We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay at the Palazzo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Our second stay at the Palazzo due to needing to be in this area of Joburg. Hotel is very good, friendly staff, nice rooms, lovely (but cold) pool and good service. The hotel is also very near to home decor shops (which is why we need to be in this area). It is in no way african style if this is what you are looking for but for us has good practical considerations - parking onsite, good for babies providing sitters, baby food, high chairs etc.. Also the hotel is near to a las vegas style shopping mall predominatly restaurants and a casino. This is also good when travelling with a baby as it means there is a choice of restaurants within walking distance rather than having to drive at night. We did not eat in the restaurant but breakfast was good, although when busy service was quite slow.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great rooms and facilities at a cheap price from an european point of view.
The staff is extremelly nice and the hotel is just beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romeiroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Expectations for the hotel were big due to Intercontinental brand and pictures I saw. The reality was as good as the brochures, except the rooms which were quite tiny and nothing special. Not that they were bad, but in this price category they could had been better. That didn't make my stay less enjoyable. The rest of the hotel was absolutely 5 star! It was the architecture and the royal feeling of the place. Breakfast was awesome and lounge areas were really nice. Next to the place was Monte Casino for them who want to have Las Vegas fun. I can recommend this for leisure and business :)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaqnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Me and friend stayed for for 4 nights in total, spread over 2 parts of our holiday. We arrived at 10.30am and checked in no problems, room was amazing. Lavender on your pillows, chocolates by the bed lovely.

The shower was also the most powerful amazing shower I have ever been in. Overall the rooms were adequate size, serviced twice a day with all the facilities you could ask for. Only downfall was that they did not appear to refill the tea and coffee, but not major.

We had a 2 part stay here, we stayed 2 nights then went to Kruger Park for 3 days, they stored our bags for us safely. We then came back for another 2 nights then went off for a wedding where we stayed over night, we were leaving the next day and not checking back in, but the hotel still stored our bags and allowed us to use the facilities on that day as we were not flying out till late.

All the staff here were so friendly and helpful, could not fault them at all. Only downfall was the concierege would not order you a proper cab, just a car. Which were overpriced and I dont need to arrive everywhere in a mercedes!!

Drink prices to me were reasonable over half the price of what you would pay in this kind of hotel in London, so excellent value for money for us. This may be different for others.

Lastly was the monte casino, this was our main reason for picking this hotel, it allowed us the freedom and safety to go out of an evening without hiring a car. The sun square in here was lovely, great restaurants and fab wine!! Felt totally safe at all times. We even ended up getting a taxi from outside Monte Casino (our equiilivent of a black cab) they were half the price and came round to the hotel to pick us up, totally safe, turned up on time etc. Would defintely recomend doing that.

Final thing, head to the bird avery next to Monte Casino if you have a taim, very cheap to get in and a lovely few hours, but watch out for the cockatoos...they like eating toes!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Great hotel.
we were well looked after, internet speed is great and complimentary
definately a piece of Tuscany in Africa
great swimming pool area and hot air balloon, loads to do at the casino next door

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Great hotel.
we were well looked after, internet speed is great and complimentary
definately a piece of Tuscany in Africa
great swimming pool area and hot air balloon, loads to do at the casino next door

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Certainly a nice place to stay with nice rooms, grounds, facilities. I ate at the Casino next door (lovely Italian I forget the name of) so only experienced breakfast which was fine.

Many reviews comment on the service - I had no problems or cause for concern during my stay - I checked in at 9am (so a bit early!), no problems.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sliminvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
0.2 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
959 reviews
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
573 reviews
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: $201 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing