We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe, good service!”

John Dory’s Monte Casino
Ranked #54 of 69 Restaurants in Fourways
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: John Dory’s is the best restaurant in Monte Casino Fourways. We have the widest range of seafood options for you and your family. Join us for a glass of wine with your calamari, fish or sushi meal.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vibe, good service!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We entertained visitors from Japan and they were very keen to see what South Africa calls sushi. John Dory's offered us a very good, high quality selection of the typical kind of sushi we have in SA. Although my Japanese guests said our sushi is very different from theirs we still had a great night.

The restaurant was busy and our waitron served us very well despite the fact that we were a big table with numerous complicated orders. Our every need was catered to, our food was quick and delicious. We ended up staying later than planned.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdriLeClus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    38
    16
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Memorable Lunch with old friends”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Another wonderful, memorable Lunch with good old friends...The Seafood Platter there is renowned for its freshness and Value for Money....

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GURMANDUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“always delivers”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I enjoy the choices available and the reliable quality. no matter what John Dorey you eat at it us always the same quality

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank liezel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Real value for money”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of our favourite places to eat in the Johannesburg area. The staff is very friendly, service is great and the place has a great vibe. They have absolutely anything on the menu (seafood, meat and sushi), all well prepared and tasty. Best value for money around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelFunJMBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quite nice, especially for the price.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great fried calamari, good sushi rolls, shrimp was pretty good too. Staff was very friendly and was very patient with my 'American' accent. Fantastic venue situated and the perimeter of the MonteCasino Outdoor Piazza, where the quarter finals of the football league was playing... So very festive atmosphere. I'd come back for sure, and try a few more sushi offerings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonySLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Dory’s Monte Casino also viewed

Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
 
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to John Dory’s Monte Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing