent places like this: why offer vouchers if it seems they are not welcome at the restaurants and makes you feel like you are asking for a favour?
• My wife ordered butternut soup, it was not up to scratch, it was watered down and flavourless.
• I ordered chicken livers starter and requested from the waiter for the PeriPeri to be hot, received an oily and sweet/mild serving of livers that made my tummy upset up until Monday morning.
• Also ordered a butter chicken pizza, it took a while to come to the table, when it finally arrived I took a good look at it and was not impressed. It is not the shape that I really had a problem with but more the actual size for a main course and the lack of toppings. I counted the pieces of chicken on it and it was like max 2 per slice, well needless to say after all we experienced, I sent the pizza back as I really felt that the asking price of I think it was R89 for the pizza plus all the other not so enjoyable experiences was the last straw.(We were actually comparing the food at the restaurant to other places where we’ve had these dishes before and if I tell you what we came up with I don’t think the owner of the restaurant would take the comments well...)

We asked for the bill and left. Any further thought of having coffee (suffice it to say we did not use the coffee voucher we were given) and any desert was out of the question.

I must add that the breakfast we had at the same restaurant the next morning was very enjoyable and the service was so much better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

I am happy to report that we have given attention to your concerns – even though we handled the matter off line.

As discussed, I look forward in welcoming you back to SunSquare soon.
Warmest Regards
Jacques

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good service at the hotel. It is located in Montecasino which is great as there is a lot of entertainment. Public transport using Gautrain and Gautrain buses makes it accessible.
Floors for smoking and non-smoking should be demarcated and rooms should fumigated when a smoking guest leaves.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Emmy Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for your Valuable comments.
I wish more people would use the Gautrain services.
We have just repainted all the smoking rooms – I am sure that it will make a difference.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Jacques and the SunSquare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
10.0 mi away
Riverbend Country House
Riverbend Country House
#43 of 66 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
6.2 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: $138 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing