We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I spent there 3 days and i must say I liked it a lot.
The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms are classy even though a little bit small.
The food is great. A really nice restaurant there.
The casino just next to it, adds some animation
And the service: just perfect
It deserves its 5 stars

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ilyes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. We are thoroughly pleased that your experience at the Palazzo was one of 5 star service and hospitality.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

939 - 945 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was not very spacious for a family room. The eggs that came up from room service looked liked yellow cottage cheese and tasted like baby mush. The lady who brought it up was rude in the way she spoke to my daughter when telling her to move so she can fit the table in.....again the room was small!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Nicole K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review, although disappointing to receive one that speaks of a seemingly unsatisfactory stay.

We do apologise and have taken the issue of your in-room dining experience up with our Chef and the Room Service department - your comments will assist in making sure our usual 5 star service is maintained at all times.

Kind regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Oh wow! What a fantastic stay we had….

Champagne breakfasts out on a sunny terrace accompanied by live piano music. Friendly peacocks trying to catch your eye at your table in the sun (under the umbrellas) in hope of a sneaky morsel….

We stayed here for 6 nights last month. From the friendly welcoming check in staff to the wonderful bedroom, super friendly staff throughout, wonderful business centre (free of charge usage for hotel guests), there was not one single thing which we could fault. We ate one evening meal in the uber romantic Medeo restaurant (terrace) and had room service one evening – both were great.
The hotel is connected to an amazing mall, with loads of restaurants and a casino, cinemas and a theatre. It was awesome seeing the S African stage version of Rocky Horror at the theatre there.
The hot air balloon ride and the bird park visit – both a few steps from the hotel - are musts.

It was actually a wrench for us to leave the hotel every day in order to go site-seeing. We would have loved to have stayed there one month or more.
The hotel has a great shuttle service that can whisk you off to anywhere in Johannesburg for a meal or shopping etc.

Do fork out a bit more and go for the superior rooms (and include the breakfast – there is enough offing at breakfast to keep you full all day), you really will not be disappointed.
We did not get to use the swimming pool but it looked heavenly and is massive.
My other half used the onsite spa and really enjoyed the shoulder massage.

Well done to all at Palazzo Montecasino, you guys provide where many are lacking!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne2cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear wayne2cat,

Thank you for your wonderful, informative and positive review on your recent stay here at the Palazzo.It is always a delight to receive praise and acknowledgment for the services, location and the warm hospitality which we welcome our guests with and this will certainly be shared with our team.

We hope you will have the opportunity of a return visit, to explore more, and to further indulge yourselves here at the hotel.

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very stylish hotel in Toscan style.
Very friendly and service oriented staff.
Make sure to have your breakfast outside in the garden.
Casino nearby in the sister hotel which also houses a number of shops in an in-door Tuscan village.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank SoerenM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear SoerenM2013,

Thank you for your positive feedback and TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo.

We are always delighted to hear our guests have enjoyed their hotel experience with us, the service, beautiful gardens and nearby amenities which make the hotel an ideally located address for a sojourn in Johannesburg.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

this is an elegant stylish hotel but lacks some very key business amenities such as high speed internet. standard provisions such as check-in\check-out also take long time which is way above any similar standards. Service and security is good overall and the breakfast i would rate as average. one advantage is the easy access to the casino and restaurants

Room Tip: become a loyal guest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackdragon34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Blackdragon34,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are currently addressing the issue of WiFi connectivity and hope to have this resolved, offering a better solution to guests, soon.

We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests as this does assist in improving our levels of service and hospitality.

We hope you will choose to stay at the Palazzo again on your next visit here.

Kind regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I spent many, many nights at the Palazzo, whilst working in Joburg between June and December 2013
This hotel defines high quality service, I experienced and observed it daily...nothing is ever too much to ask for. This starts the second you pull up at the hotel and never ends...importantly friendly but never pushy!
Facilities are very good, rooms well fitted, and refurbished areas even better. Restaurant of high quality, breakfast is something to enjoy especially on a lazy Sunday morning!

Highly recommended for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Steve E,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - after a long stay here at the hotel your insights and comments are even more appreciated!

So pleased that you consider this lovely hotel as 'home away from home' and look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Palazzo at Monte Casino is such an elegant, hotel! Absolutely brilliant rooms and service provided.

Most friendly staff you can have, always willing to assist you with anything. When you enter the place its very elegant and clean. Had a family room which was neat and tidy. Best thing is that they have usb ports for chargers so that you don't even need the double adapter or a European plug to charge your phone's if you here from another country.

Mangwanani spa also was so relaxing and convenient. Bird Park right outside hotel for the kids to enjoy. So everything was amazing.

Very welcoming stay and will definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Family room was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyrellp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear tyrellp11,

Many thanks for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Palazzo! It's always a great pleasure to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay and that they will be returning!

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
12.9 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
460 reviews
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: $249 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing