We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertainment and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SunSquare Montecasino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Maseru, Lesotho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“entertainment and tranquility”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good service at the hotel. It is located in Montecasino which is great as there is a lot of entertainment. Public transport using Gautrain and Gautrain buses makes it accessible.
Floors for smoking and non-smoking should be demarcated and rooms should fumigated when a smoking guest leaves.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your Valuable comments.
I wish more people would use the Gautrain services.
We have just repainted all the smoking rooms – I am sure that it will make a difference.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    322
    73
    29
    8
See reviews for
133
364
39
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Relaxing went to show madam Zingara stay was awesome, Hotel staff very courteous (Faith) was excellent - really worth every cent. Felt as though were we were on holiday is a foreign country.
Thank you to all at Sun Square


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your feedback.
Your comments are valuable to us.
We look forward in seeing you back real soon.

Let me know if there is anything else you need for your next stay.
Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed over on Valentines evening as we were attending a show. we had dinner at one of the restaurants at Monte. Our room at the Sun Square was very clean and well catered for. could have done with a few more packets of coffee and biscuits though! The breakfast was extremely good, and all the staff were very courteous; in the hotel, dining area and the bar area. would definitely return when i can get another chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. Your lovely feedback is valuable to us as well as other travellers. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at SunSquare Montecasino.
We are looking forward in hosting you back in the near future.
Warmest Regards Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here because my regular hotel- when I visit Johannesburg- was full. I didn't regret it. Check in was smooth even at 1 am in the morning and my room was very comfortable. The free Wi-Fi was fast, but the daily limit of 500 Mb is a bit restrictive if you're going to be doing much more than email or a bit of surfing.
The bathroom is kind of integrated with the room. It isn't a problem of course if you're by yourself or with a significant other but else if you happen to be sharing a room, it might be a bit embarrassing.
Oh, and the breakfast next morning was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NirmalyaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your meaningful feedback. Great news!! – Our Tsogo Sun Frequent guest members now enjoy 1GIG of complimentary WIFI; per day. (Sign up for free)

Waiting for your return
Jacques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was happy to find that this was one of the newer hotels in Johannesburg. The day rate was super affordable - especially for that location.

The room was super comfy, stylish and compact; and the staff were efficient and welcoming. Added bonus: the best casino in JHB is simply a few steps away :)

I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheVortex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We are waiting for your return; call us, and then we can make your reservation arrangements.

Friendly Greetings Jacques and the SunSquare Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very nice stay. Nice to wake up to the sound of the fountain. Felt like I was in Europe. Service was efficient and friendly and the breakfast was outstanding.
Very good place to stay for the busy business traveler.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank CraigMenace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for rating us favourable.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Jacques and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is my fourth stay at SunSquare and I've always had a great experience. The queen bed room has everything that you would need, especially a comfortable bed. The location of this hotel is fantastic, and to be honest the reason why the prices are what they are. Great restaurant downstairs, and them the Monte Casino complex at your feet. I've always found the staff to be attentive and polite, with any issues remedied. Today when I checked in the phone is my room wasn't working. Because it was a line fault the offered to move my room, including all of my stuff for me. Couldn't have asked for more, but chose to put up with a broken phone...hardly the end of the world.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your favourable feedback.

Please rest assured – we have fixed that naughty phone.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Jacques and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 48 in Sandton
933 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Property: SunSquare Montecasino
Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing