We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SunSquare Montecasino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed their during my weekend while I was on a business trip to Johannesburg. It is an open plan room kept very clean. The staff are very attentive and helpful. I saw them supporting elderly people and parents with children. The Monte casino, theatre, cinemas and restaurants (many) are in the same campus where the hotel is located. The place is very entertaining.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, Front Office Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Wow!!
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Your review will be used to motivate and encourage our team in delivering ongoing World Class service. We honestly appreciate your feedback and look forward in hosting you in the near future.

From the A-Team at SunSquare Montecasino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 979 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed 6 days in SunSquare Montecasino hotel on November 2012, the staff was very kind. I noticed that the door of the shower didn't close properly but it wasn't a problem for me because i was out all the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelglobtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and hubby stayed over on a "date night" and to see a show. The package included dinner at the Araya Rest which is the hotel's restaurant and the food was very good (portions huge so be warned - we had a light lunch and we could not finish) . The rooms are small yes, but they are tastefully decorated, clean and comfy so it suited us perfectly! The breakfast the next morning was a good selection and adequate. The GM greeted us on the way out and he is super friendly and it really added a special personal touch to our stay. I would not hesitate to rebook or recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the main road. The music at the opposite centre's Billy the Bums...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadelynS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thanks a million for your lovely comments.

I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay at SunSquare Montecasino. Thank you for your meaningful feedback, we truly appreciate your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to SunSquare soon.

Warmest Regards
Jacques and the SunSquare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First off, the rooms are VERY small. Which normally is not a concern if you don't plan on being in the room much. The entrance was very underwhelming, I usually like the hotel feel when you walk into the lobby, but this hotel has one little desk with one person behind it.
It wasn't too bad, but I did expect better, given the location.
The location was great, I love that you walk right onto the piazza, and works for a short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed from 6 to 9 Aug 2013 again in this very nice hotel. Booking and check-in fast and covering all my special requirements (Frequent Guest 6975081). The staff at any place very friendly and helpful. The room (538) well equipped, clean and maintained. The breakfast offers a very broad range of choice, including individual prepared eggs, omelettes etc. I didn't have a opportunity to visit the restaurant - there's a huge choice of any kind of restaurants in Montecasino, starting at the exit of the hotel... The bar offers a broad range of choice, this is a perfect place to relax from challenging business days. Will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malefisohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.
What a Great Review! Your feedback and comments matter to us. I trust that we will see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards Jacques & the SunSquare Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed one night for an event nearby.
Check in very good, just a concern about parking. The front of the hotel was packed with cars. No parking upstairs so asked the porter where to park, told to go to the basement. Then had to pay for parking, not happy. Reception fixed this and paid me back.

Used the taxi service at the hotel, run by Europcar. Very friendly, just the driver didn't know the area very well so had to do some directions from the internet.
Breakfast was packed on Sunday morning, be warned, you will wait for 20 min to be seated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great location and friendly staff, get a room facing the square. Lots to do in casino and restaurants without driving anywhere. If you're on business the ideal spot, for wife and kids to be entertained while you work.

Room Tip: Face the Square on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phtokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest

What a Review!!!
We appreciate your comments – it is clear that you enjoyed your stay at SunSquare – Montecasino. Reading your comments is what inspires us.
We trust that we will see you back soon.

Sunny Greetings from Jacques & the SunSquare team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
0.2 mi away
The Palazzo Montecasino
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
589 reviews
6.3 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
#11 of 47 in Sandton
610 reviews
5.3 mi away
Garden Court Morningside Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunSquare Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: $139 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing