We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food excellent service”

Le Souffle French Bistro - Brasserie
Ranked #2 of 69 Restaurants in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Souffle is a French Restaurant serving Provencal style food in a Brasserie environment. Some of our dishes are traditional while others are tweaked for the SA Palate. Typically for a Brasserie we have a large chalkboard full of daily specials.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food excellent service”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were a party of 5 and had starters main and desert. The starters were good - especially the snails which were excellent and nice and big. The duck crepe starter was ok, and the main courses in general were very good although we found the duck to be a bit on the dry side. The pies we had were both very good (Duck and cranberry and steak and kidney) and the mussels were very good while the pork belly was excellent. The deserts were good apart from the the chocolate chip souffle which was mediocre. Pricing was towards the slightly pricey and the service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beemer535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    62
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Back to its great standard - thank goodness”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have conservatively enjoyed about 30 great meals at Le Souffle. If I also had to include the business lunches I'd enjoyed at the same restaurant in the Rosebank Mall some time back - that figure would increase to about 50. I have also attended quite a few of their food and wine pairing evenings with my girlfriends - so it was natural that I selected it to introduce to our good friends in July last year. Suffice to say that the very dishes that we recommended that they try that evening were a disaster. The chicken pie was insipid and stringy, as though budget frozen chicken had been used and every available short cut had been taken. As we have eaten enough of them to know what the benchmark is - we apologised profusely and hoped that the dessert souffles would be a vast improvement. They weren't. I also didn't see Irene on duty that evening or Marc - so perhaps that was the reason for the disappointing meal. We recommended the lemon and tequila souffle, our favourite. Needless to say we enjoyed the wine that evening and gave one of our favourite restaurants a body swerve for at least 10 months. We have been a few times this year and everything has been perfect - back to normal. I do have a few comments to make though - if you're hungry - don't order the duck as a main without having a starter - the portion is too small and I obviously have a voracious appetite. Also, table 17 is not the ideal table to have if you are wedged between 2 large tables - you will always have someone's bum right beside you............Our most recent meal was faultless except for my lemon and tequila souffle. There were 2 problems - it only had ONE piece of lemon in it and I could not taste the tequila at all. However it had risen beautifully and the consistency was good - just time to move on and taste a different dessert souffle. I still dream about the raspberry and marzipan souffle that Marc had on the menu for one of the wine pairing evenings. Le Souffle has also done catering for us in the past - wonderful if you're having a crowd and don't feel like cooking

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bongitole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely souffle”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

enjoyed sunday lunch at the bistro. their speciality of Souffle is beauifully baked with good varieties of taste. service is also up to standard. good to know that you can still find good restaurant in suburban shopping malls.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went there for my birthday meal. Food was outstanding, and service was at just about the right speed. Waiting staff were friendly and helpful, especially when deciding on wine to go with food
Have been there for breakfast, lunch and dinner on many occasions, and have taken and recommended friends there

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueTB2962OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannseburg SA
Level Contributor
257 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Great Menu”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Took some fussy friends for lunch. The service was again outstanding throughout. The menu is unique enough to satisfy my guest with several serious allergies. The atmosphere was great if a bit noisy at times and worth a return many more times to try all the interesting dishes. Well done Mark and team

Helpful?
Thank Bggl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Souffle French Bistro - Brasserie also viewed

Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
Fourways, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Bryanston, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Le Souffle French Bistro - Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing