We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am loving it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palazzo Montecasino
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

One of my favorite hotels in South Africa, even if i am Platinum member in several Hotel programs, i always stay in this Hotel when i come to Johannesburg (10 times a year). I like the old Tuscany style of the building, and the flair of the Hotel.
Rooms could be a bit bigger but still okay, The Hotel has a perfect breakfast buffet with a lot of choices. The terrace is also a perfect place to have a glass of good wine after a hard working day. The Hotel stuff is very helpful and super friendly. The gym is open 24 x 7 and has good quality equipment which is not the newest but working fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schadinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Schadinio,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor - and your favourable feedback!

The Palazzo does provide a wonderful haven within the city limits and with the warmth of Spring in the air and the gardens in fresh bloom, it is particularly lovely to enjoy from Medeo's terrace!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nothing to mention except it was an Excellent Stay. Staff were very professional and helpful. Rooms were spacious and extra-clean. Location is good, located in the Montecasino Entertainment Complex where you can find lots of entertainment and shopping options. Good variety of TV cable channels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear sherbiny,

Thank you for your comments and positive feedback - we're pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back should you visit Johannesburg again.

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment you are greeted at the door to the time they wave goodb-bye to you as you're pulling out of the parking lot this hotel's staff go out of their way to make you feel special, with a genuine warm-hearted feeling that one simply does not associate with large hotels.
Without going overboard, their attention to detail gives you the distinct impression that you matter as a client, and their sincere appreciation of your comments and suggestions is something that is extremely rare.
The rooms are a little small, although we had a two double bed room so it was more than sufficient. The traditional amenities are well catered for and the bathrooms are spacious and the shower is excellent! The proximity to the hot air balloon, the bird park and the casino gave ample opportunity for entertainment over the two nights we were there and there is one outstanding feature of this hotel that I have to say is...Simply The Best.
THE BREAKFAST!!!
Even if you live in Joburg and simply want to treat you and yours to a fantastic experience - book a room, spend the night and wake up hungry for the best breakfast spread in Johannesburg.

What a pleasure. We'll be back - and we stay about 4 kilometers from the hotel!

Room Tip: There are smoking and non-smoking rooms available in this hotel, so specify on booking, otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikecabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear mikecabral,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel.

We so appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests and we do take cognisance thereof. Of course we are more than pleased to read positive praise and your comments will be shared with our chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This stay at the Palazzo was amazing!!
We stayed in the presidential suite!! Attention to detail in every shape and form!! We where welcomed with friendly smiles and treated with warmth!!

Room was spacious cozy and clean!! Felt like home not a hotel room! Breakfast was served in the room and the quality was of a very high standard!!

Staff was helpful and caring!

I wanna thank all the Hotel management and staff for the amazing stay we had at the Palazzo!!
:-)


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear dvdwest4,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Palazzo Hotel.

The Presidential Suite is a particularly sublime space to spend some time here and we're delighted it met your expectations.

It is always good to hear too that our staff are looking after our guests and providing the warm hospitality we are known for.

Kind regards,
Amanda
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for the first time in the Palazzo at Montecasino. The hotel is very grand and the service was really of the highest standard. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous and they made every effort to make you feel welcome and at home. On arrival we received champagne and a very attentive receptionist booked us in. On arrival in our room we were given a crash course on all the amenities in the room. From the complementary bottle of wine, olives and chocolates all the way thru to the exceptionally well appointed breakfast was a treat. The only criticism I have was that the television was a little disappointing (very old) and the furniture in the hotel room probably needs a refresh. My car was parked for me by an attendant however the key was never brought back to my room - I had to go down and ask around for it. Great hotel none the less...well worth the money you pay to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Jeff A,

We much appreciate your feedback and the time taken to write a Trip Advisor review, and of course are delighted your stay was a pleasurable one.

We commence our hotel room refurb towards the end of this month and with that, new TV's are going into the rooms.

I'm sure, should you choose to return for another stay at the Palazzo Hotel, that you will be pleased with the new 'look and feel' of the rooms and the upgraded amenities.

Warmest regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What can one say about this hotel? They have perfected their service and one could not find fault with them, the rooms although a tad small for a 5 Star establishment are well laid out, clean and the bed comfortable! The bathroom sports a separate shower, although the shower door in the room I was in opens into the shower, stupid design fault if you ask me!
Otherwise the hotel was fantastic and worth a second visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Daveset,

Wonderful to read your review and the positive comments about your stay!

We are commencing with our room refurbishment towards the end of this month and have taken cognisance of our guests' comments

Thank you for taking the time to write your review - it is much appreciated.

Warm regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights in a suite located on 5th floor hotel was very good within Monte casino with a safe and secure environment and lots of activities nearby. My suite was good well decorated with complimentary bottled water. Breakfast was excellent. I really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehandhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Public Relations Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Rehandhund,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel so comfortable and conveniently situated.

Thank you for taking the time to write a response and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay at the Palazzo Hotel.

Kind regards,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Montecasino
0.2 mi away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
962 reviews
10.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
1.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
576 reviews
6.3 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palazzo Montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palazzo Montecasino

Address: No. 1 Montecasino Boulevard | Fourways, Fourways 2021, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fourways
Price Range: $202 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palazzo Montecasino 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recreating the look and feel of old-style Mediterranean glamour, without compromising on modern luxury, the Palazzo hotel is a treat for all of the senses. The 246 beautifully-appointed rooms include Standard, Deluxe, Executive and Superior Rooms as well as King Suites, a lavish, opulent Penthouse and bespoke Presidential Suite. Every room is equipped with all of those small touches that add to your comfort - direct-dial phones, tea and coffee stations, mini bars, 24-room service, free WiFi and electronic safes to list but a few. Highlights to add to your stay include the Mangwanani Spa Boutique, a fully-equipped fitness centre, business centre, Montecasino Entertainment Complex, delicious Mediterranean dining at Medeo Restaurant, relaxing cocktails at Cafe Rialto, conference rooms and many more. Outdoors, a large swimming pool invites you to dip into its cool waters to escape the heat of a long day, while the poolside area beckons hours of relaxation as you let your mind finally unwind from the daily pressures of life. This is the start of your experience at the Palazzo in Montecasino... Book now to discover what else lies ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palazzo Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Palazzo Montecasino Johannesburg
Palazzo Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Montecasino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing