We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a visit with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for a visit with kids”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a visit to Johannesburg, especially if you are worried about security or with kids. We walked to the Bird Park, the cinema, theatre, kids amusements and huge numbers of good quality restaurants. It provides almost endless entertainment options. The hotel itself is efficient, well run and the staff are smiley and helpful. I loved the decor, very in keeping with the rest of the Montecasino complex, kind of American Italian palazzo. Only small complaint is that the rooms are small but we didn't spend a lot of time in our room anyway with so much on the doorstep.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SkellysBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear SkellysBerkshire,

We thank you for your review and take the opportunity of wishing you Festive Season's Greetings.

The Montecasino complex is a fabulous entertainment node, particularly for families, and certainly does provide a secure environment, a concern which all parents have, especially when travelling to a foreign destination.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to AFrican shores for a future vacation.

Warm regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    222
    73
    24
    16
See reviews for
211
368
42
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo as part of a package deal with Mangwanani day spa, and i must say that the Palazzo hotel is everything one could expect! Very friendly staff, great service, rooms are just the right size, everything you need is available. Rooms are well designed, you don't have to struggle to find a place to put your suitcase down.

Breakfast was wonderful and a great variety! If someone finds themselves in the area, I would definitely recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuanVanDerMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear RuanVanDerMerwe,

Many thanks for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel!

We hope to have the opportunity of warmly welcoming you back for another stay in the near future.

Kind regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Impressed by the service of this hotel from the start. Welcome drinks to greet you on arrival. Fridndly staff, nice and clean room. Next door to the Montecasino, so there are plenty of restaurants to choose from at anytime. Breakfast can be had at the restaurant or delivered to your room. There is a Fourway Mall near the hotel if feel like some shopping.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jesda,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel.

We certainly appreciate our guests' input and take cognisance of their feedback as our guests' experience is of primary importance to us.

We hope we'll have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Spent 7 days at this fabulous hotel which is, by South African terms as safe as you can get. The service from ALL the staff was absolutely superb, nothing was too much trouble. It is expensive but the quality more than makes up for the shock. Also the exchange rate was such that cost was not quite so bad once you had worked it out.
It has a casino right next door which apart from the temptation was a great place to eat. I have never seen tiger prawns so big!
All in all a great hotel with extremely comfortable rooms which are well appointed.

Room Tip: For safety I would suggest a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Ray J,

Thank you for your recent review about your stay at the Palazzo Hotel. We are always pleased to receive positive feedback about our guests' stays with us and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

You have to get used to the space and ambiance if you are European. It should be Tuscany 100 years ago. Everything is clean, and working fine. TV screen could be larger nowadays.
Price is too high for the offer.
Breakfast is outstanding. The best I had in South Africa

Room Tip: Rooms to the poolside are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vankoents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear vankoents,

Thank you for your recent review and your comments. We do take cognisance of our guests' insights and to this end can respond that, as the rooms are being refurbished, the TV's are also being upgraded simulataneously. The other aspect of the room refurbishment is ensuring that the West-facing rooms are quieter, as this has been another concern.

The refurbishment is due for completion at the end of July next year and I'm sure, should you choose to return for another stay here, that our upgraded look and feel and amenities, would be pleasantly welcomed.

Kindest regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at the Palazzo Montecasino while on business this week, used the hotel as a base to hold interviews, was excellent - the staff throughout the hotel are just wonderful, extremely helpful and friendly. As far as I could tell my room was not one of the refurbished rooms but was fine.....plenty big enough and spotlessly clean throughout, a nice touch was that the room was cleaned twice a day with the bed being turned down in the evening. I chose to eat out at the nearby casino/mall complex for dinner in the evenings but ate lunch at the hotel once..... a Caesar Salad, not cheap but absolutely delicious, and eating breakfast outside in November was great. I would recommend this hotel and will always use it when travelling to Johannesburg on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_uk_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Andy_uk_nl,

It is always a pleasure welcoming back returning guests and particularly good to hear that the experience was again a positive one.

Our room refurbishment is due for completion the end of July 2014 - it has been conducted with a phased approach to minimise any inconvenience to our guests - but the rooms that are already complete have been met with great approval and I trust on your next stay you will have the pleasure of staying in one of these!

Thank you for choosing to spend your Johannesburg stays with us and we look forward to another visit in the near future.

Warm regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've stayed at the Palazzo a few times now and have to say that I'm not terribly impressed. The rooms are a little shoddy with the renovations that are going on - I must say that they're desperately needed. The extractor in the bathroom was absolutely filthy and the overall impression of the room not very good. All in all not a bad experience but for the price you pay you can do much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear LukeH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel.

Yes, our rooms are in need of a refurbishment and to this end we commenced at the end of September with our renovations programme and all rooms should be completed by the end of July next year.

We have approached this project in phases so as to minimise any disruptions or inconvenience to our guests as much as possible and trust that, in due course, our 'new look' rooms will meet with the delight and satisfaction of our guests.

As part of the refurbishment, room amenities have also been considered and electronics upgraded.

The Palazzo has a special location and we do pride ourselves on our levels of service and warm hospitality - taking care of our guests is of utmost importance.

We hope to see you here again and look forward to your positive feedback.

Kind regards,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
922 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
714 reviews
6.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Property: The Palazzo Montecasino
Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing