We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely pathetic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
1 review
“Absolutely pathetic”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

From check to check out, this hotel is absolutely poor. The hotel itself is nicely designed, spacious rooms (deluxe room which we stayed in) and is aesthetically appealing but has the worst service i have ever experienced in a "5 star" hotel.The room we received was a deluxe room but was smaller than the one we were allocated. When this was queried with the management, all they could say was that we cannot change our room because the hotel was full. The breakfast was pathetic and waiter service virtually non-existent. We stayed at the hotel for two days and i room was left unmade until 15:00 the next day. When we requested a pair of slippers (which come complimentary with the room), it simply did not arrive, even after 4 phone calls to housekeeping. This hotel has absolutely no chance of competing with any international hotel and is overpriced and not worth the money at all. It deserves to have a 3 star rating only.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Concerned_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    222
    72
    24
    16
See reviews for
208
367
41
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This is a nice hotel: comfortable; clean; good and pleasant service. Lunch on the terrace was excellent (Caesar Salad and veal) and breakfast was the usual high South African standard. I didn't eat here in the evenings because I was taken elsewhere. La Scala in Montecasino itself is a short walk and an excellent meal. Yes, by South African standards it's pricey, but having come here from the Gulf I wouldn't call it expensive by international standards.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Rooms were very small but cosy and well fitted. Grounds were charming. Casino was quaint & different. Staff were efficient and friendly. Will search for better value next time. Great for an overnight stay but not longer.

  • Liked — Charming grounds
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_bunny1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

This is a nice hotel but not what I was expecting for the rates they charge. The room was nice, very nice bathroom but the room itself was small. The staff are really friendly and professional, with the exception of the housekeeping staff who really let the hotel down. Lovely pool area in nice garden and an exceptionally nice patio area where breakfast is served. The hotel has a golf cart which takes guests across to the Montecasino theatre/casino/shopping complex.
My main complaint was housekeeping. On the morning we were to check out I put the do not disturb notice on the door two hours before check out time and started to walk down the corridor away from the room. A member of the housekeeping staff came towards me and I smiled and said 'good morning' to her. The response was less than a grunt with no smile. She then stood in the corridor staring at me and looking at the sign on the door. She said she wanted to clean the room. I said we were checking out and so not to clean. When I came back from breakfast, about 45 minutes later she had been in the room, stripped all the beds and cleaned the bathroom. There was still more than an hour to go before checkout time which really annoyed me. The night before housekeeping had been in the room, I assumed they would come in for a turn down service, and so I had specifically left the used tea cups etc out on the pull out shelf in the cupboard. The only thing they had done was to push the shelf in, still with all the dirty cups on and shut the cupboard door! This is not my idea of a turn down service, especially in this category of hotel.
All round not what I would have expected for a hotel with this rating, and really not worth the premium they charge.

  • Liked — Convenient for Montecasino complex.
  • Disliked — The housekeeping staff and standards!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Home27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

The Palazzo Montecasino can be a very relaxing experience. The new Deluxe Room which have direct access to the terrace are very nicely done and the beds very comfortable. For as long as your remember to book a room inside the park, you are sure to have a restful night (the other rooms lead towards the motorway, about 15m away).

The hotel used to be an InterContinental Hotel, with all the services that you can expect with this name: early check-in, late check-out, complementary this and extra that - a service that was in line with what the InterContinental Hotels Group stands for worldwide...

Today, it is a SouthernSun Hotel. The prices have stayed the same, but the service has lowered to that of a youth hostel. Complementary drinks only from time to time. Check-in at noon, check-out at 11. Late check-out, early check-in? No Sir! Although, if you're happy to pay an extra night to have an early check-in or a late check out, no problem.

If you arrive on a transcontinental flight, don't chose this hotel. If you are tired from the flight and have to wait three, four, or five hours to get in your room, after one hour of driving there, why then pay these prices? Of course, if you have to wait, drinks at the bar will be charged. No favours here.

Breakfast buffet is very nice and the food there fantastic! Except, the minute you take anything warm, you'll pay more (which is not avertised on their website).

Globally, the hotel still has some of the grandeur of an InterContinental Hotel, but it is at best an expensive motel. The result is obvious: A year ago the hotel was full, this time, almost empty. Will not go to this hotel again, and advise others to avoid the hotel as well. Unless of course you don't care about wasting money...

  • Liked — The room and the bed.
  • Disliked — The service.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 062211d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed one night in this establishment and hurriedly checked out in the morning convinced that this was the worst hotel of any standard that we have ever stayed at.
From the concierge with no language skills, the dishonest reception staff, who not only told deliberate lies and tried to overcharge us; to the head porter who actually lost the buggy transport to the casino; to the dirty bathroom floor; to the noise from 5am from the carpark, through the single glazed windows !. The noise from the gardeners from 7am using a chinsaw at maximum revs.
Five star ?? Not by any standard we recognise.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank southbroomReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My wife and I travel extensively internationally - this hotel was actually a pleasant surprise.. we booked it for a single night because it was convenient to the airport we were flying out of.. yet ended up staying there again because it was very well run and nice facility... This is a huge hotel, but the rooms are nice, the bathrooms big, covered with marble and nice touches.. and the public areas are very tasteful.... because it is next to the casino.. it does have a bit of Vegas to it.. but the upside is that there are actually a number of very good restaurants in the casino (we enjoyed the Thai restuarant...).... We found the concierge and staff very helpful.. the only down side was the room service food was not very good.. (but hotels with great room service food are few and far between...)...

The location of the hotel is great and it is close to the areas of great shops and restaurants.... realize that the entire complext looks like an italian village... and while they did an amazing job, you still have to take it with a grain of salt...

  • Liked — newness, cleanliness, and efficient staff
  • Disliked — long hallways seem often endless...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maliblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
0.4 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
8.6 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Property: The Palazzo Montecasino
Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing